Google+

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD review

Back to Article

54 comments

  • shawksta - September 18, 2013 10:44 a.m.

    Im frankly suprised there is no review (yet) complaining about the bloom I guess when you see it in action yourself its pretty much solid. So pretty much they made the game better without any hinderance, nice.
  • GR_HenryGilbert - September 18, 2013 2:30 p.m.

    Yes, the bloom is noticeable at the very start, but I got used to it very fast. Frankly I think the original looks a little flat without it
  • Effinae - September 18, 2013 2:59 p.m.

    After I read a bunch of bloom effect complaints in the comparison screes I couldn't help but think to myself, " Idk....when I go outside on a especially sunny day there is a helluva lot of bloom."
  • shawksta - September 18, 2013 3:57 p.m.

    Neat to know
  • db1331 - September 18, 2013 10:14 a.m.

    Also, if you haven't seen this, it's a pretty interesting essay on the themes and philosophy of the game: http://www.zeldauniverse.net/articles/the-philosophy-of-the-wind-waker-part-one/
  • db1331 - September 18, 2013 10:09 a.m.

    Wind Waker is a game I use to judge other people's taste in games. If someone tells me WW sucked, I know right away they are a complete fucking idiot with no clue what they are talking about. If this isn't in your top 10 (Maybe even top 3-5) games ever made, then you don't know shit about games. The original was a masterpiece. The fact that they could improve on it in any way is somewhat frightening. This will make me buy a Wii U someday, but right now, the bundle price is just too high for an already-dead console.
  • larkan - September 18, 2013 10:26 a.m.

    Could just wait for a DolphinU emulator
  • larkan - September 18, 2013 10:32 a.m.

    Oh, and before some asshole gives his two cents and says "piracy", I will assure you that I own Wind Waker for GC, and can play it in HD when I put it in my PC and run the Dolphin emulator. So technically, I already own it. Trying to tell me it's $50 for some bloom and lighting effects is not worth another purchase.
  • shawksta - September 18, 2013 10:46 a.m.

    If you dont want to buy Wind Waker HD then fine by you. But that doesnt mean you have to diminish it for others. Its clear that this version adds more and fixes more then simply an HD port and made for people who either wants to re-experience it in a definitive way or for brand new players, so you cant say an emulator is better either but thats opinionated. Me, i dont care, i didnt play Wind Waker and im saving up for this version to do it.
  • Effinae - September 18, 2013 3 p.m.

    Careful now. You don't want to upset the real life Angry Video Game Nerd.
  • shawksta - September 18, 2013 10:48 a.m.

    I hear a lot of great things about Wind Waker and i believe them, it just makes me excited to finally getting the chance to play it and my holding off is gonna pay off eventually when i get a Wii U.
  • shawksta - September 18, 2013 10:53 a.m.

    Also i already know i shouldnt be doing this, but really now, you cant just call the Wii U an already dead console, it still has its perks, especially against PS4 and Xbone
  • db1331 - September 18, 2013 10:57 a.m.

    What are these perks you speak of?
  • shawksta - September 18, 2013 4:21 p.m.

    Its all opinionated if you'll like them or not, but there things that makes it worthwhile, The gamepad has potential that other games utilized well but still has more, Miiverse is a very unique online aspect, and how other games can utilize them is pretty neat. And basically, even with PS4 and Xbone being Next Gen and Wii U being a "Generation behind" Nintendo still makes games that are either because of their Nintendo charm or well made or basically still looks stunning, even after all the 7 years 360 and PS3 has been doing, and a few others. Even then, as i said, its opinionated but main point, you cant call it dead, you want to? Go ahead, im not stopping you but Nintendo, as they always are, are too prideful to give up on anything they set in motion and will atleast make the best use of it and make it worthwhile for those who own it.
  • BladedFalcon - September 18, 2013 10:59 a.m.

    And you take issue with being called a Nintendo fanboy... :P
  • shawksta - September 18, 2013 4:22 p.m.

    I take the word strongly on definitions, but hell, i cant help it. I found myself dodging bullets before but i just couldnt resist this time :P
  • Effinae - September 18, 2013 3:03 p.m.

    Until it has a healthy lineup of games I would avoid comparing it to other systems. Even if they aren't even out yet.
  • hunter-payne - September 18, 2013 11:10 a.m.

    an already dead console? Are you serious? This game individually and the bundle itself will be the beginning of the rise of the Wii U, With Mario Kart, Smash Brothers and i'm sure other great first party titles next year..you will see the Wii U increase in sales and continue to do so for the next year. I am not saying it will ever be huge sales but any increase will be great for Nintendo, a company I love, because if not for them I would never have gotten into gaming.
  • Ironarm - September 18, 2013 2:11 p.m.

    When people ask me to tell them my top ten or so games I'll always have to take a little time to figure out where to place everything. But not WW. That will ALWAYS be my number one. No other game has come close to topping it.
  • Narius_Jaden - September 23, 2013 6:03 a.m.

    yooou are one hell of a douchebag. My favorite games include persona 4, Chrono trigger, Donkey kong country, Final fantasy 8, Link to the past, among many others. There are too many amazing games in the world for you to jump up and say "oh dear, he's a fucking idiot because he doesn't like so and so game as much as other games". I think windwaker is one of the best zeldas. But i will not be putting it in my top ten when i have so many wonderful memories in there. Ugh people....

Showing 21-40 of 54 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 20 2013 - Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: Wii U
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.