Google+

Kid Icarus: Uprising review

Excellent
Back to Article

59 comments

  • rob619 - March 19, 2012 9:10 a.m.

    Yes firstly this seems very IGN style in the "review in progress", loll. Anyways you can tell this is a great game with huge amount of replayablity, 300 unlockables! Just download the trailer from the 3DS Eshop and you can see first hand how great it looks :)
  • ItBurnsWhenIWii - March 19, 2012 8:56 a.m.

    Review in progress? A we recommend section on the bottom? When did this become IGN?
  • BladedFalcon - March 19, 2012 9:13 a.m.

    The delicious irony being that IGN has actually given the full review of this game already XD Also, I thought you were leaving this place forever after Grimm got laid off...?
  • ItBurnsWhenIWii - March 19, 2012 8:12 p.m.

    Yea but I got over it now that he regularly appears on laser time. Besides, I only click on the Henry and Mikel articles, everyone else at Future US (except Scott Butterworth) can go get stuck in an elevator for 2 weeks until they are forced to eat each other in order to stay alive for all I care. Also, thanks for remembering me. :)
  • ItBurnsWhenIWii - March 19, 2012 8:14 p.m.

    Cooper is ok too.
  • BladedFalcon - March 19, 2012 11:23 p.m.

    Heh, a name like yours is kinda hard to forget :P
  • shawksta - March 19, 2012 8:30 a.m.

    Dude, he's not talking about Gamesradar, he's talking about destructoid.
  • shawksta - March 19, 2012 8:32 a.m.

    damn, that comment was misplaced
  • 231231jimmy - March 19, 2012 8:21 a.m.

    i dont think i could wait for my birthday to get this
  • shawksta - March 19, 2012 7:01 a.m.

    Hm, not bad, seems to be worth the wait. The content is where the whole meat is im pretty sure but good to hear story mode isnt half assed and actually great. correct me if im wrong but the controls seem to be almost similar to Metroid Prime Hunters, if so, itll be easier to get used to the awkward controls.
  • taokaka - March 19, 2012 5:48 a.m.

    I was planning on waiting a month and getting kid Icarus as my birthday present but now I don't think I can wait, from the wording it sounds like you're thinking about giving it a 9, am I right?
  • GR_HenryGilbert - March 19, 2012 9:31 a.m.

    I definitely feel very positive about the game yes. You'll see a score by the end of the week.
  • shawksta - March 19, 2012 2:42 p.m.

    Whatever Henry gives it, its his satisfaction as a professional reviewer that we can trust, however theres a major point we have to take into account for all reviews, the controls. Everyone will have different settlements for it, Henry states its a flaw but youll get used to it and the land stages help make it feel better. While jim sterlin is taking the controls too seriously without getting used to it and thinks it ruins the whole game for him and calling the game crap leaving the extra additions aside. How this game does will depend on the player/reviewer's ability to adapt to the controls, much like Metroid Prime hunters, you either learn to get used to it and enjoy with full satisfaction or you get frustrated and refuse to get used to it because its not your way. Of course the game itself needs to help you. So far, to my knowledge,,IGN,Gamesradar,and famitsu were positive about getting used to the controls,while jim of destructoid failed to do so,resulting in him giving a negative review. Im rather fond of Hunters's control scheme so uprisings shouldnt be frustrating for me.
  • taokaka - March 23, 2012 1:16 a.m.

    nailed it
  • GeedAwesome - March 19, 2012 5:15 a.m.

    Jim Sterling at DToid gave it a 5 but it's frickin' Kid Icarus so I'll give it a shot regardless of reviews.
  • shawksta - March 19, 2012 7:04 a.m.

    Wow really? I can never give a crap about jim, he is so random at times and him being the exact opposite to other games throws his credibility off the window, for me atleast. Ill go Check it out and see if he has a perfectly good reason.
  • rainn'sgaydar - March 19, 2012 10:05 a.m.

    From what I could tell, it's a 5 because of the free stand and control scheme. That what you saw?
  • Redeater - March 19, 2012 1:37 p.m.

    Jim Sterling is the Rush Limbaugh of gaming journalism.
  • Redeater - March 19, 2012 5:06 a.m.

    Whatever this ends up getting I'm guessing I will buy it anyways. I have wanted a new Kid Icarus game since I was a kid so the least I can do is support it even if it turns out to be average.

Showing 41-59 of 59 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 23 2012 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Action
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.