Google+

Mario Kart 7 review

Back to Article

111 comments

  • bread_or_decide - November 29, 2011 7:25 a.m.

    Okay seriously a TEN? I don't think so.
  • GR_JustinTowell - November 29, 2011 8:33 a.m.

    A game anyone can play, everyone can love. One that fits perfectly on the system it's released on. One that pushes technical boundaries and embraces both single-player and multiplayer gaming. One that pleases long-term fans as much as those with a casual interest. One that's worth purchasing the console just to play. If a game is all of these things, it can only be a 10. Guess what? It is.
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 8:56 a.m.

    "One that's worth purchasing the console just to play" I'm sorry Justin, but this is an entirely subjective statement, and you know it. And you also seem to forget: It's still a racing game, as approachable as it might be, racing is a genre a lot of people are simply not into it, no matter how good the game might be. I am one of them.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 9:21 a.m.

    So? Mario galaxy is a platforming game, and saints row is just a havok Sandbox game, regardless of what genre it is people wont like everything,especially the mixed like and hate for the shooter genre. Ill agree that this alone isnt enough to justify, but main point in mind, Mario Kart 7 proved itself worthy than just being a rehash. .
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 10:39 a.m.

    Yes, but the point I was trying to make with bringing the genre up is to bring attention to the fact that it's not as universally accessible as Justin Makes it out to be. And also, I'm not contesting the quality or score of the game. And i have no doubts that for those that DO have the system it's a must buy. But i do NOT think that a single game is enough to warrant dishing 170 extra to play it.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 2:14 p.m.

    I know but point is, for the racing genre, this is a big regardless if the genre isnt big.and I know your not and your right, I dont care that he gave it a 10, the main focus is that its the best Mario Kart and step up to online. I agree %100, 3DS owners, this is a great buy, but not enough to warrant a full purchase of a system. I bought a 3DS from my own will, and others have their own way that will object and did buy a system for 1 game, so their opinions are subjective, but otherwise its a big point.
  • kingsmikefan - November 29, 2011 9:48 p.m.

    Yes, a review is SUBJECTIVE!
  • GhostbustTyler - November 29, 2011 7:34 a.m.

    Forgive me if I didn't see it in the review, but have they fixed the rubberbanding issue that is in every iteration of this series? That is pretty much the biggest reason why I stopped buying these games.
  • Imgema - November 29, 2011 7:51 a.m.

    AAAAh, 60 fps of silky smooth motion makes my eyes sooo happy and relaxed. I hate when racing games (or any game that has some speed) run at 30 fps. No matter how good the graphics are, they just ugly, blurry, stuttering racers that makes my eyes sad. There were many reasons why arcade racers looked so much better than their home versions back in the day. Frame rate was the biggest one. Play the latest Sega rally in arcades or a good PC and see the difference 60 fps make. All games should run that smooth. It makes them look better, less tiresome, more responsive with better sense of speed etc.
  • EnragedTortoise1 - November 29, 2011 8:12 a.m.

    Glad to hear that it's not shit, I'm running out of Star Coins to collect.
  • comaqi - November 29, 2011 8:15 a.m.

    Great! With all the great Nintendo games this year maybe they can get their act together!
  • larkan - November 29, 2011 8:20 a.m.

    I'd never buy a 3ds...but jeebus those screens looks awful. I hope that's just because it's blown up and at a lower resolution. Either way, too much money for a handheld device when I already have a phone nearly as capable with games 1/30th of the price. Quality might not be the same, but I only play games on my phone for about 10 minutes at a time anyways.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 9:34 a.m.

    *Sigh* No, pics and videos dont show the true quality's of 3DS games, they look MUCH better. What your saying is subjective, Phones and handheld systems are 2 different things, dont bring it up.
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 10:34 a.m.

    Actully... It's not, like it or not smarthphones are now considered handheld systems because you can play games and buy them just as in a "traditional" console. Their focus is STILL different, yes, since the 3DS is a dedicated gaming platform. But one has to be in denial to not acknowledge that smartphones and platforms like the 3DS are now in direct competition.
  • Conservative_Gamer - November 29, 2011 8:21 a.m.

    Well done review. I was going to rent it, but now I think I have to buy it. Do you think that Nintendo will have any plans to release extra tracks via DLC? I think they said that they will allow developers to release dlc in their next 3ds firmware upgrade. This will probably be the one game where I will actually pay to extend my experience.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 9:27 a.m.

    Thats a rather interesting point, Nintendo said they dont want DLC to be crap, so we wont see little things like new stages, but then it questions what will they do for DLC?
  • ncurry2 - November 29, 2011 8:42 a.m.

    Looks great, 3DS is becoming much more tempting. I don't think all the hate the Wii kart gets is justified. Play it with a gamecube controller and all gimmicks are out. Ya, playing a mario KART game on a motorcycle is a little lame but getting good enough to wheelie properly makes it fun. The courses are excellent, the controls are superb, the online portion is great. I just don't see why there's so much hate. It's infinitely better than double dash. My guess is most people didn't play it enough to really get good at it. If you say it's all on luck, I would love to crush you online and prove otherwise.
  • WTeen8 - November 29, 2011 1:41 p.m.

    Yeah, I don't really get it either. The gamecube controller fixes everything. And makes the game easier to boot! And the online was great. But back on MK7, seems great, if I get my 3DS for christmas, definitely want this.
  • oneshotfinch - November 29, 2011 9:02 a.m.

    After reading your review and the Destructoid review I have to say I'm confused as hell.
  • mikeleddy83 - November 29, 2011 11:02 a.m.

    Same here, Justin's usually spot on with his racing games but the dtoid reviews are usually in the right ballpark too!
  • Ravenbom - November 29, 2011 12:26 p.m.

    That's because it was reviewed by Jim Sterling. He's like the Rush Limbaugh/Michael Moore of the games industry in that he has very polarizing and controversial views and glosses over major points so he can justify his nerd rage. 1. You always have to carefully read his reviews. He usually glosses over things that would be major selling points. 2. He uses the full scale unlike most games journalists, so this means you usually have to subtract 2-3 from his scores or add 2-3 to his scores. 3. He's only playing Skyrim right now (as you can see from his articles it's all he's writing about recently). When he finds a game he loves then he really starts scoring other games like shit. He was probably pissed off he wasn't playing Skyrim. I'll read his opinion articles but rarely do I read his reviews.
  • Ravenbom - November 29, 2011 12:27 p.m.

    This was a reply to oneshotfinch but it made it look like a regular comment.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 9:11 a.m.

    I still dont get the Mario Kart Wii hate... Okay seriously, HOLY SH*T, I knew this game was gonna be good but I didnt know you would LOVE it THAT much justin. But then again, its the best Mario Kart Ever, and Nintendo finally stepped it up with online and thats worth allot. I definitly dont regret pre-ordering this back then. If you could just shed some light on one more factor, Where the hell is Waluigi? Is he unlockable or what?
  • ObliqueZombie - November 29, 2011 9:28 a.m.

    I've never been a racing game fan, ever, but Mario Kart isn't just a racing game I like--it's one I ADORE. Probably one of my favorite franchises both as a kid and now. I'd give a lot to play this one. I'm not sure I'd give the money for the system, but that's only because I have a job where I work intermittently while in college. Who knows what I'll buy with my Christmas and Birthday money! Great review, Justin. Not only did you make me super-hardcore want this game, it flowed well and kept telling me how awesome it was with every aspect of the game. Keep up the good work!
  • 510BrotherPanda - November 29, 2011 9:54 a.m.

    Like I said a couple times before...I'd rather wait to see how the PSVita fares first before jumping on any hand-held bandwagon just yet. All this talk about frame-rate and draw distance and whatnot...not all consumers have your robo-eyes, Justin...

Showing 21-40 of 111 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Racing
Franchise: Mario