Google+

Mass Effect 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

126 comments

  • FOZ - March 6, 2012 7:19 a.m.

    Mass Effect 2's final mission was just a checklist. If a character is loyal, they won't die. If your whole squad is loyal, the only "choices" that will matter are who puts up the biotic barrier (anyone other than loyal Samara or loyal Jack and Thane dies) or not putting armor on the Normandy (Jack dies). Your choices are actually completely irrelevant as long as you completed the loyalty missions. So even though I'm not a fan of "Galactic Readiness," saying it's not tied to your choices in comparison to previous endings isn't really a fair criticism. Still not sure about this game. What I've seen looked kind of dull, and at times downright stupid.
  • db1331 - March 6, 2012 7:59 a.m.

    Not true. I sent a loyal Mordin through the vents as my tech specialist and he died trying to get the door shut.
  • FOZ - March 6, 2012 8:26 a.m.

    Then add "Anyone but loyal Legion or loyal Tali will die." There's a whole chart for this. Only those two events really make a difference, and all you have to do is think for a second and send the person who makes the most sense. Tali is a Quarian, Legion is a robot, both have AI Hacking and drone. Mordin, meanwhile, is a scientist/ doctor.
  • Dragonflame - March 6, 2012 9:52 a.m.

    Oh beyond that there are also two Squad leader choices where Miranda and Garrus are the correct choices (and Zaeed if you got him I believe) and then at the end there is also an invisible toughness score for all those participating in the defense, basicly each character has a invisible toughness score based on how hardcore they are in direct combat (Garrus and Grunt among the highest)and if the combined score is too low someone or all will die in the defense part. Even with all squadmates loyal and alive this means that if you take Garrus and Grunt with you at the end someone in the defense will die (Happened to me)
  • ConfidentSheep - March 6, 2012 7:15 a.m.

    Great review! I'm glad GR is doing more and more video reviews now.
  • AnonymouZ - March 6, 2012 7:06 a.m.

    Annnnnd when it releases on steam i will buy the shit out of it. Till now, I shall appraise it's awesomeness from afar :D
  • BottleBank - March 6, 2012 5:43 a.m.

    So apparently Mass Effect 3 isn't a bi enough release to warrant a Super Review
  • BottleBank - March 6, 2012 5:44 a.m.

    big*
  • db1331 - March 6, 2012 5:14 a.m.

    "XBOX 360: On the box for the Xbox 360 version, a purple banner says that the game is “Better with Kinect,” and to our surprise we actually agree." Thanks for the early morning laugh.
  • Darkwun - March 6, 2012 5:08 a.m.

    GR: What's the news on the ME1 face imports?
  • inkyspot - March 6, 2012 4:41 a.m.

    What o people think of the Day one DLC if you haven't brought the collector's edition (I tried, but it was sold out). It's 800 points or 10:00 USD for it. Is it worth it? Does it add anything to the story?
  • chriszewski - March 6, 2012 1:36 p.m.

    Time realy IS money now ;P
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 6, 2012 4:35 a.m.

    So, I've seen where Bioware bills this as a great entry point to the series. I find that hard to believe, but can anyone tell me the truth of the matter?
  • gilgamesh310 - March 6, 2012 4:29 a.m.

    *most of ME 2's story
  • Darkwun - March 6, 2012 4:02 a.m.

    Galactic Readyness. The turd on top of my awesome pie.
  • Person5 - March 6, 2012 3:57 a.m.

    This is Mass Effect 3 and yet that in itself doesn't warren a super review? That aside I'm loving the game so far I only have two complaints. 1. It couldn't import my face from ME1 and 2 which is aggravating to play as a Shepard that almost looks right after I attempted to remake him. Not a terribly big deal though 2. It seems every other mission I'm getting up to change between disc one and disc two. In ME2 you changed discs twice, once at the beginning of act two and again before the suicide mission. Its just a nuisance to constantly be switching back and forth between discs, I wish it could be just a bit more fluid
  • bass88 - March 6, 2012 5:20 a.m.

    Yes, but think of the exercise you're getting.
  • stevienet - March 6, 2012 2:53 a.m.

    Does anyone know, I've only played ME2, if choices made in BOTH games are carried across to ME3, what happens to the consequences that would of reflected from if I played ME1? Does that make any sense?
  • Person5 - March 6, 2012 3:58 a.m.

    I think I understand what you're saying, and the default choices will be carried over since you never made the choices yourself, hope I answered what you were saying.
  • stevienet - March 6, 2012 4:18 a.m.

    Yeah spot on. Looks lik I'll get the Genesis DLC and do another ME2 play through at some point! 
  • StrayGator - March 6, 2012 2:13 a.m.

    "Is it better than..."?
  • Longnuts - March 6, 2012 1:12 a.m.

    Bah! My 360 dies 4 days before ME3! Everybody else have fun.
  • Shinn - March 6, 2012 1:09 a.m.

    You should mention that it's a bad idea to start from ME2 without the Genesis comic to generate a ME1 save, because of missing characters, terrible default storylines etc.

Showing 101-120 of 126 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
Franchise: Mass Effect
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Mild Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.