Google+

Mario Kart 8 review

Great
Back to Article

167 comments

  • alexis-braunreiter - July 21, 2014 11:45 p.m.

    Far out I was gifted a Wii points card code and it was legit! Giveaway is going on here http://freewiipointsforever.com
  • IcedChoffee - June 5, 2014 8:09 p.m.

    this game needs soooo much fixing, dont get me wrong its a good game i completed all the cups already with atleast a 1 star rating but the items and karts are sooo dumb. first of all the kart parts have "stats" in which some have more speed than others and some may have more acceleration, but none of those stats come into effect. i play as morton (heavy) on the sport bike with azure roller tires and the bowser kite. the stats for that is (4.25 speed, 4.0 accel, 3.75 weight, 3.25 handling and 1.75 traction) that is a great balance of a high amount of speed and acceleration but noooooo in this game ive gotten passed by normally driving by mario, who is a medium player, with the Standard kart, standard tires and the super glider which has (3.75 speed, 2.5 accel, 3.75 weight, 3.25 handling and 3.75 traction) so nintendo is trying to go above and beyond with these features of customizable karts but you basically customize them for show since the stats dont apply to the game at all. Second, the items in this game suck, ive gotten a star in 2nd place, that really doesnt make any sense at all in my eyes, when you get hit by an item its almost like youre stunned for 15 seconds, ive been in first place slipped on a banana and was sent all the way back to 7th in a matter of seconds. in mario kart wii, which is the best mario kart, when you had a mushroom or a star it would give u a noticably big speed boost...... not in mario kart 8, there is probably a 2% speed boost tops when activating star power. mushrooms in this game barely add speed as well, ive had a golden mushroom before and was passed by a person getting a boost from drifting.......wtf is that crap. there really needs to be something changed with the items with how often you get a certain item, what places can and cant get certain items, faster and more powerful boosts with mushrooms or stars and even the bullet bill. the bullet bill is complete garbage in this game. if nintendo is going to implement kart stats they should at least make it balanced or just have the stats removed. in addition to that, the stats are completely unfair, heavy characters start off with a base stat of (4.75 speed which is already fast, 2.0 accel, 4.75 weight, 2.25 handling and 3.25 traction) with just a base stat of that is completely over powered. having a footrace on mario circuit with heavy against light, heavy would win because of the speed they have(light has a base stat of 2.25 speed). overalll this game is completely 100% broken from items to stats to stun from items.right now with my experience on this game i would give it a 2.5 out of 5 and im a great Nintendo fan, but they really messed up this game and its bad. to see all the stats on the kart parts and characters go to the mario wiki for mario kart
  • Blackhammer26 - June 2, 2014 6:58 a.m.

    To me mario kart 8 is a good game but Nintendo took it way to far on the 150cc and the mirror race. I want to get the gold kart but I can't because the coms get to aggressive and they get faster power ups than I do. Doesn't make sense to me. And why do u have to get a star on every single race. U did a good job Nintendo but cool it down on the coms
  • DoctorGordonFreeman - June 1, 2014 11:16 a.m.

    Great review Justin! I agree 100%, especially with the Battle Mode issues. For anybody interested, I've just started a petition for Nintendo to release optional DLC including arena courses. It could really use some support! Hopefully with enough people we could make it happen. https://www.change.org/petitions/nintendo-co-ltd-add-arena-style-courses-to-the-nearly-perfect-mario-kart-8-s-battle-mode-via-dlc
  • CitizenWolfie - May 31, 2014 12:12 p.m.

    I've been playing it a lot since I bought it home and I have to say it's the best one since Mario Kart 64. I've enjoyed them all but the weapon spam and AI rubber banding in some of the later ones have gotten ridiculous. MK8 is really well balanced and the fact that there's now a counter to the blue shell has made the world of difference to me. I love the new tracks too and I don't think they're too wide and forgiving at all. But even the little tweaks like Lakitu saving you much quicker and faster recovery from item hits makes the races flow much better. And the N64 Rainbow Road is the best ever. My only cons are obviously the battle arenas being gone and I'd have liked to see more variety in the classic tracks. It feels like there's a lot of DS ones there and I'd like more anti grav takes on the SNES classics or HD versions of the N64 and GC tracks. I know most of the best ones have already been redone in the Wii & 3DS versions but I wouldn't mind seeing them again with the new additions.
  • KNITEpanda - May 30, 2014 9:48 p.m.

    To the cons: The anti-grav is nearly the same as driving w/o it. Its their to give you a boost advantage if you know what the hell you're doing. Balloon battle mode can EASILY be fixed via update and downloads. I understand how crappy it is to no longer have the arenas, but this is easily fixed like I said. Mario Kart has never really needed to bring anything new...Newest features for a while were just the new vehicles, then new weapons...what more do you want? lol
  • talleyXIV - May 20, 2014 10:50 p.m.

    I can't get over how gorgeous this game is. We've all been playing in HD for many many years now but there is still something so spectacular about this game. It's probably because we have been seeing this series in standard definition for right around 20 years.
  • shawksta - May 18, 2014 11:49 p.m.

    I just keep watching gameplay vids and comparison videos on Retro tracks, goddamn this game is gorgous, you really need to see those comparison videos, Just 12 days left to go!
  • shawksta - May 16, 2014 10:09 p.m.

    I just realized that Mario Kart 8 got an 8 heh
  • mikewatson021 - May 16, 2014 4:59 p.m.

    Mario is the best game and character of my life ! Everytime i play with him and i play his game ! http://goo.gl/lEQWe1
  • watevermanimlost - May 16, 2014 4:27 p.m.

    I don't know if this was brought up but which controller did you use? Pad, Pro, or Wii mote?
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - May 19, 2014 8:50 p.m.

    Tried them all!
  • Shayz - May 16, 2014 9:05 a.m.

    Double Dash had THE BEST battle modes. If they were going to make the battle modes on tracks they should have done some sort of baby park style battle mode where it's just a small track that goes in circles or something. But come on, how can you tell me that spamming bob-ombs at 3 of your friends on a tilting 2D mario surface isn't fun? Giant colorful explosions litter the screen as multiple bombs go off that were laid as traps. Or trying to grab the shine sprite from someone as they race through random pipes going in one way and popping out the next. Every time the counter gets down to 3 seconds someone finally hits you and the timer is reset again. Or how crazy it is to play a baloon battle on top of a gamecube, where giant bowser shells bounce around constantly, fireballs are spewed left and right, shells and banana peels EVERYWHERE. ______________________________ All that aside, this still looks like a great game despite the battle mode. The one thing I will nitpick though is the soundtrack. I usually LOVE MK soundtracks, but the real instruments just throws me off. I'm sorry, but mario games are built for repetitive electronic/synthetic melodies...the soundtrack honetly sounds like they're trying to be too innovative and the guitar solos make it feel that much worse. Don't get me wrong, the melodies I've heard so far are superb, but they all sound like orchestra versions instead of the actual themes themselves. It's even more obvious how far off it sounds when you compare it to the classic tracks. ____________________________________ I just hope that I don't play this game for a few hours, then get annoyed/bored and go back to Double Dash. There's just so much they got right in that game that ever since the flop that was MKWii, I've been patiently waiting for the MK salvation, and it better not disappoint.
  • talleyXIV - May 20, 2014 10:53 p.m.

    I think Double Dash is essentially where Mario Kart peaked. That game is brilliant in all facets besides the fact that playing 4 players means 2 teams (still loved teaming up though). Battle mode was brilliant as you said, there were legitimate advantages and disadvantages and unique characteristics for each kart and players you chose, and speaking objectively it had the best tracks. If it had online I would still be playing that sick puppy today.
  • Nikku7 - May 16, 2014 1:30 a.m.

    I've read quite a few reviews so far, and leave it to Justin to have by far the most detailed one. Thank you. If their's one thing I'm afraid I'm afraid of, it's battle mode. It used to be my favorite, but mario kart wii's was all but unplayable and now I dont know what to think about the sound of this one. Why can't I have some awesome new arena maps and a reskin of block fort and double decker? Can I battle free for all? Team battles on mario kart are terrible... Well at least I know it's got the racing I want and expect. Should be a fun time nonetheless. Enjoyed it at the preview event. (Other than being stuck with the wiimote controller...)
  • avedon-arcade - May 15, 2014 10:17 p.m.

    Wow, looks like everyone is ripping on Polygon's layout style lately. Or am I missing where Polygon ripped it from somewhere else? As far as game sites go, it's lame that they're all becoming the same. I personally think anti-grav was meh when I played it, but it doesn't break the game either.
  • brickman409 - May 15, 2014 9:27 p.m.

    Wow, the graphics look amazing! ... man, when was the last time I have said that about a Nintendo game?
  • -_-Anonymous-_- - May 15, 2014 8:52 p.m.

    Another bad Nintendo review from a Playstation & Xbox fanboy. to make Nintendo look bad. and Xbox & Playstation look great.
  • Swedish_Chef - May 15, 2014 9:04 p.m.

    Ahh the modern game industry, the only place where there are people that consider an 8/10 review score "Bad".
  • -_-Anonymous-_- - May 15, 2014 9:08 p.m.

    You know this review is nothing more than a joke? It was made by teenage kids who are fanboys of the playstation & Xbox.

Showing 1-20 of 167 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 30 2014 - Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: Wii U
Genre: Racing
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.