Google+

Medal of Honor super review

Great
Back to Article

87 comments

  • Clovin64 - October 12, 2010 3:28 p.m.

    Its only really single player I'm interested in, so I'll give this a miss and wait for a Black Ops review. I was surprised when you mentioned that MW2's single player was superior to the multiplayer, you're the first person I've heard that from and since I've yet to play MW2, you've peaked my curiosity in it a bit.
  • tareq - October 12, 2010 3:39 p.m.

    Haha exactly the score I predicted
  • MrAnthonyDR - October 12, 2010 3:49 p.m.

    Im still gonna buy it, but I just see it as another bucket-full in the sea of samey FPS's. The more of these games that come out, the sooner gamers will get sick of them and the sooner developers will move the frak on (ala WW2 games) So yah, great Job, MoH. And 8 is probably a fair score...
  • TURbo - October 12, 2010 3:50 p.m.

    COD Black Ops is going to get a 9. If it's reviewed by the UK boys its a 10. Besides no country has the COD boner like the UK. Then its the US.
  • ventanger - October 12, 2010 4 p.m.

    "One mission into the campaign and it's clear it's the game version of God Bless The USA" ...Wow. As much as a developer boils the conflict down to good guys, bad guys, and the mission, some people still project their Huffington Post mentality. Love ya Tyler but jesus christ, grow some perspective.
  • Crabhand - October 12, 2010 4:14 p.m.

    At the very least, it will give people who hate Call of Duty something to do in the modern shooter department. I don't think I'll buy it, mostly because I'm much more interested in Reach and I have too many other games to buy to get another standard shooter.
  • GamesRadarTylerWilde - October 12, 2010 4:14 p.m.

    @ventanger I don't read the Huffington Post. I think my point is valid regardless of political views. There's barely any mention of non-US forces (British, Canadian...), and the only local in the game is portrayed as a weak, helpless victim who needs big strong Americans. The entire game sets out to honor the American soldier, and it treats them as infallible (aside from the antagonizing general I mentioned). I'm not saying that's necessarily a bad thing, but I point it out because: A. The Taliban controversy. B. This is a present-day conflict, which is naturally going to be difficult to portray respectfully. Danger Close probably made the safest depiction of the conflict - they do not ruffle American feathers. C. I rolled my eyes a couple times.
  • ventanger - October 12, 2010 4:19 p.m.

    There's no non-US forces because the first responders WERE Americans. That's not jingoistic, it's factual. You can roll your eyes, but I swear, some people can't be pleased unless the big villain turns out to be a U.S. general causing wars to boost recruitment or is developed by a team of culturally diverse people of various religious faiths where the final climactic battle is a fist fight with the Pope. That's where I roll my eyes.
  • GamesRadarTylerWilde - October 12, 2010 4:33 p.m.

    @ventanger I didn't ask for that. And by the way, the British were involved in Afghanistan in 2001 as well. I'm saying that it is a safe portrayal of the war which glorifies America and idolizes the soldiers, and it does so intentionally. It's shallow. If you enjoyed Generation Kill or The Hurt Locker, this is not like either of those things. It is not thoughtful. It does not consider anything other than how great American soldiers are. That's okay. In other words: I'm not hatin', I'm just sayin'.
  • DRAKULAxx - October 12, 2010 4:37 p.m.

    I wanted to get this game after I read the preview here on GR. I watched some multiplayer gameplay footage on YouTube and I felt if I already have Battlefield:BC2, what would be the point of buying MoH? I still want to check out the campaign so from the looks of this review, it's probably just going to be a rental for me. By the way, this was a great review, Tyler. You should be proud.
  • Korvak - October 12, 2010 4:39 p.m.

    "My favorite mode, Combat Mission, sees one side defend a linear series of strongholds as the other attempts to capture them one by one." Sounds almost exactly like the Invasion gametype to me. I have never gotten into COD, but I guess to each his own.
  • infernox - October 12, 2010 5:09 p.m.

    fails to mention that theres only 8 maps and 4 game modes for multiplayer.
  • bball42242442 - October 12, 2010 5:14 p.m.

    I love how it says it's better than MW2 but MW2 has a ten. lol (yeah i might have done the same cause it seemed amazing for about a month then i was sick of its shenanigans)
  • n00b - October 12, 2010 5:19 p.m.

    wasn't interested in this game from the beginning. i'll just wait for vanquish. when is that review coming out anyway?
  • cracker33 - October 12, 2010 6:15 p.m.

    Maybe that big-ass billboard on 101 should include the tagline: "Glitchy as hell". Good review!
  • JamieGriffiths - October 12, 2010 6:31 p.m.

    i wonderd when MOH was coming back, when COD MW1 was released i thought they stole the idea from EA or something MOH is the real Mcoy!!!
  • Castmaker - October 12, 2010 6:59 p.m.

    Good review. I always come to GamesRadar first for major releases. Money is tight and there are too many games coming out (ie next week) for me to get this. I'll give it a rent though.
  • SwampRock - October 12, 2010 7:27 p.m.

    in all honesty Probably better than MW:2 because that game was such a step backwards for players who didn't jump on the bandwagon. I miss cod:4 to be honest, and remote controlled cars that blow up sounds like they're really just targeting 10 year olds.
  • deformedorange - October 12, 2010 7:35 p.m.

    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm so aperantly Halo is not as much of a multiplayer game as MoH???
  • kylelundgren - October 12, 2010 7:38 p.m.

    It's better than Halo Reach. It's as good as Modern Warfare 2. The difference is that MOH isn't about fake crap like MW2 or Halo. Halo is stupid because you have to shoot an enemy with your whole mag before they die, stupid. MW2 is stupid because you can do super human things like run forever or lung across a room and stab someone before they can shoot you. MOH is 100x more realistic but MW2 found a way to put "crack" in their game and I have to play the stupid thing even though I get physically angry and want to actually kill people when I play. However, there is not another game that has found a way to put "crack" in their games. MOH is growing on me and I think may have the "crack" aspect somewhere in there, if given enough time.

Showing 21-40 of 87 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 12 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Oct 15 2010 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: EA Los Angeles, DICE
Franchise: Medal of Honor
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Strong Language, Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.