Google+

Hyrule Warriors review

Troubled
Back to Article

67 comments

  • fullmetallegend - September 17, 2014 5:50 p.m.

    Everytime I see a "Warriors" game review. I see tons of complaints about how the reviewer isn't even a Dynasty Warriors fan, so he shouldn't do a review. That's probably because there aren't any professional reviewers that like DW. Like this guy said, it's a series based on effortless button-mashing, against enemies with zero AI and almost no attacks, that amuses for an hour based off the how cool the moves and characters look.
  • Stabby_Joe - September 18, 2014 11:25 a.m.

    There aren't any? Granted I know it's not a popular in the mainstream sense but you can find plenty out there who like this game. Heck, this title is getting pretty good reviews so far.
  • BladedFalcon - September 18, 2014 12:28 p.m.

    I'm pretty sure the good reviews have to do more with the fact that has Zelda fanservice, and less with the fact that it's a DW style of game.
  • Stabby_Joe - September 19, 2014 12:33 a.m.

    I won't deny that to an extent although Warriors games, particularly the more recent have actually got good reviews.
  • BladedFalcon - September 19, 2014 3:28 p.m.

    Unless I'm mistaken though, those scores mostly come from Jim sterling and/or destructoid, and they've always been shameless fans of the formula.
  • Stabby_Joe - September 20, 2014 4:10 p.m.

    Not really, I am referring to averages and reviews that come with it,, being more than just those two. Also what's wrong with someone who likes a series reviewing the next installment?
  • BladedFalcon - September 20, 2014 4:25 p.m.

    Nothing, just as there's nothing wrong with someone that dislikes a series and giving it a low score. Yet as this thread proves, everyone loses their shit when that happens, because this time it happens to be related to Zelda. As for the averages, I'm going to concede that to you, since I admit I haven't looked, and don't really plan to. If the series is actually getting better, then that's great, it's just that to me, it hasn't changed nearly enough for me to bother with it again, playing DW3, and Samurai Warriors was more than enough to get my fill of mindless drone army slaying simulator.
  • Stabby_Joe - September 20, 2014 4:37 p.m.

    That is why the variety of reviews this game has been getting is interesting to me. It kind of forces people to make an informed yet completely personal decision for a change IE nothing one way or the other. As you say since you don't like the series, this review states what you would need to know. For me though, this is definitely one of the better Warriors games so far and not just because of the Zelda brand, hence why another review will go into detail as to why that may be for others. Although I will agree with you about the brand bringing out the knee jerk defenses, although I am more coming from the view of "oh, NOW you suddenly care?" haha!
  • BladedFalcon - September 20, 2014 6:53 p.m.

    Haha, yeah, that's completely fine. And again, I'm not at all attacking people like you who clearly like or enjoy the DW style of gameplay already. I mean, of course you guys would enjoy this game even if it was the same. I'm mainly calling out people who clearly are defending this game just because it has a Nintendo or Zelda property attached to it, even though it's clearly superficial. And had it not been Zelda coated, they wouldn't have said a thing about the same game, and might have even attacked it. I'm just against hypocrites, basically XD
  • Stabby_Joe - September 21, 2014 9:56 a.m.

    While I would argue there are Zelda trappings that change up the gameplay compared to the other games in the franchise, but yes people are out for that aspect it seems. Heck, if a DW game had a GOOD review here, would anyone notice?
  • BladedFalcon - September 21, 2014 5:18 p.m.

    From what I've heard though, said trappings, while cool nods, don't really happen that often, or aren't significant enough to change the overall formula. And exactly my point. I mean, I'm sure you, and the people who actually DO like the series would, but even then it wouldn't have gotten a third of the comments that are in this thread, which again, goes to show that those extra commenter showing outrage are not much more than your average Nintendo fanboy trying their best to justify their irrational brand loyalty.
  • Stabby_Joe - September 22, 2014 12:49 a.m.

    I would disagree with the first statement having played it and prior Warriors titles but in conclusion, yes, while not to the same extent as Destiny, I wasn't expecting this game to get the overly defensive comments... although given the branding I probably should of haha!
  • Earthbound_X - September 25, 2014 3:40 a.m.

    Jim Sterling, I believe is a big DW fan. And what do you know, he gave Hyrule Warriors, a 4 and 1/2 Stars out of 5. I liked DW, and I love Zelda, so I pretty sure I'd like Hyrule Warriors, just based on that.
  • Clovin64 - September 17, 2014 5:17 p.m.

    I can't say I'm surprised at the score honestly. I've played DW games before and I know what they're like. I wasn't expecting the Zelda coat of paint to have anthing more than a superficial effect. Link and Zelda both look really badass though.
  • _--_ - September 17, 2014 4:19 p.m.

    --some PRETTY mixed reviews on this one --i dont know if ive EVER seen GR give a 4 to a game that Gamespot gave an 8 --its usually the other way around(and its usually nintendo games)
  • wyatt-boyer - September 17, 2014 3:29 p.m.

    You obviously have no idea what franchise you're playing. This is absolutely ridiculous, why do we let reviewers hwo know NOTHING about the franchise review these games? This always happens with the Dynasty Warriors series, and it's about time something changes.
  • GOD - September 17, 2014 8:12 p.m.

    Assumes that person whose job is to know about games, knows nothing about the game he reviewed on the basis of disagreeing with the score he gave it. Seems legit.
  • shawksta - September 17, 2014 2:24 p.m.

    Damn, very harsh, but very understandable Lorenzo, must be your first Dynasty Warrior's game. I always wanted to try the DW games and i understand how they work and why its niche, so im still looking forward to it. This review is one of the more harsh compared to everywhere else, even Gamespot gave it a 8, But you have every right as a Zelda fan to think of it as troubled lorenzo, DW isnt for everyone.
  • JMarsella09 - September 17, 2014 1:52 p.m.

    No offense to Lorenzo, but I think I would have preferred an opinion from someone who actually likes Dynasty Warriors games.
  • CitizenWolfie - September 17, 2014 1:39 p.m.

    I've seen some very conflicting reviews for HW and while I was skeptical before I'm looking forward to it. Never played DW so it'll all be new to me anyway. And yes, I'm a Zelda fanboy. As said, never played DW before but it does seem unfair that they all get criticism for being repetitive button mashers when you're essentially doing the same thing in God of War, DMC and Bayonetta. Guess I'll see for myself come Friday.
  • JMarsella09 - September 17, 2014 1:55 p.m.

    With all do respect dude, if you think that DMC and Bayonetta are just button mashers, I have trouble believing you actually played them.

Showing 21-40 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 26 2014 - Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: Wii U
Genre: Action
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.