Google+

Metal Gear Solid 5: Ground Zeroes review

Solid
Back to Article

29 comments

  • Jimmy321 - March 21, 2014 1 p.m.

    Just a side note... Hijack the tank and laugh ur butt off for as long as u want^^ very fun
  • xxsaturnxx1 - April 14, 2014 3:44 p.m.

    Ohhhhhhh....I'm going to try that tonight!!! lol
  • Jimmy321 - March 21, 2014 10:38 a.m.

    Ok. What everyones failing to mention is; a fast runthrough of the game only completes 10% of the actual content lol... Stop bitching about 30$ like its a huge waste for a "demo". This game is a uber demo at the worst! Unlockables, extra missions, absurdly great graphics and bonus content for mgs phanton paid when you register for ground zeroes that you will most likely not be able to obtain otherwise. Not to mention the actual gameplay is very tight and fluid;"no glitchy crap here!" This game is well worth the $$ spent as is. Hideo and his team have done an amazing job! The mgs games have and ever will be a sneaking experience with the option to go crazy and blast everything and everyone to bits and walk away from it. Who cares if its only 1 map for now, ive put in 5 hours of very appealing replay value so far and still not even close to 100%.....lol >.>
  • ClevernameX - March 20, 2014 4:23 p.m.

    I love Ground Zeros despite the length, as the reviewer said it just ends...but it is has the most polished gameplay of all the MGS games. Having a blast replaying it in different ways. For me it was $20 well spent,l.Wouldn't recommend it to those new to the series expecting a massive game, but if you have been a fan of the series for a while...well you probably played it already.
  • TurkeyOnRye - March 18, 2014 8:28 p.m.

    I WILL play this... but I have enough backlog to satiate me until it goes on sale either on Live or at Gamefly during one of their monthly cleanings.
  • Chris_Danger_Donahue - March 18, 2014 7:14 p.m.

    Just beat it in 1.5 hours...and I was taking my sweet time. I barely got my money's worth and I rented it for $2 at Redbox.
  • Redeater - March 18, 2014 8:13 p.m.

    Holy crap. While that is pretty brutal, if you are complaining about paying $2 for a largely excellent (albeit short) experience, you clearly never visited an arcade before.
  • Chris_Danger_Donahue - March 18, 2014 8:23 p.m.

    I just feel sorry for the people that paid $20-30 for the game. I think it's a crime to charge that much. Now I do have to say, the 1.5 hours of the game were VERY GOOD, and I'm excited for the full version. With that said, I do not respect this new wave of developers that throws out expensive, valueless games.
  • Redeater - March 18, 2014 10:50 p.m.

    Fair enough. I may buy this when it drops to $10 or I may just wait until the inevitable free PS+ release. I just can't justify spending almost half the price of Dark Souls 2. I'll be 45+ hours in the next couple days...
  • MidianGTX - March 21, 2014 9:15 a.m.

    I just got 8 hours out of it, which is more than I got from Portal and Bioshock Infinite, and just about matched my Tomb Raider completion time. No regrets.
  • winner2 - March 18, 2014 5:19 p.m.

    There's a point where I can't agree with the skew between price and quantity of something obtained. Would I pay 100$ for a steak? Hell no, unless it's a 5 pound steak. There's a point where quality doesn't matter anymore, if i'm not going to be full I'm not paying that much. Same with this game, I'm not paying 30$ for a 2 hour (and apparently 10-20 minute main story according to some vids) demo. Hell, 30$ is a few games on steam that could keep you entertained for a month.
  • shawksta - March 18, 2014 1:51 p.m.

    So pretty much a decent introduction, great
  • PlainLikeVanilla - March 18, 2014 11:08 a.m.

    There's a great Eurogamer video of them beating the main story in 10mins.
  • Redeater - March 18, 2014 11:44 a.m.

    That's nothing. There is a video of them getting an S rating in about 17-18. :D
  • Redeater - March 18, 2014 10:37 a.m.

    Here's a couple of reasons why I don't intend on touching this game. 1. I'm 40+hours into Dark Souls 2 and have barely scratched the surface. 2. Second Son is being released in a couple days. 3. This game is going to be returned in DROVES by every idiot who thinks it's the new Metal Gear game. Seriously, this game is going to be marked down to a cool $20 in about a month. If you don't like the price, give it a month or so.
  • xxsaturnxx1 - April 14, 2014 3:53 p.m.

    Yeah, I admit, I didnt do my research and bought this NOT knowing that it was just a little demo, BUT, Im not too upset though, because it really is pretty badass!! I have fun with it and always try to outdo myself from the previous run. If this is just a demo, I cant wait for the full game!!!!
  • Jackonomics2.0 - March 18, 2014 9:11 a.m.

    Puns aside, this is only the beginning meat hopefully
  • TheGreyWizard - March 18, 2014 8:09 a.m.

    Well, I didn't expect better than that. This is an all time low for MGS...
  • Alphonsedabeast - April 21, 2014 2:07 p.m.

    Dude whatever at least they allow us to play this demo just buy from game stop used and take it back before 7 days no money spent and if your a real fan then this demo is sure to please
  • CitizenWolfie - March 18, 2014 6 a.m.

    At that price I'm very tempted to say no but then, it's Metal Gear Solid. I have played the MGS2 demo loads of times and found something new to amuse myself with almost each time. In fact I probably put more hours into that than I did the main game. So basically I hope I can do the same here. For me it was never about how fast I could beat it, it was always about screwing with the guards, shooting every object to see if it did anything, exploring every room and air vent and locker. I can't wait to jump into Snake's shoes and then play as if I was Sterling Archer

Showing 1-20 of 29 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 18 2014 - PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, Xbox One (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, Xbox One
Genre: Action
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.