Google+

Legendary review

Decent
Shares
AT A GLANCE
  • 'Look at me' entertainment
  • Nice twist on multiplayer
  • Cool premise
  • Fails to maintain interest
  • Similar monsters
  • Slightly insubstantial combat

There’s a lot that’s cool about Legendary, in theory. The opening level is a tour-de-awesome that’s fifty percent “Oh hey, everything’s exploding!”, and fifty percent “I hope I get to shoot something soon”. The story is simple – you’re an art thief who was tricked into opening Pandora’s Box, and you’ve unleashed the creatures of myth into the modern world. It’s still sounding great, and the opening scenes of Gryphon filled skies and the huge metal Golem all set a self-consciously over-powered mood – even if the graphics do chug along at times.

Pandora’s box has given you the power to consume animus, which is pretentious for “absorb energy from dead monsters”. You can use this animus to heal yourself, or create a short-range blast wave that’s occasionally useful. Magic aside, Legendary is mainly about the guns. Shooting lots of monsters, with guns.

There’s nothing new or thrilling here. It’s as playable as it is dated, and the early promise never really develops. The mythical apocalypse world is a harsh one; everyone around you serves mainly as a tutorial in death. Whether their head is inside a werewolf’s mouth, or their torso’s pecked to ribbons by a gryphon, everyone dies. No such fear for you – master one creature’s nuance, whether that’s decapitation, water, or a quick blast of animus, and all you’ve got to do is fight loads more of them. Getting through the level is a matter of finding the bits of the environment that act as ramps (you can’t jump very high), crawling through airshafts, finding buttons, and turning valves.

You get the feeling you’re supposed to be looking at the monsters and developer Spark has tried to make the creatures a bit different. But sometimes, decapitating a werewolf can involve walking around the corpse and swinging your axe around until the collision detection kicks in. With an imaginative but limited multiplayer that only adds a couple of hours to the game, Legendary is just about acceptable.

Nov 4, 2008

More Info

Release date: Nov 04 2008 - Xbox 360
Nov 18 2008 - PC
Nov 04 2008 - PS3 (US)
Oct 24 2008 - Xbox 360
Nov 21 2008 - PC
Oct 24 2008 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Gamecock Media Group
Developed by: Spark Unlimited
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

We Recommend

17 comments

  • Elbo444 - November 5, 2008 11:09 p.m.

    this is called "concise", look it up kids, it's short, but it gets the point across. it told me everything i needed to know about the game so it is a decent review, it sounds like a pretty shallow game so there probably isn't enough material to write a 4 page review
  • Basketcase676 - November 5, 2008 6:18 p.m.

    But why would you waste time writing four pages on such a poor game? I think two pages would tell you everything that happens in the game. Gamesradar did a good job in my opinion, kept the good reviews for the good games
  • Darkness710 - November 5, 2008 3:48 p.m.

    yet another shoddy gamesradar review when it seems they cannot be arsed to write their own opinion and just take one from another company such as Xbox 360 world and just go along with that. Granted this game looked crap and unoriginal from the start but still. Poor reviews seem to be chugging in lately...
  • xenomorph99 - November 5, 2008 10:53 a.m.

    I agree with you, Maxstats69, this was a poor review. I'm intrigued by the concept of the game and it does sound like fun.
  • Maxstats69 - November 7, 2008 4:12 a.m.

    What's up Idlemindkiller!!! Long time no see.
  • idlemindkiller - November 5, 2008 10:51 p.m.

    yo maxstats!!!!!!! i havent seen u in awhile!!!!!!!!!! good call. this review sucks balls!!!!
  • bron1417 - November 5, 2008 7:54 p.m.

    good job guys. i had hopes for this game not high hopes but hope enough.
  • lewis42025 - November 5, 2008 8:15 a.m.

    OBAMA OBAMA!!!!!!!!!! YES WE CAN CHANGE THE WORLD!!!!!!
  • dmonee12 - November 5, 2008 4:03 a.m.

    I can give you 2 reasons they gave this a half ass review. Number one is, they probably haven't finished a retail copy yet, and are only reporting on what they have seen aviailable to them. Reason number two is, they saw how lame this game was going to be, I knew it just from watching gameplay video that this game was dead in the water. Wait for other websites to review it
  • Maxstats69 - November 5, 2008 1:10 a.m.

    Damn, I read the review again and I have to say it's one of the most poorly written reviews I've ever read. Half the shit said in the review makes no sense due to the lack of information given. Really guys, if you don't want to take your time to review a game properly, don't even bother......sheesh.
  • Gourdmaster - November 5, 2008 1:08 a.m.

    i had such high hopes for this game. pity
  • Maxstats69 - November 5, 2008 1:06 a.m.

    Why is it when ever they give a game a bad review they only give it a half page review. When they give a game a good review they give it 4 pages? Anyhow, this review tells me absolutely nothing about the game. I'll go read EGM's review when it's available.
  • GoldenMe - November 4, 2008 11:50 p.m.

    First!!!!!11!!11!!1111!1!1!!!!1111!11!111!11!!11!!11! .......Flame?
  • Speckeldorph - July 2, 2009 3:12 p.m.

    I agree with Maxstats69, it wasn't the best review. But the game and concept of it sounds like a lot of fun.
  • Furce - April 11, 2009 11:37 p.m.

    I agree with everything this review states. I was quickly frustrated with the game because of the constant puzzles they throw in your way. The monster were also more annoying than just normal enemies in my way, when I tried to keep going along my path and also to solve a puzzle, there was always a werewolf respawning, throwing boxes and crap at me, then coming up and trying to attack me. It got REALLY old after a very short time.
  • gamer1990 - January 21, 2009 12:54 a.m.

    i have this game its badass the review is all wrong
  • skilla666 - December 23, 2008 4:30 p.m.

    i dont see wat u guys are talkin about i liked the game alot

Showing 1-17 of 17 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.