Google+

Killzone 2: What the reviews will say

The first Killzone 2 review was leaked online a few days ago and, with the US Official Playstation Magazine rewarding it with a perfect 5/5, interest is obviously at a peak for the much hyped PS3 shooter. Until the review goes public we’re guessing at what they’ve based that score on. But, from our time playing five levels of advanced preview code, we’ve listed the good things that we think have earned the game those full marks and even highlighted the bits that might see Killzone get a bit of a kicking in other reviews.

 What the reviews will like

• Graphics whores will love it – Whether it’s the brooding oppression brought by the lightning-scorched sky, the impressive smoke and dust effects or the startling enemy animation; the game is sometimes jarringly bleak but always darkly beautiful… but it’s still a bit brown.

•The cover system works brilliantly - It’s definitely the game’s most successful mechanic. Similar to the system used in PC shooter FEAR, it works by holding L2 while pressed up against objects in the environment and then peering over or around to shoot things with the analogue stick and R2. Hiding behind cover and popping up to bring the hurt to the Helghast reminds us of playing a particularly bleak version of Time Crisis. And it provides a welcome tactical and methodical edge to Killzone’s firefights.

• The motion controls don’t feel forced – Yep, as hard as it is to believe that statement, the motion controls in the game work fairly well. They’re simple and feel pleasingly responsive, reminding us of Metroid Prime 3: Corruption’s excellent switch flipping sections.

• It’s got a brilliant flamethrower – Better than the one in Halo 3 or Dead Space or any game we can think of actually, Guerrilla’s flame-grilling weapon extraordinaire is perfect for barbecuing baddies. It’s not only fun to see the Helghast burn like evil s’mores, but the gun’s rapid, incisive flames and impressive range makes it consistently engaging to fire.

• The viewpoint is incredibly immersive – From the reload animations, the way your gun rests on obstacles - rather than passing through them - or the way your hands desperately cling onto the rungs of ladders, you always feel like you’re in the shoes of an actual person, rather than a disembodied gun.

We Recommend By ZergNet

49 comments

  • Jason.Darksavior - January 26, 2009 11:17 a.m.

    Killzone 2 looks heaps awesome. From the screenshots the gameplay and graphics look good.
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - January 12, 2009 6:24 p.m.

    DontPanic has a good point. I havent even played killzone 1 yet.... More of an actioner person tbh, and i have low monthly income being only 14, so there is a limited amount of games i can buy
  • Games_Radar_DaveMeikleham - January 9, 2009 11:15 a.m.

    DasavageJ, you toggle crouch on and off and you have to hold down the aim button CODsy-style.
  • b8z - January 8, 2009 10:39 p.m.

    yeah with all that put together it would make for a huge change in the genre as long as its done properlly, so far really the only game that does something similar really i guess would be the dynasty warriors games not the best example i know, but it does kinda work in a similar stlye just much smaller, and you dont even have to bother with the tasks u get given you can just go for the win straight away which defeats the purpose. but by doing some of the smaller tasks it does make the game easier,
  • DasavageJ - January 8, 2009 10:18 p.m.

    >b8z makes sense to me and i see your point it would be kinda hard to pull off the overhaul but what you said really does make sense and kind of reminds me of MGS4's first level.That being said they could also do things like multiple objectives at once that link to and change both the other objectives and the flow or tide of the overall objective, also if you messed up in too manhy of these objectives (no more than probably around 6 at a time) you would lose the battle but not lose the game just change the story a bit. I believe this system could work in conjunction with yours, but back to the point of these comments Killzone2 will likely be just as great as things like MGS4, CoD4, Gears2, and Halo 3 just with some A-MA-ZING graphics and that is not a bad thing in any way.
  • b8z - January 8, 2009 9:57 p.m.

    >DasavageJ the fps does need quite a lot of changing for objectives etc. but tbh unless im just having a slow day i cant really think of many ways to really change it up, the only thing i can think of really, would be like being part of an actual whole army in a war where no matter what your doing everything involved and around you is constantly going, like attacks and other battles in other areas on the map, so basically having a constantly active and changing battlefield much like in reals wars, if that makes any sense to anyone.
  • DasavageJ - January 8, 2009 8:46 p.m.

    Overall I really liked this article it told me a few things I was wondering, for the most part good. Seeing as most my likes and dislikes have already been established I was wondering could any Beta tester or the GR staff itself tell about the the controls such as the button mappings, do you have to hold down to crouch and toggle on and off the aim sight (like Resistance1) or do you toggle on and off the crouch and hold to aim the sight like most modern games (like CoD4). Either way I'm obviously getting this game and once again Great Article GR's dave
  • Synster - January 8, 2009 4:13 a.m.

    I really don't see how people can say this game fails Artistically. The buildings themselves range from ancient Rome, to Hitlers "ideal Germany". Not to mention the Helghan who you could say resemble the Nazis themselves, with an Autrach/Emperor for a leader(Aka, Visari. Aka, Hitler.) Sure. People don't like the whole WWII thing, but if anything, it keeps the concept while moving towards something else entirely. So more or less, I want this game to be soley "Killzone". Not Gears. Not Halo. Not Call of Duty. Not Battlefield. Not Team Fortress. Killzone.
  • heartskuppy - January 8, 2009 3:51 a.m.

    the graphics are technically brilliant, but artistically awful. i'd really like to know why this game is so relentlessly grey. i mean, i guess that's the mood they're going for, but it looks like shit.
  • FredFredrickson - January 7, 2009 10:58 p.m.

    More FPS tripe. The graphics don't look like anything beyond Bioshock to me.
  • jip100 - January 7, 2009 7:45 p.m.

    @Games_Radar_DaveMeikleham Most the points that i was making was simply beacuse they did seem strange considering you've only played the preview code and a handfull of levels. And also i think you should stress more that it is the preview code your basing it on, as things like Ai will have improved in the retail version. Also i would like a bit more info on what you mean by 'Gamey' since all games require you to trigger some event in order to move on to the next thing. BTW i do like the site, however this article just seemed a bit funny in my eyes.
  • Games_Radar_DaveMeikleham - January 7, 2009 3:39 p.m.

    Just to weigh in on this quickly. I really like Killzone 2. The core mechanics really are fantastic. I can't stress how much I enjoy the cover system. So much so I'm now struggling through Far Cry 2 wishing I could lean around corners to cap mercenaries. Technically it's stunning too, some of the texturing and animation is incredible. We must stress we've only played five levels too, so problems with the game's pacing and objectives may well improve in later parts of the game.
  • TheWebSwinger - January 7, 2009 7:04 a.m.

    Damn, the things they DIDN'T like are pretttty strong.
  • TheSuburbiaRuins - January 7, 2009 3:43 a.m.

    Yeah that's a no thanks on this
  • jar-head - January 6, 2009 11:59 p.m.

    jip100 had a pretty good point, we wont know jack until it's out, even then, we are our own reviewers, but i usually like GR reviews and their writers than listening to some nut on Live... Anyways: The real problem with war games is that, no, not the actions of climbing a rail or reloding, it's the enemies...War cannot have ###Infinite amount of enemies, or until you get to point B they stop, or you hit switch C to extend a bridge... Infinite bots are a bad thing unless your playing GoW multiplayer or CoD5's Zombie Horde..., like in CoD4 The bog, You can shoot the crap out of everyone, but nutil you reach point A on the otherside of the map, Snipers keep spawning with infinite RPG's...Infinite baddies Suck...
  • Themis - January 6, 2009 10:40 p.m.

    Why not just review the damn game rather than trying to second guess other reviewers and start stirring things up?
  • jip100 - January 6, 2009 9:35 p.m.

    @John-117 "It seems like all the complaints are minor quibbles as it'd be kind of weird to have a totally positive feature for an exclusive game without fanning internet flames." True, i couldn't agree more, still i've never understood why the gaming media seems to give Killzone 2 a hard time and seems to let other games in the same genre off for the same things they moan about in Killzone 2. And just because a game is exclusive doesn't mean it should be looked in a different way when reviewing
  • jip100 - January 6, 2009 9:06 p.m.

    Overall fairly positive however i have some issues with the article "The objectives" - I can't think what else you can really add, since these are the objectives of almost every FPS out there, there is no real reason to knock it down for that. Not only that but your article is based on only half the levels. "The Level Design" - As you said if you get stuck just press up and it will help, that is a good feature since most games i get stuck at one point and have to figure it out for myself. "Team Ai" - Again you basing on the preview code, not final build and you are also the only site so far which has had a complaint about it, and you also state the complete oposite to what the first review say in the review. and finally "It’s very ‘gamey’" Maybe because its like every other game and is actually a video game? --- Still this game is a day 1 buy for me no matter what reviews say since the beta was outstanding.
  • chainchomp - January 6, 2009 8:31 p.m.

    Review scores dont matter anyway. Too many average/bad games have recieved high scores lately. Im not going to list them because you know what they are if you have played them.
  • Romination - January 6, 2009 8:10 p.m.

    a 5/5?! That's being generous...those scores are usually saved for a game that does something new which, oddly, Killzone really doesn't...It almost seems like presentation gained it more points then play did.

Showing 1-20 of 49 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.