Google+

The Ico and Shadow of the Colossus Collection review

Excellent
Back to Article

43 comments

  • gilgamesh310 - September 9, 2011 6:45 a.m.

    Easy 10s. is anything ever not an easy 10 with gamesradar? And have games really gotten so easy today that the checkpoints wouild be a problem now? I didn't have a problem with that when I first played it. Is there that many console kiddies around, that everything hasto be made so easy?
  • shawksta - September 9, 2011 11:28 a.m.

    I kind of agree, and games that actually add difficulty are hated for it, like DKCR and Sin and Punishment, more harder games should be appreciated and hopefully that will happen.
  • Rhymenocerous - September 9, 2011 6:17 a.m.

    I'm not sure earning trophies suits these games though, at least not on the first play-through. Same with the Silent Hill collection.
  • goggamanxp - September 9, 2011 6:13 a.m.

    I never owned a ps2, I only owned a xbox when these games came out. Now that I own a ps3 I will pick this u pprobably on day 1. As long as the gamestop copy has all of the coupons in it. (deus ex human revolution reference)
  • MidianGTX - September 9, 2011 7:24 a.m.

    You never owned a PS2? You can't be the serious gamer the article is talking about then.
  • Asloveszuko - September 9, 2011 5:28 a.m.

    Can't wait for this collection! I was searching around for a copy of ICO for the PS2 and found out they are reeeeally expensive becuase they are apperently pretty rare. So this is just what the doctor ordered, better graphics and I can play it on my PS3. And for some reason that makes me think of snuggling in a heavy robe with a cup of hot cider while playing it....comfy.
  • Moonlight_Shadow - September 9, 2011 4:53 a.m.

    I'd like to know how the multiplayer in Ico works but so far every critic has skipped that aspect of the game. Does it support LAN? Can you play locally and is it split screen or shared screen? Can it be played online and if so, does it support voice chat? I'll definately be picking up these games when they go on sale during the holiday season. They're already $5 off at Best Buy Canada last I check (only as pre-order though).
  • MyCoolWhiteLies - September 9, 2011 9:25 a.m.

    It should just be the multiplayer from the PS2 European version, which just means that the second controller can control Yorda. She can't really do much, so it's still pretty much up to the player who controls ICO to do everything. Seeing as how it was just a bonus little feature, there's no reason for them to have implemented online connectivity for it.
  • birdro - September 9, 2011 4:11 a.m.

    I never found Shadow too aggravating up until the very last collossi, simply because I was never sure where to go and kept getting blasted or bucked off. I always thought moments like that kind of added to the whole feeling though, never really made me think to stop playing.
  • Zeb364 - September 9, 2011 2:25 a.m.

    I can't wait for this collection. I've had it pre-ordered since before they had confirmed a solid release date. I missed them both on PS2 so I was thrilled to hear I would get a crack at them on PS3. It's one of the main reasons I bought a PS3 (in addition to the Uncharted series, inFamous series, and The Last Guardian).
  • Stabby_Joe - September 9, 2011 2:09 a.m.

    Kind of saw this score coming, mostly based off what you Mikel have repeatedly said on the podcast and rightly so to. Can't wait now!
  • beezn - September 9, 2011 1:59 a.m.

    This is something that would make me want to get a ps3 again.
  • Clovin64 - September 9, 2011 1:55 a.m.

    This purchase is a no-brainer for me considering that Shadow is a strong contender for my personal favourite game of all time. For some reason, I never managed to actually finish Ico, so I'll have to rectify that when I buy this. Can't wait for The Last Guardian! Wonder if it can knock SotC off my top spot?
  • CitizenWolfie - September 9, 2011 1:49 a.m.

    I played Shadow of the Colossus on my 60gb Backwards-compatible PS3 recently and it still felt like a joy. Yeah it's frustrating to be knocked off a Colossus when they're on the last bit of health but all the more satisfying (if you can call it that) when you do kill them. Never played Ico except for a demo way back when. I was a bit too young to appreciate it I think so maybe now I'll enjoy it more for what it is. Just a few questions that I couldn't find answer to in the review: A: When's the release date? B: Have they made it easier to get on Agro? I remember cursing the controls sometimes for making me have to get right up close to mount to horse. After Red Dead I'm not sure if I will be as patient this time around.
  • beezn - September 9, 2011 2:04 a.m.

    "I played Shadow of the Colossus on my 60gb Backwards-compatible PS3 recently" Humble brag
  • CitizenWolfie - September 9, 2011 2:30 a.m.

    Sort of. Kinda like saying "I'm first to buy an inferior model."
  • GamesRadarMikelReparaz - September 9, 2011 10:47 a.m.

    A: Sept. 27 (Sept. 30 in the UK). B: Nope! Agro is just as much a pain in the ass to get onto as before. You can, however, get on a bit more easily if you hold R1 to grip when you inevitably jump instead of climbing on.
  • robertpopovic - September 9, 2011 1:13 a.m.

    Never played Ico, but I did have Shadow. Unfortunately I never played that one much, mostly because the low framerate (especially during battles) put me off. Since I recently got a PS3 I think I might pick up this combo :)
  • mothbanquet - September 8, 2011 11:42 p.m.

    I never played Ico beyond the demo that first came with my PS2 but it's one I've always wanted to play. I DID, however, briefly play SotC less than a year ago and damn...I never thought a last-gen game would impress me so much. I'd buy an HD update of that alone, never mind a pack that includes Ico as well. Just have to wait 'til payday... T.T
  • BoxingMarco - September 8, 2011 11:19 p.m.

    I am picking these up as soon as I can scrounge up $40!!!!
  • McSpermie - September 8, 2011 11:05 p.m.

    I can't wait to play ICO. While I have beaten SotC multiple times, I was waiting until this came out to play ICO and can't wait another minute!

Showing 21-40 of 43 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 27 2011 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS3
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: SCE Japan Studio
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.