Google+

Mortal Kombat review

Back to Article

84 comments

  • Oliolioliooo - April 19, 2011 10:24 a.m.

    Can't wait to get it!
  • Cruddi - April 19, 2011 10:14 a.m.

    The only question i wanted answering wasn't answered lol... Can you to "tag team" ladder online with a 2nd player? that's all i wanted to know
  • AmbassadorBlanka - April 19, 2011 10:13 a.m.

    Well, fuck. It looks like the original comment went through.
  • AmbassadorBlanka - April 19, 2011 10:11 a.m.

    @ BigDannyH No, I just have an incompatible controller (in a gamebreaking way) and an inability to play without it. If only they had allowed me to disable the in game controller and instead use an external emulator.
  • AmbassadorBlanka - April 19, 2011 10:03 a.m.

    @BigDanny No, Portal doesn't suck at all from what I have been able to play, but the game misreads my controller in a gamebreaking way and I am unable to use multiple keys and my touchpad on my laptop. God, I wish that there was an option to turn off controller input ingame and use an external emulator instead. Had I known, I probably would have gone out and gotten a compatible alternative.
  • BigDannyH - April 19, 2011 9:35 a.m.

    Portal sucks? Say it ain't so! Hopefully I misread the cryptic comment. Good review, I wonder if the projectile spamming issues can be patched, otherwise it'll be viewed as broken in the fighting game community. I suppose it doesn't have to be a competitive game, but could get boring pretty fast if it's as sloppy as it sounds. SP sounds good though. Maybe they'll tweak the coin system by patch?
  • jackthemenace - April 19, 2011 9:30 a.m.

    I've never been one for Arcade style fighting games, but I WAS excited for MK. But, reading that it's only really an average game, I think I'll keep saving for Brink and/or Portal 2
  • AmbassadorBlanka - April 19, 2011 9:16 a.m.

    speAkiNg of terriblY dONE incePtion knockoffs, did anyone eLse hate the most recent fringe episode? Because You I kNow i did. God faP it is obviOsly what i stated as the dooRs opened To show An animated LeonArd nimoy. whaT cheap, unintelligible, aiMless drivel that was. I Couldnt feel for ANy of iT. AND I jusT SerioUsly Could not f**King believe it had to get that off my cheSt.
  • guillotinedream - April 19, 2011 8:50 a.m.

    @ AmbassadorBranka cue inception trairer music
  • AmbassadorBlanka - April 19, 2011 8:40 a.m.

    Just asking. Is it as good as Haro Leach?
  • Zeb364 - April 19, 2011 8:29 a.m.

    Dying to pick this up tomorrow. Getting it for my PS3 (for many different reasons) but I am going to miss my achievements lol.
  • guillotinedream - April 19, 2011 8:27 a.m.

    I've been thinking about getting this since I tried the demo. It really brought me back to the MK I/II/III days. I also completely understand and respect the score given by the reviewer. Its a fighting game so its obviously going to be compared to todays standards, and its a Mortal Kombat game so its not going to be completely ripped apart for having some technical inaccuracies. This game seems to be just what the developers were going for; ultra voilence/MK humor, fun 1 on 1 play, nostalgia. All together it seems very promising and I am really excited to kick my Brothers ass like i used to in MK I/II/III. TOASTYYYY
  • Sinosaur - April 19, 2011 8:24 a.m.

    @hagg309 The way reviews work, online or off, is that somebody takes an objective look at a game and scores it based on certain things like genre. Mortal Kombat is a fighting game, so it gets scored based on the mechanics of fighting games, where it is clearly not the ultimate best in that regard. Does having the best mechanics mean it's the most fun? Nope, fun is completely independent, and unfortunately people are not yet able to score things based on how much you will enjoy them. Mortal Kombat has always been more about fun than pristine mechanics.
  • Japanjack - April 19, 2011 8:04 a.m.

    Hagg, the reason you will not listen to peoples' reviews is because your taste is contradictory. I would definitely deny your statements about SSIV, I'm just guessing you're more of a Mortal Kombat fan.
  • MyNameIsMyName - April 19, 2011 7:53 a.m.

    I'm glad you can buy alt costumes with in game rewards as opposed to having to pay $4-5 dollars a pack for them. I'm mean seriously why is that okay Capcom?
  • hagg309 - April 19, 2011 7:39 a.m.

    Worst review ever, not as balanced as "street fighter" I bought that game and was so bored with it within 2 days. I actually think the coin reward system is fun in this, it's fun unlocking things.. if anything I would have put the negative as its still too cartoony/commercialized this time around. Marvel vs. Capcom 3 better than this? I bought it, it's ok, but definitely not as good.. I dunno this is why I won't listen to anyone's review's online anymore.
  • Xtapolapopotamus - April 19, 2011 7:38 a.m.

    Shit damn, Mr. Elston! That was a terrific review! I'd say your purdy words made up for the lack of delicious dinner tonight!
  • Person5 - April 19, 2011 7:34 a.m.

    I wasn't thinking about this game until I started reading all the MK stuff here on GR, next thing I know I preorder from Amazon to get Reptile's Klassic Skin, I'm really happy this lived up to what it looked like (being all the nosolgia I remember) I'm glad they went back to the roots of the series and glad its scored well
  • kingsmikefan - April 19, 2011 7:33 a.m.

    I was thinking it would garner mostly 7s and 8s. Let's see if this holds true. Great review; lots of detail.
  • NathanXplosion - April 19, 2011 7:31 a.m.

    KOMBAT TIME!!! Can't wait to pick this up in the morning.

Showing 61-80 of 84 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 19 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Apr 21 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS Vita, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Fighting
Published by: WB Interactive
Developed by: NetherRealm
Franchise: Mortal Kombat
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending