Google+

New Super Mario Bros Wii review

Back to Article

57 comments

  • AuthorityFigure - November 17, 2009 9:14 a.m.

    I am completely convinced that this game ain't that special. And I thought it looked odd when I first saw it announced. Strange thing is, most sites are giving it higher scores...
  • wiitard07 - November 17, 2009 1:04 a.m.

    left enough comments there AyJay? plus ha you live int Austrailia the land of no Left 4 Dead . But I do like this game very much
  • IIIIIACEIIIII - November 16, 2009 6:34 p.m.

    7th Line, *may
  • IIIIIACEIIIII - November 16, 2009 6:33 p.m.

    I think we should all take another look at this game with fresh eyes. Hardcore Mario players know that you couldn't possibly play properly with a lesser player lagging behind or jumping on Spineys, not to mention three of them, and should have known from the start that this game was not going to quench any thirsts for speed runs or difficult platforming. While it many not have been Nintendos intention, it seems to me like this game has turned out to be something of a party game. Grab some friends and push each other into pits, steal each others items, but when it comes to the crunch, it shouldn't be too hard to just get this level over with and change the scenery; that's the sort of atmosphere I can imagine this game filling the room with, a fun party atmosphere. This game, I think, should be seen as a party game, treated like one and enjoyed as one, and in that light, I think it deserves an 8 or 9.
  • Spybreak8 - November 15, 2009 10:03 p.m.

    Its odd that they wanted to make the game pause every time you get hit or get a power up, possibly hard coded in the code?! I wonder how the co-op would be if there was one fluid motion. Hmm maybe they added in pauses so you couldn't just run through the level leaving your team mates off to die off screen. It's good to get a different perspective from a bunch of reviewers since I did a wtf when I saw 1up's A+. I agree with the retarted naming that Nintendo is following. I love Nintendo but I've grown up and I think they're just cashing in on the casual audience getting their first Mario fix.
  • Coolbeans69 - November 15, 2009 7:27 p.m.

    I'll just stick to mario bros 3 and the gba port for super mario world
  • reyalejandro13 - November 15, 2009 7:04 a.m.

    Honestly, I will get this game no doubt. (my wii library is a little lacking compared to my 360 one) However, I feel that, as good or bad the game may be, this is just a little teaser to keep us satiated (albeit slightly) with our Mario needs until Nintendo unveils the big guns, those being SMG2. Kind of like ODST is to Halo: Reach- a taast of action before the next major release. They say bringing back Yoshi for this is all "blast to the past" and whatnot, but guess who's in SMG2?
  • CH3BURASHKA - November 14, 2009 10:01 p.m.

    AyJay you spamming asshole. Whatever, it's GR's opinion. I'm sure this CANTRAVARSY will be cleared up when we are a year out and we have a full year distance to re-examine it again.
  • skynetiscoming - November 14, 2009 7:44 p.m.

    That multiplayer video looked like way too much was happening at once. It reminds me of that video game Bart was playing when he's snowboarding down the mountain with all the ninjas and helicoptes attacking him and numbers flying around the screen.
  • Dengar13 - November 14, 2009 6:02 p.m.

    I will be buying this tomorrow and have it reserved. My kids and I will have a fun time with this. Playing two players at once should be a great time. This was a fair review that hasn't dampened my spirits whatsoever. I like that it is honest.
  • GameManiac - November 14, 2009 4:42 p.m.

    My 12-year-old brother wants this game so bad, and despite the review, I think he'll still want it. I MAY want this game too.
  • asshatjenkins - November 14, 2009 4:35 p.m.

    crumbdunky, did you really have to make a giant wall of text? Nobody cares enough about your opinion to read all of that.
  • SuperGoomba64 - November 14, 2009 1:44 p.m.

    I completely agree with you, I am annoyed of Nintendo saying" Lolz a old ? block that was in the nes iamrite?" They should be making Mario new, and stop holding on the old tactics. NSMB Wii should been like Punch-Out Wii, updating it but keeping it fresh.
  • LostOverThere - November 14, 2009 1:25 p.m.

    I definitely don't think so, pikachu2000. Remember Super Mario Galaxy? Go take a look where it's sitting on GameRankings at the moment. Really, for me, Super Mario Galaxy felt like the most innovative Mario game. But to each to his own, I guess.
  • pikachu2000 - November 14, 2009 12:52 p.m.

    What we are witnessing now is the beginning of the end of Mario and he will soon join his friend Sonic. Face it, he have reach his peak at SM64 and starting with Sunshine, we have see a decline in quality in one form or another. His new and upcoming adventures he have gotten less inovated and exciting. A few years from now, Mario games will be so bad you will yearn for another 3D Sonic and with gameplay so bad you will want to see Sonic making out with Elsie again and again. Just watch.
  • SausageLozenge - November 14, 2009 11:39 a.m.

    Hardest thing for a game to do is live up to expectations. I think Brett's review was fair and I still look forward to playing NSMBW.
  • DryvBy - November 14, 2009 8:33 a.m.

    Meh, what do you expect? I like that this game stay exactly the same, however. I wish they'd just make a completely new version of Super Mario World 3 or something.
  • AyJay - November 14, 2009 8:19 a.m.

    You should have mentioned something about Super Guide. That feature was really handy (Oh noes, i must now be a n00b!) for me, and will help a lot of younger gamers get through the game without giving up completely on a hard level.
  • AyJay - November 14, 2009 8:05 a.m.

    Could a moderator compile all my comments into one please?
  • AyJay - November 14, 2009 8:04 a.m.

    I think it's better than the DS version

Showing 21-40 of 57 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 15 2009 - Wii (US)
Nov 20 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Mario
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief
PEGI Rating:
3+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.