Google+

Mass Effect 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

131 comments

  • crazyqazqaz - March 7, 2012 12:06 p.m.

    I read this review and think to myself how have i never played a Mass Effect game in all my time owning an xbox? Its tantamount to never playing a Halo or Gears game. I desperately need to get the first two games before I buy this.
  • samsneeze - March 7, 2012 11:47 a.m.

    I like the game fine. From what I've played, it's an eight. The story feels rushed and it seems like they really didn't care what went into it. I mean, the plot convenience levels are pretty damn high. It's honestly the weakest point of this story driven game.
  • Person5 - March 8, 2012 7:55 p.m.

    It felt like every character's sentences started with "There just so happens to be..."
  • Ravenbom - March 7, 2012 10:53 a.m.

    I'm really not a fan of the multiplayer being tied in to the storyline. If I don't play the multiplayer this month there's not going to be a multiplayer for me to play. So, basically, with all it's diversity in playthroughs, ME3 only rewards your first playthrough.
  • Mezolitik - March 7, 2012 2:15 a.m.

    The one thing that has marred the release of ME3 for me (and it's not even out in Europe yet) is the fact that there are spoilers EVERYWHERE. IGN, Facebook, YouTube; there are even spoilers in the fricking launch trailer. IGN is posting the endings, YouTube is recommending that I watch key scenes from the game, and inconsiderate boobs in the US are giving away the plot on Facebook. So, yeah, I'm living in a closet until I get paid.
  • Sandman89 - March 7, 2012 1:16 a.m.

    No super review? thats strange... i was kindof expecting one, with the typical is it better than ME1/2 section at the end :(
  • Nikku7 - March 7, 2012 12:45 a.m.

    I think I'm mostly surprised that this isn't a Super Review. Are you guys not doing those anymore or something?
  • xarab4lyfex - March 6, 2012 9:32 p.m.

    So the combat is finally better? Because what I've seen from the first two and the demo, it was terrible. And don't even compare Gears of War's combat to ME's since ME(2)'s combat is just a broken rip off of Gears. It's a shame though because if the combat is better from the demo and first two, then I would love to play it, but then I would have to slog through the first 2's broken combat and I'd think I'd rather save my money for better games.
  • JADENkOTOR - March 6, 2012 10:05 p.m.

    Its just as fluid as Gears... get over it.
  • xarab4lyfex - March 7, 2012 10:09 p.m.

    I've played both. Not even close.
  • FlyinMachine - March 8, 2012 2:03 p.m.

    I disagree, entirely. Sure, Mass Effect 1 was extremely stripped down and somewhat clunky compared to its sequels but it was still VERY fun! The fact that you got to spam you and your squadmate's biotic powers all at once made it SOOO worth it! Mass Effect 2 is still great, too! Again, just doesn't have all the bells and whistles. As fluid as gears? Uhh... debatable. That's even kind of a hardline comparison since you can't command a squad or fire off biotic and tech powers in Gears. That being said, it's EXTREMELY playable and even has MUCH more depth than Gears 3 in some fields!
  • xarab4lyfex - March 8, 2012 9 p.m.

    Obviously it has more depth, the game is based around single player, and while gears does have a fun, actually pretty deep story, it's better for the multiplayer. I really didn't play 1, but from what I played 2 is the stripped down one. It barely had RPG elements and was pretty damn linear. The only non linear thing was choosing which missions you wanted to do in order. There was no exploring as everything was corridors and they focused more on combat, but imo failed at it. I only see it good for the story and the characters, but even then I didn't like those either, so I didn't really enjoy anything about the game other than being a douchebag and shooting anything that looked at me funny. That was fun.
  • StoneDreadnaught - March 6, 2012 8:44 p.m.

    *sigh* My complaints with ME3 are very minor in the grand scheme of things, but they hold me back from being able to enjoy the game. For one, it feels TOO focused on action. I was fine when they improved the cover system and the combat in two, but there was still a great deal of character interaction and dialog between characters. The moment I saw that Omni-Blade, my heart sunk. And I'm taking the Bioshock 2 argument for the multiplayer; While it certainly isn't bad, and doesn't ruin the game at all, there's no real reason for it to be there. Day 1 DLC is something I'm used to by now, and I simply ignore it until it goes down in price. Far from a deal breaker. I love ME 1 and 2 a great deal, but I accept ME3 VERY reluctantly. Mass Effect always felt like a game that had a slight heavier emphasis on diplomacy and character interaction. I never felt like action was the mainstay of the series. Yes I get that this is the finale and it's going to go out with a bang. I'll just take ME 1 or 2 over ME3 anyday.
  • AlbVega - March 6, 2012 3:28 p.m.

    My reasons to be done with Mass Effect have nothing to do with DLC or multiplayer bull. Pretty musch all companies apply that business model now. I was done with Mass Effect the moment I realized my character, which I have build with what I considered a REAL personality -you know, for the sake of immersion and all that- couldn't save one os its teammates because of that. Not because I sucked at the game or at being a good commander, but because I wasn't what BioWare's vision of a "real" personality is: you should be either a Salvation Army volunteer or a Hell's Angels member. And I think that kills the narrative worse than any "shoehorned" DLC or other cr@p. Kind regards to you all, please don't flame me much.
  • DeliciousPie - March 6, 2012 6:36 p.m.

    Out of curiosity, did you run straight through the storyline without doing anything else or did you do the side missions and such?
  • AlbVega - March 7, 2012 9:25 a.m.

    I did it all. It's just that my pecentage of Good or Rebel answers was very even, and thus I couldn't unlock most of the later dialogue options because I wasn't either very bad or very good. And so I just throw aside the game, ten minutes before the ending. Also, I've heard that in order to save all your teammates, you must in fact follow a very, very specific set of actions and order of missions (sidemissions included), and I find that equally horrible, even moreso in a game famous for its alleged "freedom". Man, the more I talk about this, the more bitter I get at the whole thing.
  • gmcb2011 - March 7, 2012 10:40 a.m.

    So, you're complaining that you tried to make a "realistic" character, then were angry when he couldn't beat the game perfectly? If you wanted an organic, more realistic experience, I think it makes sense that you were unable to save everyone.
  • AlbVega - March 8, 2012 11:10 a.m.

    I know it's silliy, but then again, why should someone die just because I didn't have a good relationship with him/her? In Fire Emblem whenever a character died I just kept on, because death was a result of being in a battlefield/attacking someone stronger/ etc. And, to the two guys who said that I can't save all my teammates, well, that sort of thing also happens in REAL war. If I remember correctly, none of those Seals who invaded Osama Bin laden's hideout died, and that was as much of a suicide mission as the last operation in ME2. Again, I think the survival of your teammates must boil down to your experience and skills, not to how many meals and beers have had together. Thanks for your comments, I'm not trying to convince people to drop ME, it's just my opinion, greeting to you all.
  • DeliciousPie - March 7, 2012 12:15 p.m.

    That's actually changed in ME3. Choices are now attributed to a reputation score, and you're able to choose whatever dialogue you want now.
  • TODDRICKDAL15 - March 7, 2012 2:05 p.m.

    well one point is u cant save all your teammates thats just silly to think that.. think about it your in a war...

Showing 61-80 of 131 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 06 2012 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
Franchise: Mass Effect
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Mild Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.