Google+

Mario Kart 7 review

Back to Article

111 comments

  • onetimebuster - November 29, 2011 12:41 a.m.

    Yay!
  • DukeNukeThem - November 29, 2011 12:55 a.m.

    Sounds good. Worth buying a 3DS for? Maybe a Mario Red one? im considering it.
  • Pyroco101 - November 29, 2011 12:57 a.m.

    Don't be fooled by those god-awful screen caps, the game looks way better when you're actually playing it.
  • taokaka - November 29, 2011 1:14 a.m.

    What! The cartridge sticker isn't very colourful, well I think that has just turned me off ever buying this game.
  • Enaksan - November 29, 2011 3:47 a.m.

    Just wondering, how well does the online work for this? I'm tempted to get this but the majority of my play time would most likely be online and i never was able to get Mario Kart DS to work online. :-)
  • rob619 - November 29, 2011 4:12 a.m.

    Wicked...this is the only game you can pick up at anytime! Just play it for fun competive action. Online worldwide karting, Mario style? Yes please! :)
  • FriedBeans - November 29, 2011 6:24 a.m.

    I love Mario Kart but I can't get excited about this. Kids will love this game as it is new to them but this guy played too many of these games. The only thing that excites me about the 3DS is Mario 3DS and one game isn't enough.
  • Pointless Collectible - November 29, 2011 6:35 a.m.

    Wow, great review, now I'm really looking forward to this. :) I still need to grab Super Mario 3D Land so I've got plenty to do on my 3DS. When I first saw the hand-gliding and underwater stuff for the first time I was slightly worried, but after watching a few more videos and reading the review I can't wait to get playing :)
  • spawny0908 - November 29, 2011 7:01 a.m.

    "If you haven't bought a 3DS yet, you need one right now". No, no I don't.
  • Ultimadrago - November 29, 2011 7:05 a.m.

    ^What he said.
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 7:12 a.m.

    ^ Indeed. I have no doubts that the game is truly as great as they claim it to be, but only this and Mario 3D land are only two games. You can't justify ANY console with two games only. (And no, I am not counting remakes of games could have played elsewhere.) Still, it is pretty awesome that the 3DS catalog is finally turning up with some must have games. Now the trick will be to see if they can keep that going with a regular basis, and not just one season per year.
  • bread_or_decide - November 29, 2011 7:25 a.m.

    Okay seriously a TEN? I don't think so.
  • GR_JustinTowell - November 29, 2011 8:33 a.m.

    A game anyone can play, everyone can love. One that fits perfectly on the system it's released on. One that pushes technical boundaries and embraces both single-player and multiplayer gaming. One that pleases long-term fans as much as those with a casual interest. One that's worth purchasing the console just to play. If a game is all of these things, it can only be a 10. Guess what? It is.
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 8:56 a.m.

    "One that's worth purchasing the console just to play" I'm sorry Justin, but this is an entirely subjective statement, and you know it. And you also seem to forget: It's still a racing game, as approachable as it might be, racing is a genre a lot of people are simply not into it, no matter how good the game might be. I am one of them.
  • shawksta - November 29, 2011 9:21 a.m.

    So? Mario galaxy is a platforming game, and saints row is just a havok Sandbox game, regardless of what genre it is people wont like everything,especially the mixed like and hate for the shooter genre. Ill agree that this alone isnt enough to justify, but main point in mind, Mario Kart 7 proved itself worthy than just being a rehash. .
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 10:39 a.m.

    Yes, but the point I was trying to make with bringing the genre up is to bring attention to the fact that it's not as universally accessible as Justin Makes it out to be. And also, I'm not contesting the quality or score of the game. And i have no doubts that for those that DO have the system it's a must buy. But i do NOT think that a single game is enough to warrant dishing 170 extra to play it.
  • mikeleddy83 - November 29, 2011 11:15 a.m.

    Sorry you feel that way bud but from experience I can tell you I bought a ps3 for mgs4, a 360 for tales of vesperia, a gamecube for resi 4, a psp for peacewalker... and so on. I'm not bragging about riches, you're free to call yourself a hardcore gamer if you've got one or one million games but a game worth buying a system for is a 10 for that reason, take into account that it's an opinion, it might not resonate with your own feeling but it will for the majority of others.
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 11:56 a.m.

    Interesting, so your own opinion is what resonates will the majority of gamers? how humble of you! And you're right. I'm certain most gamers will run straight away to buy a console just because ONE single good game has been released for it. Who cares if the console has other great games already, that NEVER factors in the someone's decision to buy a console, I'm sure. There ARE people that might buy a console for a single. But I'm willing to bet that most of them, including you, don't buy just that one game and never buy another game for the console again. Consoles are meant to play a variety of games, so objectively speaking, the more good games you have available, the more useful the console would be. But silly me, how dare I expect a console to have more than a few handful of games to keep me happy! *rolls eyes*
  • mikeleddy83 - November 29, 2011 1:29 p.m.

    To not buy other games would be pretty stupid unless you're the owner of an atari jaguar and aliens vs predator (okay, maybe tempest 2000). Looks like we're at odds here though, I'm really struggling to see what this happiness is that you're persuing. Regardless, good luck!
  • BladedFalcon - November 29, 2011 2:39 p.m.

    Maybe it's the fact that i have enough time to play around 15-20 games per year, which is why good game variety is important to keep me playing the system and not let it collect dust. But yeah, it's mainly a difference of focus. Obviously you look for one great game to justify your purchase, and i differ from that. Which is why there's different tastes for everything.

Showing 1-20 of 111 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Racing
Franchise: Mario