Google+

New Super Mario Bros Wii review

Back to Article

57 comments

  • AyJay - November 14, 2009 8:02 a.m.

    I'm with you Samus934
  • AyJay - November 14, 2009 8:01 a.m.

    I hate how pretty much everyone here is convinced they shouldn't buy it because GRadar and Edge gave it a 7, while most of you haven't even tried it. I am up to World 4 and I'm having a blast with it.
  • AyJay - November 14, 2009 7:53 a.m.

    I disagree with is. I got it yesterday and I think it's one of the best games on the Wii. I live in Australia by the way.
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - November 14, 2009 5:55 a.m.

    Bear in mind that 7 is still "good," and I certainly don't think this is bad game. But as a lifelong Mario fan, I don't see how anyone could consider this better, let alone on par with SMB3, Mario World, SM64 or Galaxy. Good, not great, not exceptional.
  • FriendlyFire - November 14, 2009 4:36 a.m.

    I would've liked to see what you thought of the game pitted against other sidescrollers outside of the Nintendo realm like LittleBigPlanet in your comparison part. It'd be an interesting thought.
  • silentmusic16 - November 14, 2009 4:02 a.m.

    hahaha when they said they beat youytube to the punch i thought i was going to get rickroll'd
  • crumbdunky - November 14, 2009 2:42 a.m.

    Samus-IDK the reviews for this have been very up and down and if you love Mario then I'd err on the side of reviews like this or at least take a little cation with the game. Look at the levels. Do they seem as fun filled and challenging as classic 2D Mrio? I've just come from playing Sonic2 and , being nonest, this looks like such a meek challenge after that it's not true. Like I feel you were I was hoping for greatness(AND to play with a GC controller and nothing else!)but this doesn't look or feel great and I felt some of the more fawning reviews were just over hapy to have a 2D Mzza ar all as every level I'ce so far seen looks like not just a rehash but also a toned down one and the fact Wii has way more power than a snes makes it even more clean and sparse looking. I'll be brutally frank with you-I reckon GR(and I've had ISSUES with them reviewing of late)are going to be pretty close to the mark. TRemember, also, how many writes grew up with Mario games like this and a fw of the slobbering reviews make more sense-they WANTED it to be great so it was always going to be-even if the game isn't as good as the glorious past. After the triumph of the admittedly Ratchet aping SMG(though how far and hopw wellm Ninty went with it is amazing)this looks more of a nostalgic throwback just with the difficulty eased for newer gamers. It's something I was scared of and appears to have happened. Is NOTHING sacred Ninty, nothing?
  • Samus934 - November 14, 2009 2:20 a.m.

    Gamesradar, you suck. Your reviews and opinions are always way off from everyone else. I think I'll stop reading your reviews from now on.
  • axis56 - November 14, 2009 1:46 a.m.

    in all fairness, i admire nintendo's ability to even acknowledge a 2d main mascot game considering alot of gamers out there are still longing for them, kind of the opposite of one of mario fallen rivals.....
  • AtrocityExhibition - November 13, 2009 11:25 p.m.

    i still might buy it just because i have no other games to get and alot of other reviews seem to say its good, i'll take my chances
  • Hunter2458 - November 13, 2009 10:45 p.m.

    I read this first, then checked Kotaku's slobbering love affair with this game. I appreciate your guys' honesty and lack of bias :3
  • CatrParrot - November 13, 2009 10:40 p.m.

    So I should just wait for Mario Galaxy 2 instead?
  • Metroidhunter32 - November 13, 2009 9:39 p.m.

    I never had much hope for this one. It's just to big a shadow to fill. Still have muramasa and Dead space to fill my time though.
  • QWERTYCommander - November 13, 2009 9:08 p.m.

    Too bad.
  • moredhel_1 - November 13, 2009 8:55 p.m.

    Dang. I was really hoping for at least an 8, if not 9, and had juuuuuuust a part of me that was holding out for a 10. Don't get me wrong - a 7 is a very "good" score, and very respectable. I just was hoping for something more, and less "uninspired". My favorite is still Super Mario World, but I'm fairly certain I'll still check this game out. Siiiiigh. At least there's still Boy and His Blob and No More Heroes 2.
  • Cyberninja - November 13, 2009 8:53 p.m.

    ok so would it be worth it to trade in mario party 8 and a second wii game to get this for 10 dollars? i want to play the game with my friend anyway to see who is better spoilers he is
  • garnsr - November 13, 2009 8:30 p.m.

    I was kind of surprised when I got to the end of page 1 and found there were two more pages, it seemed like the first one said most of what we needed. And Nintendo has the absolute most terrible names, ever since the SNES, when everything had to be super, then 64, now new and Wii. Awful.

Showing 41-57 of 57 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 15 2009 - Wii (US)
Nov 20 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Mario
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief
PEGI Rating:
3+