Google+

New Super Mario Bros Wii review

Back to Article

57 comments

  • goldie10100 - November 10, 2010 8:52 a.m.

    @RyanPaul i see what you did there, But i see your disguise, MISTER PAUL RYAN! :P
  • usucdik - October 27, 2010 12:32 p.m.

    Unlike most of the 'tards that signed up just to claim you are attempting to persuade people to not buy this game, I just want to comment on how incredibly accurate this review is. I had a hard time finding people that didn't think this game was worthy of sky-high praise and also able to explain that reasoning in detail. So far this is the only source I have seen mention how NSMBW is taking a couple steps backward in the gameplay mechanics. I was expecting, hoping, to realize the game expanded on elements of SMW or SMB3, but it seems to have mostly erased them from memory, branching in a new, mundane direction. The gameplay elements seem to mostly be randomly plucked from various Mario games, and most of them are superfluous. For instance, the red coins from Yoshi's Island. Did we really need yet another way to get a 1-up, in what is really a distracting minigame inside the levels? After the second world, I had more lives than I knew what to do with. Also eschewed were knocked down building blocks that had been previously given to Mario. No spin-jumping, which means no way to bounce off of spiky bad guys. No item storage box for use inside levels. I was surprised that even Yoshi had been dumbed down and no longer had any special effects when holding/spitting colored turtle shells. Then there is the lack of suit innovation, along with the surprise of not even using some of the forms from the first NSMB. There was not even any sort of flying suit. And on that note, the levels were extremely compact and linear. This is probably a result of the multiplayer component further restricting freedom. So there is all these things, plus the other absurd moments like when you realize you can't toss turtle shells; if they say anything, I'd think it is that the design was far too rigid and limiting for this to live up to previous Mario titles.
  • markshell - October 17, 2010 2:36 a.m.

    I don't agree with most of this review. I am too a Mario fan since the NES days and played all major titles from the chubby plumber, but to me NSMBW delivers exactly what it sells. Up to four player platforming fun with classic-style gameplay. That's it. I never felt cheated while playing the game. It's not trying to be "better" than the old Mario games, it's just trying (and succeeding) to modernize the old gameplay and make it fun for playing with friends. Galaxy was the one that tried to improve and refine the franchise and platforming in general. Galaxy 2 went even further, so why pick on this game, if it's completely honest in what it tries to accomplish? To me this review was totally biased with some crushed self-created unjustified expectations.
  • nomnom52 - April 21, 2010 6:51 a.m.

    @CatrParrot: lol Ain't that the truth! although I think that Wii Play only went so high because of the bundled wiimote.
  • CatrParrot - January 17, 2010 12:06 a.m.

    @RyanPaul If a game's quality is determined by it's sales numbers, then Wii Play is a modern masterpiece.
  • RyanPaul - January 16, 2010 5:37 a.m.

    BTW, it's going to outsell Modern Warfare 2 within a month, can 6 Million people and counting be wrong?
  • RyanPaul - January 16, 2010 5:35 a.m.

    I created an account with gamesradar simply to comment on this review. Do not take their word for it. Try the game. It's fun. Lots of fun. Copious amounts of acrobatic, hallucinogenic, vaudevillian, worryingly addictive, unbridled fun. It takes all the things that are best from earlier Marios, adds in a few new twists and distills it into a tight, colorful package. From the controls to the originality to the multiplayer, none of the complaints this person made hold to me. Seriously, it looks like from some of the comments some of you were persuaded... FORGET THIS REVIEW AND TRY IT--THANK ME LATER
  • swordofzemu - January 13, 2010 2:21 a.m.

    This game is super fun to play, and to test one's gaming skilliness. However, ur kinda right... they coulda used a different plot, rather than the usual capture the princess, For example: Bowser has stolen all of the Magical coins in the kingdom's treasury, and used their power to turn all of the toads into stone, and used them as bate for mario and his friends, so he could funally get his revenge. This way,peach, and (the original) toad could be playable, instead of the those two generic yellow and blue toads. =) ^** power comes from inside you, but gaming skill comes from the cheeseburger----Swordofzemu
  • KREATIVEassassin - December 30, 2009 4:23 a.m.

    I just got this game for Christmas, and I gotta say this is the worst sidescrolling Mario platformer I've ever played. I'm not having fun with it at all. After actually playing it, I think a 7 is actually too generous. Anyone who thinks this is one of the best Mario games ever or one of the best games in X years is absolutely insane.
  • MrDuracraft - December 9, 2009 1:34 a.m.

    Dang. I loved the ds one and reading this now i dont want the Wii one. (didnt want it much before either). Im probably gonna get Spirit Tracks
  • DoctorProfessor - December 2, 2009 2:39 p.m.

    @Tomsta666 I'm pretty sure that Mr. Elston is not trying to convert other people into believing what he thinks, he is a critic and is just putting his opinion on the game. And, you can get off your soapbox and stop trying to make others share your opinion with meaningless stories of your past experiences with Mario games and from what I can predict from your story; if you were to write a review of this you would give this a 10/10 with your only justification is that Mario got you into gaming rather than actually judging it as a Game as Mr. Elston is doing here.
  • Felixthecat - November 28, 2009 9:19 p.m.

    @dravendefay - Your obviously a retard. NSMBW is NOT the best game on Wii, and it is NOT the best Mario 2D platformer. I'm a Mario fanboy, and you my friend are some middle age weirdo who has just got into gaming with his 6 year old daughter. This review is reasonable and i than Brett for making it so far. I hate it when people say bad stuff about Mario, but this does not. It is portraying a fair opinion that fits perfectly into the form of a review. Your opinion is incredibly bias, not to mention idiotic. There is no "best" Mario platformer, they are all great, but this is the weakest one. I don't own the game, and i won't buy it (soon), but i've played it, and i agree with this review almost 100%. SMW, SMB3, SM64 and SML are way better than this poor excuse of a Mario platformer, its the first one on a console in 18 fucking years, it should of been better. Go to hell. And the thing that makes me even more angry is the fact Miyamoto-san is even considering implicating the crappy Super Guide into SMG2, which he say's will be more challenging than the last. All i can say to that is... WTF?????!!!!
  • wampastompa - November 25, 2009 5:49 p.m.

    My favorite review comments: Waaa! This opinion that I just read doesn't agree with my opinion! Therefore it must be bullshit/ bias, because MY opinion is right! Honestly, how fucking insecure are you that you need a review to justify your gaming purchases? If you enjoyed it, good for you, don't question the integrity of the writer because they didn't agree with you.
  • CatrParrot - November 24, 2009 2:23 a.m.

    *Grammar Edit "Did you sign up for an account just so you could complain in [the comments of] this review?"
  • CatrParrot - November 24, 2009 1:25 a.m.

    @dravendefay Did you sign up for an account just so you could complain in this review? Are you by chance one of Nintendo's PR drones?
  • dravendefay - November 21, 2009 12:56 a.m.

    This review is retarded, it's poorly written and this guy obviously played the game for like five minutes with the intention of hating it and then bashing it in this review to get hits. This game is on the same level as Mario 3 which is an incredible accomplishment, it delivers all kinds of fan service and interesting and challenging twists in gameplay. Since when have Fish Bones and Bloopers been viable enemies? Never, but the designers of this game didn't just take the old Mario formula and repackage it, they changed it and added to it in all the right ways. I also find his comment that the levels are open and empty ridiculous, I've mostly played the game on single player and I honestly don't think about it being a multiplayer game, it's a little more open, but not really noticeably and not in any way that makes it less fun. The game is fun with any number of players, especially 2. It does take some getting used to to play 3 or 4 players, but how could you expect anything else? The bosses are all fairly challenging and unique, the levels all have their own theme and many are downright hard, there's tons of stuff you've never been able to do in a Mario game before. If nothing else this game is leaps and bounds above New Super Mario Bros. DS, which I found to be a tremendous letdown. The only negative thing I have to say about NSMB Wii is that it's just as long as you expect it to be, comparing it to SMB3, SMW, or SMW2 (a game that the reviewer is apparently oblivious to), which is a bit short for games nowadays and with the comparatively small amount of memory (I imagine) goes into 2.5-D levels. Still, they make the most of every level and each has it's own definitive theme that isn't repeated . There are no levels that are totally vanilla, perhaps save some of the ones from the first world, but if you don't expect that, there's something wrong with you. There are two reasons that you wouldn't like this game, the first is that you just hate Mario in any iteration in which case you shall forever burn in the darkest pits of Bowser's dungeon. Option two is that you're a pissed off video game reviewer that wants to cause some controversy to get more people to read your poorly written reviews. If neither of these is true, you should go buy NSMB Wii immediately, you will thank me, and then come back and write about how utterly wrong this guy's review was. New Super Mario Bro. Wii is the best game so far on the console and arguably the best Mario 2-D platformer to date.
  • Paleo_Orca - November 18, 2009 8:51 p.m.

    For shame, Brett. This is the first GamesRadar review that I don't agree with. You broke my streak. >:
  • Tomsta666 - November 17, 2009 9:40 p.m.

    I dont care what you say GamesRadar!! You're not going to put me off buying this game. Mario was the reason i got into gaming, that was 20ish years ago. The fact that Nintendo are still putting these games out there, even if it is for nostalgia factor is alright by me. This takes me back to a simpler time, these kids today are spoilt with their hyper realistic first person shooters and their XBLs and PSN. Lets have a bit of nice, charming old-skool fun eh?
  • fujikuro - November 17, 2009 6:31 p.m.

    its funny that they gave nsmb for the ds a 9, and this game a 7. this game is much better, more fresh, looks better, and definitely lives up to the standard much better than the ds version.
  • mythrus - November 17, 2009 3:28 p.m.

    I can usually rely on GamesRadar for good, and accurate reviews on video games, but this review is shit. I bought this game Saturday night, and it's by far not only one of the best Wii titles available, but one of the best games released in years. Seriously, 7? I think an 8 or 9 would have been more appropriate!

Showing 1-20 of 57 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 15 2009 - Wii (US)
Nov 20 2009 - Wii (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Mario
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief
PEGI Rating:
3+