Google+

Pokemon Black and White review

Back to Article

75 comments

  • NatDaGamer - March 5, 2011 6:46 p.m.

    i got it yesterday, after forgetting the PIN for me card, and remembering it on the last attempt. so far, i've got 3 badges. also W000t!!! we in the UK finally got something before the US!!!!!!! :D
  • keltar93 - March 5, 2011 5:14 p.m.

    I haven't played a Pokemon game since FireRed, so I think I'm ready to go catch them all again
  • redthehaze - March 5, 2011 2:29 p.m.

    I know Metacritic is important to your traffic and all but I just cringed when I saw that prepared Metacritic excerpt you had there. Otherwise, great review! I might pick up Pokemon again.
  • philipshaw - March 5, 2011 1:52 p.m.

    Great review Carolyn. I'm definitely going to pick the white version of this up but the 3DS coming out soon, I think I will just wait until then to pick it up
  • KishouTenpi - March 5, 2011 1:02 p.m.

    I bought the game (Black version) and pre-ordered a 3DS to play it on.... 25th of March needs to hurry!!!
  • Squander - March 5, 2011 6:22 a.m.

    Please can anyone answer my question :) --> I would like to play the US-version on my Pal-DSi - is it possible?? @Tobio: I am Austrian but living and studying in Tokyo right now, and getting the US-version is much faster and cheaper than ordering the Pal-version. My Japanese skillz are still too low to play text-heavy games.
  • jpbr139 - March 5, 2011 6:09 a.m.

    @QWERTYCommander - They are supposed to be older than the trainers of the previous games, but I don´t know if they are that old
  • QWERTYCommander - March 5, 2011 5:03 a.m.

    That girl trainer has a nice ass. But I thought the boy trainer was also kinda cool looking, and I'm currently playing as him in the Japanese version. I also read on a fansite that the trainers are supposed to be 17 in this game. Is that true?
  • jpbr139 - March 5, 2011 4:20 a.m.

    Great review. Now I'm seriously thinking about choosing the girl trainer. "Not having time for any other games" - It´s the best thing you could hate in a game.
  • lovinmyps3 - March 5, 2011 4 a.m.

    I haven't really fallen into a Pokemon game since Red/Blue, but mostly because the last Nintendo handheld I owned was a Gameboy Color. I think I'll go get a DS specifically for this!
  • Robusken - March 5, 2011 2:37 a.m.

    Great review Carolyn! I think other then you only Henry or Mr.Grimm would be able to review this game accurately enough. I'm actually really excited for the release of this....and probably the hundreds of hours that will be used up as well. Hg/SS really didnt do that much for me, other then give me the chance to catch pokemon I normally wouldnt be able to get. So far Gen V miiight be my favorite out of all of em.
  • shawksta - March 5, 2011 2:32 a.m.

    AWESOME! This game gave the biggest change in Pokemon History and is what we wanted since pokemon Red and Blue! and we get random battle in wifi! RAAAAANDOM BAAATLE! I cant wait to get this game! Gamespot doesnt know how to rate games anymore, especially Nintendo games, they gave Mario sports mix a 4 and now they gave Pokemon Black/white a 7.5,while D/P got an 8.5 and Platinum and HG/SS got 8,they even gave it the "Recycled" badge when its visuals and gameplay style is WAY more superior than Platinum and HG/SS. god their biased as hell.....
  • marioman50 - March 5, 2011 2:15 a.m.

    btw, White version definitely sounds more like my type of game. Cold, hard, futuristic battling v.s. Warm, soft, nature-oriented exploring. Which sounds better to you? Plus, Zekrom looks way cooler than Reshiram anyways.
  • ryanwiley - March 5, 2011 2:13 a.m.

    my bday is a few days after this comes out and i cant wait but recently ive been let down with a few of the newer pokemon i mean...theres a trash-pokemon....really
  • marioman50 - March 5, 2011 2:04 a.m.

    The girl trainer's got daisy dukes O.O
  • Cleanser247 - March 5, 2011 1:46 a.m.

    Great review Carolyn! Keep up the awesome work : )
  • FVDub - March 5, 2011 1:40 a.m.

    Great review! It seems like most people are leaning towards White. Is it because Zekrom looks way cooler than Reshiram?
  • shyfonzie - March 5, 2011 12:03 a.m.

    SUNDAY SUNDAY SUNDAY!! Great review, Carolyn. I didn't know that C-Gear stuff. It sounds excellent! ARGHHHH I JUST WANT TO SLEEP UNTIL SUNDAYYYYY
  • Thequestion 121 - March 4, 2011 11:35 p.m.

    Hell yeah, that was a great review :D
  • F4G1TR0N - March 4, 2011 11:21 p.m.

    Is yelling bias going to be the new first?

Showing 21-40 of 75 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 06 2011 - DS (US)
Mar 04 2011 - DS (UK)
Available Platforms: DS
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Game Freak
Franchise: Pokemon
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief, Mild Cartoon Violence
PEGI Rating:
3+