Google+

Mortal Kombat review

Back to Article

84 comments

  • Spybreak8 - April 20, 2011 1:50 a.m.

    Ok want to say this right off the bat, I'm not planning on picking this game up since fighters isn't really my genre but I read the entire review. Nice writeup Brett, seriously nice writeup man.
  • RebornKusabi - April 20, 2011 4:13 a.m.

    I'm enjoying this game a shitload right now. I will say this review seriously read like a Capcom advertisement, even if game reviewers ARE NOT PAYED OFF, but I honestly think the Capcom references should have been lessened a little bit due to the fact that they are two separate games. Comparing MvC3 and SSF4 to Mortal Kombat is like those idiots who compare Call of Duty to Halo. They're two completely separate games that are connected in the slightest sense because they're both shooters. Same applies here... Both games are fighting games but thats where the similarities end. With that said, no Brett was not payed off. He just has bias towards Capcom fighters... which is fine, but thats why I wouldn't have had you review this game. Its like comparing apples to oranges and saying apples are better even though they both satisfy some kind of urge in you. I love your reviews but this is the first time I've disagreed with you. Thats fine, it is a review after all, but maybe you weren't the right person to review the game lol Love your stuff! Please keep doing Game Music of the Day because those f*cking ROCK!!!
  • GhostbustTyler - April 20, 2011 4:29 a.m.

    Been playing this for six hours straight since I got it today and it's so much fun. The fighting is fun, the fatalities are as gross as ever, and it's hard enough that you'll want to keep retrying seemingly impossible fights instead of rage quitting. I'm also picking up Portal 2 this weekend so there goes my entire social life haha.
  • 2cute2Bcruel - April 20, 2011 4:54 a.m.

    Those revamped backgrounds look awesome!
  • Romination - April 20, 2011 5:45 a.m.

    I've heard that playing through story mode and the challenge tower give pretty good training for most of the characters. Besides, for how much you complain about the training in SF4 and MvC3, is it really a problem they don't have one?
  • WtfInternetguy87 - April 20, 2011 1:20 p.m.

    Mortal Kombat is a pretty awesome game. I am in agreement though that someone who holds a strong opinion of street fighter being a better fighter needs to take off the rose colored sunglasses. Street Fighter has some issues that haven't been addressed since the day it came out. For starters turtling is a major issue in SF games. Down back champions be damned. Also they keep adding shoto variants instead of just balancing the roster. I enjoy street fighter just as much as the next guy but I'm not in love with it enough to say its a better fighter after all this time.
  • Heyexclamationpoint - April 20, 2011 5:52 p.m.

    I actually found Shao Kahn and Goro/Kintaro pretty easy, as long as you spam projectiles (Shao Kahn) or constantly jump kick/uppercut (Goro/Kintaro, though Goro is much easier to beat, Kintaro has those annoying counters). Some of the fatalities made me gag. And most would consider me to be a serial killer in the making!
  • bron1417 - April 20, 2011 6:24 p.m.

    great review Elston! as a huge MK fan i loved the review. and people really do need to stop complaining. it's not a big deal at all. also....KOMBAT TIME!!
  • TriforcePlayer - April 20, 2011 6:39 p.m.

    I'll get this either early May or whenever Noire comes out
  • gatorfan122394 - April 20, 2011 7:53 p.m.

    Lets put it this way, game informer gave it the 2nd lowest review and as an average of an 8.6. just because gamesradar is biased doesn't mean this game isnt better than 8
  • trenen - April 20, 2011 8:34 p.m.

    The Babalities in this one are hilarious. Makes me want the Friendships too!
  • bread_or_decide - April 20, 2011 8:52 p.m.

    This game had me at "barf that stays there for the match."
  • Imthedoctor - April 21, 2011 1:44 a.m.

    I just played this today, and i gotta say it's amazing, i'm definitely buying it. Online was annoying though, i'd beat the guy for one round pretty handlily..then he'd just jump to spamming to win the match..pretty low
  • happydude007 - April 21, 2011 2:13 a.m.

    Well said Sinosaur
  • AntistasMetroid - April 21, 2011 1:45 p.m.

    Im glad you reviewed this mr. brelston. your fighting game chops are second to none when it comes the fine details of these games. ive actually been playin this for a couple of days and you hit the nail on the head in every point you made. good review. fair score.
  • GayforGilbert - April 22, 2011 2:16 a.m.

    This sure read more like a seven.
  • Headie - April 22, 2011 6:14 p.m.

    Great review and from a reviewer that knows what he's talking about. One i'll be picking up in the bargain bin in a few week. Most interested to hear about the hitbox issue. I play fighting games purely for multiplayer (same console/online) and the hitbox thing would be a pretty key point for me. I have absolutely no interest in the 1player side of the game. I'd just like to know that when i hit it connects. I play my fighters seriously and i found your review honest and informative. Most of the people whining are just whining for the sake of it. Give MK a bit of time and see how it holds up in 3-6 months thru Tournies (not official MK 1's, but Multi game lans etc. Maybe it will have some hidden depths. I'm pretty convince SSF4 will still be getting played at the big events. Whereas this may sit in a corner somewhere with ppl pleading to have some1 to play against. I shall get it when the price comes down, but i doubt it's got the legs of the others Nope i aint a SSF4 fanboy, but i play it and watch enough tournies to see the depth in the game. Nope, I don't like MvC3 (Too much for my eyes to handle lol) Yep i love VF5 (PS3 & Xbox 360 & Arcade). Have since VF2 in Arcade and Saturn. Probably not a more hardcore beater out there So VF > All OFC this is just my opinion, like the reviewer had his. Nothing devides faneboy gamers more than the old MK vs SF debate Just ban SSF4 and MK and bring out VF6 already and lets put this 1 to bed :P
  • hanktherapper - April 23, 2011 2:47 a.m.

    I finally decided to buy this game. It'll be the first fighting game I've played in 10 years.
  • yagirlfriendsfavoriterapper - April 23, 2011 3:54 p.m.

    The 3 MK games on PS2 had a combo breaker aimrite?
  • kingsmikefan - April 26, 2011 5:37 a.m.

    You fucking retards. "It's a capcom advertisement." He thinks SS1V is a better game, and he went into detail saying that it's not really a fair comparison, but he had to make them because people will bring that up. If you fucking read that shit, you would know that, but you want to bitch so you ignore it.

Showing 61-80 of 84 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 19 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Apr 21 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS Vita, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Fighting
Published by: WB Interactive
Developed by: NetherRealm
Franchise: Mortal Kombat
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending