Google+

Mortal Kombat review

Back to Article

84 comments

  • cronoman66 - April 19, 2011 5:20 p.m.

    to everyone saying this review is retard, bias crap or whatever. Did you actually read it? Have you played said game. Also he gave it an 8 and said it was a great game. Sheesh
  • Stridefizzel - April 19, 2011 4:44 p.m.

    Great Review, picking this up immediately after I get off of work. I'm a little disappointed that it only got an 8, but your reasons for giving that make sense, and it seems to be getting a lot of 8.5's, maybe 9's, so that's cool. Seriously, thank you for taking the time to write an intensive review that explains everything about the game. You should read IGN's review... it's super short, and all around terrible, and yet they still gave it an 8 too!
  • Fuzunga - April 19, 2011 3:56 p.m.

    I don't see how you can compare MK to Street Fighter. They're only similar in that they are fighting games.
  • Estacado - April 19, 2011 3:54 p.m.

    MK is better than any other game by just one simple thing, I can rip off heads!!!
  • may.be.vital - April 19, 2011 3:36 p.m.

    I would think that giving you the fatalities early would be a smart yet cheap way to keep 100%-ers playing, or just people needing a goal to keep playing. Excellent review sir! I thoroughly approve haha
  • Zeokroe - April 19, 2011 3:24 p.m.

    I'm still excited for this. I appreciate it GR; your analysis was much more thorough then IGN's. I was left disappointed by their review. Yours, however, gave interesting points and fair reasoning. Thanks guys! Can't wait to pick this up!
  • SCRubS77 - April 19, 2011 3:13 p.m.

    Dayum, Elston, that was a mighty fine revoo. Fun(ny) to read, and imformative as always. Good work, sir.
  • elchetos - April 19, 2011 2:53 p.m.

    It's funny how trolls are fishing for a comment war in here, specially the guy who linked the GR review. All I have to say is that it's an awesome review, the way only GR can deliver. Can't wait to get my hands on this puppy!
  • Syncmaster - April 19, 2011 2:36 p.m.

    awesome! but WHAT?! only one fatality per character at start?? man this is laaaame, lame lame lame. lame lame. lame.
  • Bitchslapthehomeless - April 19, 2011 2:25 p.m.

    I don't like the fact that Bret complains about priority and projectile spamming in this game, yet give MVC3 the higher rating? What!? That's ALL MVC3 is about. But overall a decent review, I feel the mechanics in MK though not "as" deep as SSFIV are far better than MVC3, and deservingly this game should have got a 9.
  • Sensationo - April 19, 2011 1:48 p.m.

    I think the only problem I have with the MK game currently and before it even came out was that in order to play online I have to pay them 10 dollars, this is because I rent most of my games because I am still too poor to buy them. I get why they did that in some aspects but it does hurt us poor peeps out there. As for the review I thought it gave a good run down of the game, made it sound like even without online play it can be fun, So I guess I will give it a rent. Also to all the MK fans out there hating on this review troll harder, my my game is not highest and someone has differing opinion they must be wrong. Can't has no ones say my game bad du du durrrr
  • philipshaw - April 19, 2011 1:31 p.m.

    Great review,sad to hear it still has the balance issues it has always had. I might get this when it's cheaper because there seems to be a fair amount of single player content
  • FauxFurry - April 19, 2011 1:19 p.m.

    The kollision detection issues could lead to MK being featured on an upcoming episode of 'Homo-Genius'. It looks like MK will finally make it on the super blooper reel. That's almost as good of news as seeing that Mortal Kombat was worth the wait. Noooooowwww you can "Finish Him!"
  • BigDannyH - April 19, 2011 12:50 p.m.

    Good to know Portal doesn't suck. That confused me. Why are people hating on SSFIV? It's an obvious comparison to MK and is a top drawer fighter. There's a reason it dominates Evo at the moment. @cruddi -that sounds ace. Not enough 2-player co-op out there at the mo. Tagged on to a few FPSs but that's about it. Lara Croft GOL was ace because of co-op, and different to the SP version. Wanna see more devs follow suit.
  • TheRedRabbit - April 19, 2011 12:45 p.m.

    Loved the c-c-c-etc... lol
  • NightCrawler_358 - April 19, 2011 11:56 a.m.

    great review, covered all my concerns. I like fighting games, but I'm not very good at them and usually don't get as many hours out of them as i would from another 60 dollar game. I'm waiting for GR's review for Portal 2, and I guess I'll have to wait until tonight to decide which game to buy.
  • Felixthecat - April 19, 2011 11:53 a.m.

    Seriously, comparing SF and MvC to MK just doesn't go. The only thing that's even remotely similar is that they're both fighters. Not to mention that every fighting game on the market has it's fair share of spammers. Anyway, I'll be getting it Thursday, seeing as that's when it come out. Hopefully Amazon won't be late.
  • SonyBacker - April 19, 2011 11:02 a.m.

    Bullshit, i will admit i am a massive mk fan but saying its not better than super street fighter 4 hurts me, they are 2 different games, 1 is high speed, adrenaline packed wailfest, and the other is back to originality in even paced slow death beat em down. you wanna talk about cheap bosses? what about the sentinal/boss at the end of mvc3? spamming the same 3 movies to knock you on your ass unless you button mash the controler to get that level 4 super mega triple team hellmaker attack? or how about ssf4 cheap ass seth? who only spams the same 3 moves, teleport, sonic boom, and zangiefs powerbowb driver thingy?
  • Scyn - April 19, 2011 10:58 a.m.

    Here is a real review http://www.gametrailers.com/video/review-hd-mortal-kombat/713003

Showing 41-60 of 84 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 19 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Apr 21 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS Vita, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Fighting
Published by: WB Interactive
Developed by: NetherRealm
Franchise: Mortal Kombat
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.