Google+

InFamous: Second Son review

Back to Article

76 comments

  • Jackonomics2.0 - March 20, 2014 8 a.m.

    "gameplay isn't as "Next Gen" as the visuals" What the fuck does that even mean? Unless you talking about Knack levels of gameplay I don't see what the problem is. There's barely any "Next Gen" gameplay at all, in anything.
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 20, 2014 8:14 a.m.

    The morality choices are still hyper-binary, and the gameplay is nearly identical to what it was in the last games.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - March 20, 2014 9:55 a.m.

    I see, I know what you mean now, but I don't think the statement "Its not as Next Gen" was the right thing to word it on.
  • ren-davis - March 20, 2014 11:01 a.m.

    Yeah. The Next-Gen threw me off. Odd wording.
  • BladedFalcon - March 20, 2014 11:03 a.m.

    It isn't, and frankly, I don't get why the GR crew was expecting this game to play or feel different than other infamous games, since even when they first showed gameplay footage, it looked EXACTLY like ld infamous gameplay. So it's not even like SuckerPunch promised things that they failed to deliver or anything.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - March 20, 2014 1:58 p.m.

    Pretty much yeah, what a weird wording. Ill tell you what is a failed delivering as of recent, Crapcom. Since when was Ultra Street Fighter 4 announced? Last July. So much mystery about the "5th character" and it was pumping given the other 4 characters were copy pasted and fixated for USF4 from Street Fighter X Tekken Except what we did we get? R Mika? Alex? Retsu? an interesting Doll? NOPE, it ended up being Decapre, Masked Cammy Reskin (DIfferent person, but reused model either way) with her moveset being charged based. You don't keep a character like THIS a secret for so long and reveal it last week, the reaction was negative and they deserve it.
  • BladedFalcon - March 21, 2014 1:22 a.m.

    Yeah, agreed. I wasn't even following or anticipating the game or the reveal, but even I went "...really? you kept THIS as your biggest secret?". Honestly, short of revealing some sort of insane fanservice character like say, megaman or something, I don't see why Capcom thought it'd be a good idea to reveal most of their character BUT one from the get go, and save it for so long as if it was something special.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - March 21, 2014 9:51 a.m.

    The worst part is that we all knew it would be decapre but then those dispicable liars said "Barely anyone guessed it right" The last time Capcom gave a shit about Megaman was Street Fighter X Tekken with the whole Bad Box Art Megaman on PS3 and Vita. It was hilarious and a neat homage but its just a bandaid to a fanbase that got stabbed. And don't let me even mention that phone piece of shit game Xover. Hell, they even said Sakurai gave Megaman more justice in his 1 minute smash reveal than Capcom did in years.
  • Vonter - March 20, 2014 11:15 a.m.

    I agree the game looks next gen, but the mechanics seem like a rehash of things done in past games, just prettier. Remember the first Assassin's Creed? Seeing how you could climb amost any wall, having lots of NPCs on screen at once and finally having free roaming organic environments, well that was next gen not only visually because it introduced things that mechanically couldn't run on its previous generation. I'm still waiting for that type of leap instead of better presentation over not evolved gameplay.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - March 20, 2014 1:51 p.m.

    Hopefully we can see that in this gen soon in game wise, otherwise mechanically and physically the Wii U's doing it, except it hasn't been fully realized save for certain games.
  • pl4y4h - March 20, 2014 7:58 a.m.

    Are we talking Konan of the Akatsuki paper powers? Cause in that case it could be pretty awesome
  • shawksta - March 20, 2014 7:50 a.m.

    Sounds great to me, the problems don't seem that troublesome. Its just infamous being Infamous.
  • BladedFalcon - March 20, 2014 7:37 a.m.

    Well, seeing as the game delivers in the main two things I was hoping for the most (plot and cool powers) I'm not at all deterred by the weirdly low score. Specially seeing that the complaints feel mostly superficial, at least for me. I always prefer having a shorter, but more polished experience than having one with tons of dull or samey content. And hey, I guess GR needed to keep up the tradition of underscoring Infamous games ;)
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 20, 2014 8:15 a.m.

    7/10 isn't weirdly low! Stop reinforcing that stereotype :)
  • BladedFalcon - March 20, 2014 11 a.m.

    It is when even you guys start treating 7 and 6 games like shit on the podcast :P Or need I remind you of your own "..Or in the case of Lords of Shadow 2, just don't play it" Statement just a few podcast ago? even though by your supposed standards, 6 should still be a decent game to play, not one to say "just don't play it". In short, we'll start dropping that stereotype when you guys also drop it yourselves... And anyway, a score of 7/10 for a game that is technically sound, plays well, looks great and has a story IS a weirdly low one, mainly because your complaints of "Oh it's too short, it plays too similar to previous games and doesn't feel that different or next gen" Aren't necessarily bad things either, specially when way many other games don't get points knocked down for these things. So it feels like gripes you had because of your specific expectations, not because the game is actually deserving of a game score that at best says "solid, but not great game".
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 20, 2014 11:04 a.m.

    "Too short" as in there's not a lot of varied content, and you'll spend much of the game doing the same few things. It's a solid experience.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - March 20, 2014 1:54 p.m.

    There's a difference when you can complain about a game being short or not. It depends on the actual content and replay ability, if that's crap, then you can complain about it being short, which is what it looks like Cooper is complaining about, atleast compared to the last Infamous games.
  • Vonter - March 20, 2014 11:20 a.m.

    Replay value is still king when buying a game IMO. Although good stories stay with you even if you don't play them again.
  • Cyberninja - March 20, 2014 7:34 a.m.

    As much as I love Infamous, I was hoping this would be the game that sped up the decision to get a PS4. But going off what was said in the review, I personally feel like it isn't different enough from the old games to speed up the decision which is kinda disappointing.
  • shawksta - February 12, 2014 9:32 p.m.

    Alright, looking good
  • awesomesauce - February 12, 2014 1:39 p.m.

    I hope they make neutrally an option instead of just going full evil or full good like the last ones.
  • winner2 - February 12, 2014 8:22 a.m.

    Oh and I'm calling it now: his brother dies and with his last breaths tells Delsin how much he loves him and is proud of him

Showing 41-60 of 76 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 21 2014 - PS4 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Sucker Punch
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Sexual Themes, Violence