Google+

Kid Icarus: Uprising review

Excellent
Back to Article

59 comments

  • LOZ4EVAH - March 26, 2012 9:29 a.m.

    Oh man this game is awesome. It hurts to type this cuz of the odd controls but it is a killer app indeed. Love the action, the script, the humor, and the unlockables. Multiplayer is cool! (I got 3rd place first time trying it) Definitely a 9.5 for me
  • malypso - March 25, 2012 9:47 a.m.

    Wow, I mean WOW! I picked this game up and am completely blow away! At first I had to get used to the controls, but by the 5th chapter it really felt natural. I see why they chose this rout for the controls but still feel that the on-foot sections should be controlled with the CPP attachment. Kid Icarus never lets up and has me glued to the beautiful graphics and marvelous stereoscopic 3D. This game is one of the best (if not the best), game on the 3DS to date! Great review Henry Gilbert, you hit it spot on with this review for most; but for me this game is at least a 9.5. The shear mass and beauty makes me excited to see what Zelda and other Nintendo franchises, for the 3DS, is going to look like. Kid Icarus genuinely feels like a true console experience and should be picked up be any and everyone that considers themselves a hardcore Nintendo fan, as this game was designed for us, while still keeping it open for the casual audience. Bravo Nintendo! Keep up the great work, and good job Gamesradar for delivering an accurate review.
  • cgriff63 - March 23, 2012 7:27 p.m.

    I actually thought the super smash sisters comment was kinda stupid. eh, regardless of that it looks pretty cool. and thanks for doing a video review.
  • GameManiac - March 23, 2012 4:17 p.m.

    Glad I picked up my copy this morning. I'll be sure to crack it open soon (as well as the pre-order 3D Classics bonus).
  • onetimebuster - March 23, 2012 2:49 p.m.

    I couldnt afford the game so i pre-ordered it from amazon and downloaded the kid icarus 3d game download and sent the game back.
  • TrAnMu - March 25, 2012 1:54 p.m.

    Lol.
  • 231231jimmy - March 23, 2012 1:40 p.m.

    i cant wait for this!
  • sirdilznik - March 23, 2012 10 a.m.

    Started playing a few hours ago and I fully agree with the score given, the game is flat out fantastic. Gorgeous, cheesy (in a good way) dialogue, catchy heroic tunes, awesome difficulty mechanic, badass boss fights, a seemingly endless amount of content. Most importantly this game is really fun.
  • Cyberninja - March 23, 2012 3:37 a.m.

    now the only question is what game will be game of the month, the game where everyone hates the ending or the game that people hate the controls.
  • shawksta - March 23, 2012 6:04 a.m.

    Lol good question. Doesnt matter really, both are winners considering the other will be in second place.
  • BladedFalcon - March 23, 2012 6:37 a.m.

    As much as I generally love ME3, I think Kid Icarus probably deserves to be GotM more. I mean, even with the flaws it has, the fact alone that it's a new, original game gives it more credit than ME3 in which is mostly a great follow-up to an already existing concept.
  • shawksta - March 23, 2012 7:51 a.m.

    I agree with you on that, basically both have flaws that arnt a that much of a problem so it comes down to originality and gameplay., and to some degree, the amount of content whicn Uprising dominates. The Mass effect series is popular and all and despite certain circumstances, the fact that there arnt that many ”Mature” people, and how easily people will throw off Nintendo, im keeping it 50/50 when the article gets here. Its already bad enough morons insult me for being a fanboy when I say good things about them, I dont want another random assault. Who knows, people might actually not like ME3 for the controversies Ill never understand (till my 360 works and I can play it)
  • ObliqueZombie - March 23, 2012 9:15 a.m.

    Probably, but not because it's a new and original. Technically, this IS based of an incredibly old IP, and the controls are another on-rails shooter (which is still awesome, considering the damn good graphics). Mass Effect is technically more original, even with glaring resemblances to Star Wars. I guess we'll just see--though I'm hoping for ME3, but that's for another comment on another day. xD
  • BladedFalcon - March 23, 2012 11:11 a.m.

    Er... Just because Kid Icarus is based on an old IP doesn't mean the game's less original, specially considering that this game doesn't really have anything in common with the NES Kid Icarus, gameplay-wise at least. It's like saying Metroid Prime wasn't original because it's based on the metroid series... Even though the gameplay was radically different >_> And then, you're talking about Mass Effect in general, not ME3, ME3 is a direct sequel that, unlike ME2, didn't really change or improve the formula of the series in the radical way that ME2 did to ME1.
  • ObliqueZombie - March 24, 2012 3:04 p.m.

    I beg to differ, because comparing side-by-side each of the games, neither one is similar in hardly any aspect. The only real, true similarity between ME2 and ME3 that I can pick off on the top of my head is the combat. And by combat, I mean having a more fluid running movement and a tighter camera. Granted, the differences between ME1 and ME2 WERE substantially different than ME2 and ME3. And I get what you're talking about, an original game, but the basics of on-rails shooting aren't too far from the mother tree. The on-ground controls and gameplay may be different, but from what I've been reading, not for the better. Alas, you're right. It fairly, if not radically different from most games out there--let alone 3DS games.
  • BladedFalcon - March 24, 2012 11:05 p.m.

    Er... ME3 has almost the exact same graphics as ME2 did, at most with slightly sharper and better defined textures. The flow of the game, the dialog tree, the way you explore the stages and even the ship. It's all practically the same base as ME2 was. Not to mention that at it's core, the character classes work more or less the same, with just one or two new powers added or altered. It's definitely an improvement, but it's not the overhaul that ME2 was to ME1 Also... "The basics of on-rails shooting"? Wut... The original Kid icarus was a 2D action platformer, what does that have to do with on rails shooters? ._.
  • talleyXIV - March 24, 2012 8:59 a.m.

    If you are referencing that this is technically a sequel you are off your rocker. That game came out 20 years ago and I doubt you could find similarities aside from the main character and maybe some story. Mass Effect 3 is exactly like the first and second game of the series, and those are a lot like Halo!
  • BladedFalcon - March 24, 2012 10:54 a.m.

    ...You did not just compare Mass Effect to Halo.
  • ObliqueZombie - March 24, 2012 3 p.m.

    Well. It seems someone hasn't played the first two ME games.
  • shawksta - March 23, 2012 12:39 a.m.

    Holy sh*t Henry, i was pretty sure this was gonna get a 8, glad i was wrong. Ive read allot of reviews and now after reading yours i can safely come to the conclusion that Kid Icarus Uprising is overall Fantastic and the only real problem is getting used to the controls, after that you'll definitly be %100 satisfied! Im happy online works well, and that this game is a great addition to Sakurai's reputation of making Fatass games, i cant wait to get this!

Showing 1-20 of 59 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 23 2012 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Action
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.