Google+

Heavy Rain review

Solid
Back to Article

125 comments

  • FreekinIdiot - February 11, 2010 3:42 p.m.

    BEWWWBS!!! Seriously though, dodgy acting/ controls/ story aside I still think the developers should be commended doing something a bit different. TBH, even though I'm very excited about the games that have come out recently and are on the horizon none of them seem as refreshing (despite the bleak setting) as Heavy Rain. It may be average but at least it's a step in the right direction to hopefully more refined and engaging experiences in the future. And that, pS3 fan boys, is coming from a 360 owner.
  • JohnnyMaverik - February 11, 2010 3:42 p.m.

    Ok so the bad writing points sound alot more weighty than the good writing, so it's a badly written game. Won't please action fans, and won't untimatly please plot junkies (like myself). Bitterly dissapointed, sounded promising at first but by page 3 I was like, eh, fk that. Might still pick it up one day but just like Fareignheight (sp?) ceratinly not for full price (as in I might pay 15 quid at most for it).
  • GameDev - February 11, 2010 3:45 p.m.

    What a stupidly flawed review by GR! The review is completely broke and doesn't justify itself. Firstly the person reviewing the game was interested in exactly the opposite of what HR isn't! You can tell by his comments he's one of the FPS, blow things up kids. You can also tell he's one that would most likely have given the SHENMUE titles no higher then a 5/10. So I ask GR why on earth would you consider this guy to review one of the major games out this year when he enjoys exactly whats not to be found in HR? In the review he picks on the most stupidest things to bring the game down! How and Why on earth would you choose to write about the shower scene and complain about the female scene being longer then the male scene?!?!? Apart from that all he moans about is the story of the game not being how he would have liked. This is the strangest as the story of HR is its USP and definetly one of the most involving and thrilling stories found in a game. This is quite evident by almost every single review available of the game elsewhere eg. gamespot, ign, cvg etc.. So i have no idea why he picked stupid things to try and bring the game down, its people like this who never get out of a mould and everyone suffers because of it! Its because of people like this why we never received a SHENMUE 3. I think we should support developers who try something unique, especially if it takes this sort of root that the HR devs took and works. (It obviously is a must play game as is evident by almost every other review out there) Its quite obvious that this type of game would not appeal to everyone, so why on earth would you get a reviewer to review it who it doesn't appeal too? This just proves how flawed reviews can be in general, and this game was a prime example of it.
  • boxmeizter - February 11, 2010 3:51 p.m.

    just a 7? the demo allmost convinced me to buy it! i guess i will wait some months to a price cut however
  • DeviousMonkey - February 11, 2010 3:56 p.m.

    Why do Fanboys insist on perfect reviews and that their opinion is paramount, if it got a 10/10 we'd have people complaining about that. I don't own a PS3, but looking to pick one up and this game is a strong reason for doing that, I really enjoyed Fahrenheit and this looks more of the same with a lot less crazy.
  • Doctalen - February 11, 2010 4:18 p.m.

    Disappointing, I had such high hopes for this game. Oh well time to move on.
  • JohnnyMaverik - February 11, 2010 4:37 p.m.

    Oh btw, if you want an adventure game play The Longest Journey... PC exclusive, amazing, suck it. Then play Dreamfall... then go cry because the series will never be finished because MMO's = money(optional).
  • JohnnyMaverik - February 11, 2010 4:44 p.m.

    @ GameDev actually he was complaining that the female shower scene was overly sexualised where as the male shower sceen wasn't, frm what I've seen I agree. Also, he complains that the story wasn't high brow enough for him, and it cheepens itself at points, aswell as potentially breaks itself. The gameplay is fine until moments when you have to hold down 4 buttons and flick an annalogue stick at the same time. Finally a 7 is probably a fair score from what I've read about the game, a few people will love it, some will like it, many will hate it. You can't give it a 10 and then say, yea, only a minority of people will actually enjoy this and out of those only a few will be blown away.
  • mdiaz033 - February 11, 2010 5:04 p.m.

    I will say this: Some advice: everytime Gamesradar reviews a PS3 exclusive, do yourselves a favor and read other source's opinions. I LOVE GR but they are at times somewhat bias against PS3. It really is true. I'm surprised Uncharted got the score it did on this site but it proves they can appreciate fun and flawless games. Also, for this game, it would be best to remain skeptical. In other words, buy at your own risk. Everyone says this game is a 9 or 10 but GR is saying 7. Either everyone is kissing HR's ass and GR is telling the truth OR GR is being biased and HR is really a superb game.
  • kdombaz - February 11, 2010 5:16 p.m.

    It is becoming very clear that there is a clear division between XBOX gamers and PS3 gamers. The demographics seems different. PS3 attracts more discerning gamer and Xbox attracts trash talking 10 year olds. Of course the games and how they are received by the jounalism community reflects that division. This game is not a mature game per se it's for more mature audions.
  • oryandymackie - February 11, 2010 8:47 p.m.

    This game could have been so much better if the writers weren't obsessed with making it 'deep' (see: pretentious). I would have liked to see a completely OTT plotline - think SR2 made QTE. Plenty of action, plenty of comedy. What I don't want is an over-used, cliched, trenchcoat-clad, world-weary inspector standing out in the Heavy Rain. Think CJ Johnson. P.S, I'm an Xbox owner anyway.
  • oryandymackie - February 11, 2010 8:52 p.m.

    And kdombaz, you can't say that GR were biased in this particular review and then claim that Xbox owners are 'trash talking 10 year olds'. Besides, the story is recycled from so many cheap paperbacks.
  • oryandymackie - February 11, 2010 8:55 p.m.

    100Proof? 'The quality of Uncharted'? Sure, it was a good game, but hardly revolutionary - hardly a gem that will be remembered for years to come.
  • Pocotron - February 11, 2010 9:56 p.m.

    I was never interested in this game to start with. Not my type of tea, ya know what im sayin'? But I will say this might have been a bad reviewer for his wrong type of game. I figured Mikel would review this. Ha! reCaptcha is social humorist! Ha ha!
  • mentalityljs - February 12, 2010 1:05 a.m.

    @ GameDev Don't take this the wrong way, it's just my guess. But perhaps Dave Stoughton reviewed HR for the very fact that this ISN'T his first-choice kind of game. I truly want to believe that the GR staff is well rounded and not overly biased. With that said, I believe it's important for a journalist to take an opposite approach in reviewing a non-favorite. So in the end, the review ends up being NOT biased. Otherwise the game would've gotten a 10/10 just because it was favored by the reviewer. Make sense?
  • mentalityljs - February 12, 2010 1:06 a.m.

    WOOPS! sorry Dave. I meant Houghton, please don't kill me!
  • mentalityljs - February 12, 2010 1:17 a.m.

    Oh, and @ Xboxrulez You say ur 14 yrs old? And ur compairing a video game to music? At 14 you can't possibly appreciate a god damn thing about music. I'm not a Simon and Garfunkel fan, so don't think i'm just trying to defend them personally. Listen to some of their songs and at least TRY to appreciate their talents before insulting them. I was ignorant towards certain music when i was ur age, too. But then i grew up, started making music, and realized what it was to do just that. So please, grow up or shut up.
  • TURbo - February 12, 2010 2:48 a.m.

    I would like a Quantic Dream game NOT written by David Cage
  • jacob_kreed - February 12, 2010 6:03 a.m.

    7 another badly reviewed game, microsoft PR department must be getting it right. This game is better than the excellent fahrenheit. If you are unfamliar of the game its first hitchcock style of adventure game. The game deserves a 9 or 10, for some reason any game developed by Sony at the moment gets rubbish and over critical review. Download the Demo and check out a great game
  • kdombaz - February 12, 2010 11:19 a.m.

    @ xboxrulez Uh OK! I will shutty the moth. @ oryandymackie GR has to keep this trash talking crowd happy you see. That's why there will be an element of "not everybody's cup of tea" slant on it. In other words our 10-14 year old XBox crowd wouldn't have liked it anyways. After seeing MAG review, Heavy Rain review on GR I realised even more than before that GR cannot exactly go ahead give gushing reviews about PS3 games. I accept they can't do that when there is no merit for it but they will hold back when it merits. But Mass Effect 2, MW2 and any kind of Halo will get that recognition. I like reading GR but i also take their reviews with pinch of salt like I do with any other site.

Showing 61-80 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.