Google+

Okami review

AT A GLANCE
  • Like playing a painting
  • Restoring a broken world
  • It's a PS2 Zelda
  • Battles get old
  • A little too chatty at times
  • Unclear goals

In our earlier preview of Okami, we boldly stated that the game would affect your life. After saving this hand-painted world from certain doom, we can safely say that claim holds up throughout the game's lengthy quest. Absolutely everything about this adventure is top of the line, blending the very best puzzle aspects of Zelda with a visual style that no other title can match.

Graphics aren't everything, but in Okami 's case, they help define a universe. Whether you're searching for lost warrior dogs or scouring a labyrinth for an eyeball-shaped key, you'll never once discover some glaring flaw that yanks you out of the mood.

The dungeons, people and environment are pieced together in such a beautiful, artistic way that they don't even look like graphics - they look like another, existing realm that we've been lucky enough to witness. Even your character, the revived wolf-goddess Amaterasu, radiates with divine energy.

Even smaller details, like babbling water and chirping insects, breathe constant life into every area you visit. Even though most new locales are covered in a murky, cursed fog, your godly powers slowly cleanse the countryside and bring blue skies back to the delight of cuddly forest animals everywhere. People start moving back into their homes, rivers flow once more... there's always a reward for pressing on.

 

More Info

Release date: Sep 19 2006 - PS2
Apr 15 2008 - Wii (US)
Apr 15 2008 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: PS2, Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Clover Studios, Ready At Dawn Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood and Gore, Crude Humor, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes, Use of Alcohol, Use of Tobacco
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

10 comments

  • TheCakeIsaPie - January 24, 2011 6:50 p.m.

    @WillisTron: I know, right? What a terrible score to give a game! At least it wasn't so bad it got an 8 like Halo: Reach!
  • WillisTron - September 30, 2010 9:29 p.m.

    You guys praise this game about 1 out of 3 of all your articles, yet it only got a 9?
  • sleepy92ismypsn - May 10, 2010 10:29 p.m.

    i just ordered this game on amazon i've only heard good things about it(besides mace's comment)so im looking forward to playing it finally.
  • ergreenday - April 3, 2010 5:40 p.m.

    When I got this around the time it came out, I could not stop playing it until i beat it.
  • ergreenday - April 3, 2010 5:20 p.m.

    Why are there so few comments on such a great game? I love this game by the way!
  • Shilfman - March 17, 2010 12:02 a.m.

    Dang! I've never owned a ps2, but if I did, I would have definitely bought this game. I'm just so angry that the ps3 cant play ps2 games, because I WANT THIS GAME!
  • IIIIIACEIIIII - January 8, 2010 5:10 p.m.

    I bought it around the time it came out and stopped playing it when I got to the first boss, the combat was terribly boring and constantly having to freeze everything to draw on the screen was too annoying. If you could actually maul your enemies, claw and bite, instead of hitting them with a weird mirror and a string of beads, I would have enjoyed it a whole lot more.
  • katwood92 - June 20, 2009 8:32 p.m.

    Awesome game. I asked for it for my birthday based on this site's recommendation and absolutely love it.
  • avery78 - September 7, 2009 6:44 p.m.

    Great game, I also got it when it first came out and never finished it, will be heading to gamestop later today to pick up a copy since I sold mine.
  • CreeplyTuna - August 23, 2009 2:27 a.m.

    kat, u and i r probably the only people who ever played this game. i got it wen it came out years ago and was young and not too good at gaming, so i never finished it(got to the near end at least) but regret never finishing it

Showing 1-10 of 10 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000