Google+

Heavy Rain review

AT A GLANCE
  • One of the most stunningly believable game worlds to date
  • It's genuine emotionally affecting at times
  • You'll be engrossed
  • It's badly written
  • It feels a little smug at times
  • You'll hate it if you're an action junkie

As you’ll know if you follow our Twitter feed (which is amazing, by the way), Heavy Rain has split opinion in the Radar office. Moreso than any game in recent memory, in fact. Some like it, some hate it, and some lie somewhere in between. But regardless of subjective reaction to this most unique of PlayStation 3 exclusives, there are certain cold hard facts that you need to know, and those are what this Super Review is going to bring you.

Tread carefully if you're particularly sensitive to spoilers though. We've tried to avoid them, but there are one or two unavoidable plot points touched upon within.

Easily the most blurred combination of movie and game to date, Heavy Rain is a very interesting prospect indeed in this age of sprawling video game mythologies and high def cut scenes. But “interesting” covers a wide range of emotions. Which ones does Heavy Rain evoke? Read on and we’ll tell you. But first, a large disclaimer.


Large disclaimer

Your appreciation of what Heavy Rain does will depend on what you like to take away from your video games, and in fact your entertainment media in general. Depending on your preferences you may gush uncontrollably over the things it does well, but by the same note they might leave you stoney cold. So we’ve devised the following multiple choice quiz for you to fill in. Just tick the boxes that sum up your reaction to the following items and we’ll explain the results in a moment. And remember, don’t use a permanent marker or you’ll bugger up your monitor.

What is your gut response to this screenshot?

How would you feel if presented with the following as part of a tutorial?

If you ticked mostly A and B, you’ll appreciate what Heavy Rain does. If you ticked mostly C, move on. There’s nothing to see here.


So what the hell is it?

Glad you asked. With so many preconceptions already gathered around the title (“It’s the future of games!” “It’s the return of point and click adventures!” “It’s the longest QTE in history!”) we need to start by clearing up exactly how Heavy Rain works.

Heavy Rain is a gritty piece of interactive narrative following a dark and fairly brutal murder mystery story set in 2011. You’ll alternately play as several different characters involved in various aspects of the overall plot, and your actions will shape the events of the current scene, subsequent scenes, and the overall story. These changes are achieved via branching dialogue trees, the provision of different solutions to problems (sometimes including the option to walk away altogether), and your success or failure during key action sequences.

Everything (and we mean everything) bar physically moving your character around the environment is controlled via simple button presses, small turns of the right analogue stick, and shakes of the Sixaxis. QTE prompts flash up on screen whenever you pass an object or person that can be interacted with or whenever the story throws up a set-piece event, and you follow them accordingly. Or not.

You definitely can’t change the way things unfold with complete freedom, but when different approaches are possible you can often radically change the way a scene plays out, even if your actions don’t change the end result. For a simple example, check out two different ways we tackled a convenience store hold-up with private eye Scott Shelby. First we did this:

Then we did this:

One approach led to a quick and easy victory, while the other led to a botched confrontation. We could also have kept our hands in the air (dropping them was a manual action, performed by letting go of L1 and R1) and talked the robber into leaving. Regardless of personal success or failure, Shelby still got the result he needed to further the plot in the predestined direction, but in other scenes your actions might lead to a different outcome, resulting in a different story branch for your character, the existence or non-existence of a character relationship, or even the death of a protagonist or important NPC. There are multiple versions of many scenes to accommodate this branching, and more than a few that you’ll only see if you take a certain route.

So that’s how it works, but what's it like to play? Is it an adventure game? Is it an interactive movie? Is it the joyful union of cinema and game so long coveted by Kojima’s four-day-long Metal Gear cut-scenes? Heavy Rain is a tricky one to pin down in truth, and it’s probably better explained by detailing what it isn’t.

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+

125 comments

  • PorcelainPoison - June 25, 2011 2:08 p.m.

    SPOILERS IMMINENT - I just completed this game and on my first run, managed to kill three out of four main characters along with Ethan's son and Scott Shelby's assistant Lauren. The Origami Killer, Scott, walked away whilst everyone else died. I'm pretty impressed with my FAIL. xd But I do like this game and 2 of my other friends do to. Comparing the shower scenes, however, I never realised how ridiculous it was at first but maybe the makers were pandering to the idiots, as it were, to score another point and another possible purchase? I don't know but it made me laugh. One things for sure though, I'll definately be playing again soon to get a better ending.
  • Darkhawk - February 11, 2011 3:13 a.m.

    I already liked GamesRadar, but it was this review that finally convinced me to turn to you guys for all future game information. While Heavy Rain gets Metacritic acclaim (they're doing their "publishers of the year" feature right now), it's nice to pull up an intelligent and realistic review on your site. Keep up the great work!
  • cj12297 - June 9, 2010 1:54 p.m.

    i thought it was really good and i think i know what plot hole you mean
  • midway007 - May 29, 2010 10:31 a.m.

    1 of my fav games of 2010 so far great graphics and soundtrack with a movie like feel and multiple endings but i wasnt too keen on the taxidermist episode though lets hope episode 2 be better :)
  • CrazieChris - May 18, 2010 8:58 a.m.

    I played the demo, its not bad. Everybody is entitled to their opinion, professional or not. Its a game point blank, no game is absolutely perfect. Cuz It always comes down to da money situation. Neways, I thought it was a nice change in gaming, I hope to c more like it. The idea of different results is great compared to once u played it u know wat will happen. Im goin to buy n trade it upon beating it cuz I heard it wasnt a very long game, cuz I definetly played worse. Id give it 3.5 out of 5. Later fellow members
  • silentassassin51 - April 13, 2010 2:18 a.m.

    I've gotta say this is the first Gamesradar review I was disappointed by. I've played through the game already, more than a few times and I like it a lot. And honestly, in my playthroughs I didn't really get this sense of pretentiousness everyone keeps talking about. Yeah, they call it "interactive drama" when it is, to its core, still a game. But god am I glad they're trying something different in a sea of samey garbage. I for one am sick of shooters, and the market is pretty freakin' crowded at the moment. But anyway. The sections with the gripes about story and all that jazz just sound like the complaints of "that guy" about a movie. You know, "that guy" who deconstructs each plot hole or just says something is "so unrealistic." Yeah, I caught all of them the first time through, but I didn't let them bother me. Sure, some of the scenes seem unreasonably acted, and no, I don't know what Norman Jayden's accent is supposed to be. But complaining about scene continuity is a little dangerous in a game like this, which offers a choice in almost every scene. Yahtzee Crowshaw didn't care for the story much either, and he too complained about the ending. But he qualified himself by saying that to do a game like this requires rewriting a scene many times. His game, which was to have six or so core choices would have had about sixty four different stories. A game with as many choices as heavy rains would have thousands. My point is that yeah, a few sequences slipped through the metaphorical story crack. But when so many were done right, I don't personally give a toss. And the complaint of "maturity?" Really? Yeah, that shower scene can be a two minute long boobstravaganza if you want it to be, but the controls for undressing Madison are the same as any other action in the game, and can be done just as fast. Is it unrealistic that a woman would be naked a) in the shower and b) in her own fucking bathroom? No. Bitching about that sequence reminds me of everyone who always complains you can beat a hooker to death in GTA. Yeah, you can do it, but you don't have to. It's totally up to the player. If you hit the first command in the shower you see her bare breasts for a brief moment, then she gets right out of the shower, just like Ethan. Poor taste would have been letting you walk around, or do the following (spoiler alert) fight sequence naked. Anyway I know no ones really going to read this but I wrote it anyway because I felt like it. In sum, loved the game, didn't really dig this review. But isn't that how it should be? hm.
  • wiljohannes - April 8, 2010 6:41 p.m.

    those voices and faces... just, not right.
  • madgoody - March 16, 2010 10:14 a.m.

    Worse game ever! I got this yesterday without reading any reviews and just going on a very well made TV ad- so my mistake i know. Yes the game is like a movie but trust me you would turn this movie off after 10 minutes! I did give the game longer than that but it was so dull, having a shower and playing with the kids isn't a game its life and its boring which is why we all play these games isn't it, to escape the boring lives we lead? No you cant make your decisions as promised its just another script, you cant even go where you want. I was expecting something in between GTA and Fallout and got something between The Trueman Show and a Church service, yawn. Maybe if you could slap your kids and get it on with your wife in the dining room, it would be slightly entertaining. If you do think this is a great game maybe you should look at your own lives because if mine was this dull, i'd be off to find a high bridge. For Sale one copy like new of Heavy Rain!
  • Clavius42 - March 9, 2010 4:03 a.m.

    Thanks for the brutally honest review of this not really brutal pseudo thriller. Three things to add to your Most Distracting list: 1) Ethan's repeated non-inflection calling out his son's name in the prologue 2) characters who can't run even when they're supposed to be in a hurry - nothing kills tension like a character just walking around while ominous music plays and the split screen shows the peril they're in 3) the insane button-mashing mini-games to do things like climb freakin' hills! The technology of Heavy Rain blew me away, but if this was a movie on Netflix, I'd give it one star...
  • garp94 - March 3, 2010 3:03 a.m.

    Got anything nice to say, GR?
  • ScruffMoney - February 27, 2010 11 p.m.

    God that was a long review but an enjoyable read. I agree with many of your points but still would've scored it higher. Personally I think it's a great game and experience and would love to see more like them, if perhaps a little better written.
  • SuperStingray - February 27, 2010 9:24 p.m.

    I loved this game simply because of it's interactive factor. Without it, it would really be nothing special. Not to spoil anything, but there is a scene where Ethan puts himself through intense pain. If I were watching a movie, I'd probably just cringe or close my eyes. But since I was the one doing it here, I actually felt the guilt and remorse of doing it. Say what you will of the story's quality, but it's a damn immersive game.
  • b-dog1991 - February 25, 2010 10:54 p.m.

    I would say the last 7 page of comment's are the reason why the industry needs games like Heavy Rain. It has, for better or worse, encouraged debate on the true form of games in general. And while it's obvious to forget, some of the greatest moments in games have come from cut-scenes, take MGS for example. Playing and watching Snake were blended in innovate ways where you still felt immersed in his adventure. Not to say Heavy Rain isn't interactive, just not in the sense we experience regularly. It's a shame then that it's exclusivity has put it under fire, because experiences like this are so uncommon amongst the glut of generic titles pumped out every week. Will we remember AVP or Dark Void in 5 years time, in the same way people getting misty eyed over Fahrenheit (sorry, Indigo Prophecy)? Here's hoping at least
  • Nerdlicious - February 25, 2010 5:38 a.m.

    Fine then..either an 8 or a 9 would suffice. It's amazing
  • TURbo - February 24, 2010 11:55 p.m.

    GamesRadar does not rate on a 20 pt scale. 9.5's aren't possible.
  • Ash1138 - February 24, 2010 9:03 p.m.

    Better than Indigo Prophecy; one of my favorite adventure games of all time? That's all I needed to know.
  • Nerdlicious - February 23, 2010 11:20 p.m.

    I would have to disagree strongly with the rating....give it a 9.5 at least! I know it's a jump from 7 but the game is not like any other game out there and it's so beautifully crafted not only in visuals and controls but in human emotion. I'm only 15% in and I cried and gasped! It has been keeping me on my toes at all times and my heart has been racing the entire time too! One thing I don't like about the game is the double standard of sexuality displayed. If I'm going to see a naked lady in the shower, or taking a piss- boobies and all, I'm going to want to see much more of the male then just a bare ass! Ethan Mars is a hot piece!!! (BTW is it just me or does Madison Paige remind you of Olivia Benson from SVU??)
  • maryjames2010 - February 23, 2010 7:47 p.m.

    Do you want a free PS3, if so, follow this link. http://gifts.kudosnetwork.co.uk/21111
  • Anduin1 - February 23, 2010 6:11 a.m.

    Bias reeks within this review
  • Ironarm - February 23, 2010 3:01 a.m.

    Heavy Rain is my most anticipated games of the year, if not of all time. I'm completely ready for a totally different gaming experience, not just point and shoot gameplay. I can't really sit here and argue that Gamesradar is wrong about this review. It's their own professional opinion and I utterly respect that. I just know that this is going to be my type of game; a deep adult story with (hopefully) great acting and writing. (Like I said I'm not going to tell Gamesradar they are wrong, but I'm optimistic that the writing and acting won't be bad at all)

Showing 1-20 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000