Google+

Heavy Rain review

Solid
Back to Article

125 comments

  • kdombaz - February 12, 2010 3:03 p.m.

    A comparison for you all. Mumber of "Perfect Marks" for titles by GR XB: 25 PS3: 13 Perfect Marks for Exlusives for each Platform XB: 10 PS3: 3 Multi-Plat titles scored Perfect on XBox but not on PS3 XB: 15 (All perfect 10) PS3: 10 (2 not reviewed, 2 scored 9, 1 scored 8) Exclusives on PS3 that could have been perfect 10 Killzone2, InFamous, Resistant1-2, Motorstorm1-2, Heavy Rain, MAG, MGS4 Multiplatforms could have scored perfect 10 on PS3 but didn't Bioshock, Orange Box, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Titles scored perfect on XBox but not reviewed pn PS3 Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City Guitar Hero 2
  • GameDev - February 12, 2010 4:03 p.m.

    @mentalityljs I see what your saying about the review being unbiased this way. But actually thats absolutely the reason why is shouldnt be done this way. I mean do you ever think GR would get someone to review a HALO or COD title who absolutely hates FPS games? NO WAY would they do that and it just goes to prove how stupid reviews can be if done wrongly. I mean just imagine, I can see the same thing happening with FF13. If the game is reviewed by a person who hates JRPGs that game wont be getting any higher then a 5or6, it would just be impossible. The same thing happened here with HR, someone who should not have reviewed it did! Which was completely unfair to the game and its genre. Its obvious that gamers who will play this will no matter what someone says, but for the people who were in the middle these type of reviews will be putting them off even though its like 1 in a 20 - whereas all the rest are very high scores.
  • Canucklehead - February 12, 2010 8:10 p.m.

    You'd almost think with the reviewer's score being so far out of what appears to be the critical median on this game (and Gamesradar traditionally having scores in that median area) that a second look would be warranted. I mean I have no problem with the way the reviewer set out and made his point, but I question where the critical analysis ended and personal preference bias crept in. No, this isn't a PS3 v. Xbox360 thing its more about the genre of game. The big red flag for me is the fact that one of the negatives was "you'll hate it if you're an action junkie". Of course this game has never been, nor is it intended to be an action game, so to hold that against a game is kind of like saying Basketball junkies will hate Madden 2010. I feel that perhaps the reviewer is not a big fan of the play style and allowed some of that personal perference to seep into a critical analysis. Which is unfortunate.
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - February 12, 2010 10:32 p.m.

    This is crushing.... I really was hoping for a perfect narrative device and moving plot line, not some cliched noir flick with Heroes-esque plotholes. Not that I care about Heroes' plotholes. I'm downloading the demo now and am just aching for it to be better than the review gave the impression of. A 7/10... I still can't quite believe something this well publicised and hyped could fall to mediocrecy. No, wait, HAZE did it too. I should invest in an Xbox at this rate...
  • lovinmyps3 - February 12, 2010 11:53 p.m.

    My main draw to this game was to engrossed in a narrative, because the gameplay doesn't really appeal to me at all. I was going to buy this day one but I guess I'll use that money to get Aliens vs Predator and wait 'till the price drops.
  • mentalityljs - February 13, 2010 12:37 a.m.

    @ GameDev I suppose it can go both ways. I especially would'nt want to review a game if it was of my least favorite genre. I wouldn't have the attention span to play thru it enough to give it a proper review, so i'm in agreeance with u there. Good to see you didn't take it offensively like some other ppl do :)
  • Fiirestorm21 - February 13, 2010 10:43 a.m.

    Good article, David. Glad to see your comments about the story...obviously something one can't know before-hand. I was excited for the game (I would be in the "B" category of your little quizzes there) but bad writing always turns me off. I probably rent before buying just to be sure.
  • pot - February 13, 2010 10:54 a.m.

    As soon as I read this review I knew the SDF (Sony Defense Force) would be out to bash GR since it didn't get a score of 11/10 LOL. You guys did not let me down!
  • pot - February 13, 2010 12:26 p.m.

    Oh this is great, been laughing all day @ people that claim this score is unfair, reviewer doesn't know what he's talking about, and how it's the best game since... ever. Even though none of them have played it yet. All this over one single number... It's the same at Destructoid because they gave the game a 7 as well. I own a PS3 and I am playing the Heavy Rain demo as I type but still, the PS3 fanboys rage when a PS3 exclusive gets lower then a 10.
  • mfwahwah - February 13, 2010 3:47 p.m.

    I'm disappointed in this review GR. Very disappointed. "leaching origi"
  • veryweirdguy - February 13, 2010 5:06 p.m.

    Note: "7 out of 10" means above average. Also, fanboys are stupid (for any one console.) I'll still pick it up.
  • infestedandy - February 13, 2010 6:05 p.m.

    I'm really sick of this whole "some reviewers get it" opinion. Look, the reason we have al these review sites and critics is because it gives variety to the masses. You're supposed to find a place and/or person who resonates with you well so you can have consistency. It's not always going to be perfect but for me, GamesRadar definitely is the place I trust the most. As far as scores go, this debate is endless. Sites who review on a 10-scale should be giving average games a 5 instead of those 7's people talk about as being safe. A 7 to me is a GREAT game with some flaws, but you read the review to find out more about it. Since games are expensive as hell, anything for me that's a 7 and up is worthy of a look; especially if you trust the source who is reviewing the game in question.
  • Ravenbom - February 13, 2010 9:43 p.m.

    I pretty much agree with most of what infestedandy said. But personally, I don't even think reviews should use scores, instead, just skip to the chase: Buy, Rent, Skip. As consumers, it's all we're concerned with. If you want to treat games as an art form, do what the movies do and give out awards at the end of the year. After playing the demo and trying to break the game as much as possible (like in the fight scene I did absolutely nothing) I noticed the outcome was almost exactly the same. The R2 to walk is slow (no one I know walks that slow, especially if you have somewhere to go) and it essentially felt like R2 was a Fast-Forward (but slow) to the next scene. I think GR gave it the score it deserved.
  • sato - February 14, 2010 5:59 a.m.

    89 on Metacritic, I know this game is better than that. :(
  • Panhandle - February 14, 2010 11:42 a.m.

    Agh, the curse of the 'out of ten' scoring system strikes again! 7 seems a very fair score to me, and it was a very good review in my opinion, titles that deviate from the norm are hard to judge (but easy to give good marks/perfect scores) Criticizing the story is perfectly valid as well, considering the game is built and hinges on the story really, comparing it to other video games like modern warfare 2 or something makes no sense, as i hardly believe people bought that for the great dialogue (although i for example was extremely perturbed and demanded my money back from the shopkeep when Guitar Hero didn't provide me with the cohesive narrative depth i was expecting. Maybe not). Personally, i would get it, 7 is still a good score for a niche game, I liked Fahrenheit when that came out, yes i know it was pretty terrible and fell to pieces at the end like a choc ice on a particularly hot day, but it was a diverting attraction, and it was different from the norm. I wouldn't have held it up as an excellent game, and at the time, i think it was mostly overrated by a lot of reviewers as well, giving it an easy ride because of its ambition. Looking back on this game in six months, i don't think anyone would still be calling for it to be rated 10/10, just like a lot of hyped games, bioshock for instance, the story was great, the setting was awesome, the combat was? *cough* well, pretty weak, its scores were a bit too high on average i think. i love a good story, the fact that this type of game is around and being developed makes me happy, there is fantastic potential here, but some poor writing would hold it back a little from excellence
  • sato - February 14, 2010 4:02 p.m.

    @ xboxrulez It's my own opinion, you don't have to be a douche about it. ;/ + it's hard to believe you because you're obviously biased username ;/
  • sato - February 14, 2010 4:02 p.m.

    *your
  • Stabby_Joe - February 14, 2010 6:49 p.m.

    Even though I already "made peace" with this review, I find it strange that people are acting like the split between gamers goes far beyond. There are like 3 sites that gave this review in the 7 range, this being one. 3 out of roughly 40 so far being great to perfect... ...mixed game or what. It's ok to disagree with the game and not like it but some seem to be under a false impression of the average view.
  • tayls - February 14, 2010 9:09 p.m.

    I enjoyed Indigo Prophecy and all, but it really was an odd, niche game. This game wouldn't even be on the radar of many PS3 owners if Sony didn't play it up as a heavy hitter...a dumb move, in my opinion. I see it selling moderately well, but disappointing and perplexing a lot of people, as it's completely different than anything else on the system. I think this is a fair review, but to everyone touting the metacritic average: this game shouldn't have been played up like it was by Sony, as it's hardly mainstream in it's execution, however compelling the finished product is.
  • c1nd3rcell - February 14, 2010 10:07 p.m.

    I loved Indigo Prophecy and all, but I was hoping Heavy Rain would be much better than a 7/10. Since storyline is my favorite part of video games, I was very exited about this game. Also, I'm ticked of at Quantic Dream for making this a PS3 exclusive. Its not like it would be any different on the 360, except for the Sixaxis movements. But you would surely think that they could find a way around it? Oh well, I guess I'll have to watch lets plays on YouTube for this one:(

Showing 81-100 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.