Google+

Max Payne 3 review

Back to Article

80 comments

  • ObliqueZombie - May 14, 2012 6:50 p.m.

    Eh, still don't care enough to play it. Not that it doesn't look interest, but I haven't played the other two and getting a "quick recap" of the previous titles seems shallow and unfun. Unfortunately, I think I'll pass on this for a while.
  • Zaphod Beeblebrox - May 16, 2012 1:43 a.m.

    Well why don't you buy the first 2 games? Do you just watch part 3 of a movie trilogy and expect them to tell you the story of 1 and 2 first?
  • ObliqueZombie - May 16, 2012 7:41 a.m.

    I don't have the time or money to buy the first to, what with all these fantastic games coming out, but I thought they gave the player a quick recap of the events of the first two to get them up to speed for this one. And that's no fun!
  • simple - May 14, 2012 6:23 p.m.

    i just watched the review for this on game trailers.com who gave this a 7.6 because it is plagued with mechanical issues, repetitive gameplay and mediocre story. how can it get a 10 here? quit misleading your readers gr! also, please use drop downs for your birth date entry, similar to gt.com. so much easier. no, i do not work for gt.com i just like watching reviews as much as reading them.
  • ObliqueZombie - May 14, 2012 6:46 p.m.

    Misleading? It's their opinion, and they thought it deserved a 10. Apparently, GT had mechanical issues GR did not (or they're too picky).
  • simple - May 15, 2012 6:24 p.m.

    gr noted mechanics in the "you'll hate" section of their review! also, if it's a 10 then the "you'll hate" section should be empty.
  • ObliqueZombie - May 15, 2012 9:05 p.m.

    10s mean different things different things to everyone. For Game Informer, for instance, it's "just short of gaming nirvana," meaning it's damn-near perfect. Damn NEAR.
  • D0CCON - May 16, 2012 6:23 p.m.

    I do love how OXM combats that line of thinking with an 11 score that can never be achieved. Their 11 is true perfection with 10 being the best that games can be.
  • kyle94 - May 14, 2012 10:29 p.m.

    It can get a 7.6 on one site, and a 10 on another, because reviewers can have different opinions and run into different problems. Reviewers are allowed to have their own opinion, and they're not guaranteed to run into the same problems as others. They have been occasions where I ran into glitches in games and couldn't find any talk of it online. And I've also played games called to be extremely glitchy, and never ran into anything major. People have different experiences of the same product. It's not exactly that surprising or unusual.
  • simple - May 15, 2012 6:26 p.m.

    i didn't mention anything about glitches in my comment. mechanical issues are not glitches...
  • Imgema - May 14, 2012 6:10 p.m.

    Those perfect scores have lost their charm lately if you ask me... Years ago magazines and sites only gave perfect scores to games that were revolutionary, unique and as close to perfection as possible. The so called masterpieces. Because of that seeing a perfect score was a rare thing. Now, even generic "good" games get perfect scores... Even when there are various criticisms in the review. Anyway, i think the best score system was the one in the C&VG magazine in the late 90's. The best games earned a high five and thats it. If the game was a one time perfect masterpiece you would know it by reading the review.
  • gilgamesh310 - May 15, 2012 3:38 a.m.

    Edge are still like that. They've been around for about 18 years but only gave 15 games in total a 10. I agree that CVG's old way is the best. If a game scored a 5 it was really good or a mastetpiece. There is no need for the added precision.
  • Net_Bastard - May 15, 2012 9:44 a.m.

    Edge also gives bad scores to good games. There's no subjective opinion that could warrant giving SSX 2012 a 5/10. Or Hard Reset a 4/10. $0% and 50%, in American public schools, are the equivalent to an F-. Is SSX an F- game? The controls were great and the animations were superb. Is Hard Reset an F- game? The graphics were amazing and the gameplay was fun. So no, they aren't.
  • Cruddi - May 14, 2012 5:53 p.m.

    Why are people upset about at 10 like it's a 1? I am over the moon knowing it got a 10 and i feel all the more justified to purchase the £100 version.
  • Shanetexas - May 14, 2012 5:46 p.m.

    All right! Glad this game got high scores
  • BottleBank - May 14, 2012 3:59 p.m.

    the review text led me to believe a 9 was gonna be the score. but hey, if the guy says it's a 10, who are we to argue until we've actually played it? ps game looks real nice, but i'll wait till its cheaper in a month or so
  • gilgamesh310 - May 14, 2012 12:45 p.m.

    10! Seriously? Just when I thought GR were starting to become harder on grading games, giving Ninja Gaiden 3 and everything they do this. The writing in the review strongly dictated that it was a 9 at the most. 10s don't mean anything when they are given out so lightly.
  • BladedFalcon - May 14, 2012 3:27 p.m.

    ...So if GR gives a hyped game a 9. They are underscoring it, and being unfair and it means the game is a piece of shit. (Just see the reactions to the Uncharted 3 and Skyward Sword reviews.) If they give it a ten, then they are being lenient, dick sucking sellouts that make a 10 not mean anything. Wheee fanboys! Mind, I'm not directing all of the above to you, gilgamesh, but your reaction to them giving it a ten reminded me about how no matter what you do, you can't please anyone, not by a long-shot. And by the way, whether the game is deserving of a 10 or not is still yet to be seen, but reading the review It did feel like it deserved a 10. Mainly because really, the one big complain they gave was about how the last man standing mechanic, or other mechanic don't work as well 5% of the time... Which IS honestly a pretty wimpy complaint to knock down the score of a game considering skyrim got a 10... And no amount of extra fingers are enough to count what doesn't work right with that game :P Oh, and the other complaint is about checkpoint that honestly sound like it only makes the game more challenging, because dying actually PUNISHES you. So overall I don't see that being a negative all in all.
  • gilgamesh310 - May 14, 2012 5:16 p.m.

    They should just be honest. It shouldn't be important whatever any fanboys think. I don't think much of the Uncharted games at all. In fact i wrote a review of Uncharted 3 myself and gave the game a 6/10. As well as the flaws that you mentioned that he listed, there were also several others as well. Overall the reviewer just didn't seem enthusiastic enough to give the game a 10. I haven't played the game yet so I can't say what I'd give it but it just seems that GR throw out 10s for any very good game. They should be reserved for true masterpieces. If they want to give out their highest score so often they should probably just rate on a 1-5 scale instead. That way it's much easier just to give most really good or great releases the highest score.
  • BladedFalcon - May 14, 2012 5:46 p.m.

    I do agree that a .5 scale could be better. (Then again, it can still be misused, just look at IGN...) And well, I don't think a reviewer has to be enthusiastic about a game to think it deserves a 10. Specially because, well, he pretty much gave the game top marks int he categories that matter, which is overall game-play, fun, replay value and story and setting. Also, I don't think they hand out 10s in order to cater to fanboys. I mean, they gave Saints Row the Third a 10, which is a series that isn't nearly as popular to think that it would have fanboy pressure. I DO think they hand 10s a wee bit too easily, but more because they feel they are above a nine and not so much because they think they are masterpieces or perfect. Which is why like I agreed earlier, a .5 scale could work wonders.
  • Divine Paladin - May 14, 2012 7:07 p.m.

    Did you review it like a reviewer is supposed to? Reviews don't just say what they like personally about games, because their opinions don't matter in reviews. It's about what is good and what is bad. While you may have given Uncharted 3 a 6/10, how much of it was because you didn't like it (compared to how much was WRONG with it)? Probably a lot. The more opinion that comes into a reviewer's score (small asides pointing out things that someone likes/doesn't like that doesn't actually affect the score are acceptable here and there), the worse the review is. He complained about one or two things in the game, one of which he said happened about 5% of the time. I don't see people complaining when completely glitchy games get 10s all the time Side note: If you're complaining about scores, then ignore them. Just read what the guy thinks works and doesn't work and compare it to others' views, and then form your own opinion instead of complaining about his.

Showing 21-40 of 80 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 15 2012 - Xbox 360
Jun 01 2012 - PC
May 15 2012 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Rockstar Games
Developed by: Rockstar Studios
Franchise: Max Payne
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending