Google+

Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock review

Decent
Back to Article

64 comments

  • 2cute2Bcruel - September 29, 2010 2:11 a.m.

    HOLY COW! "Warrior Casey" looks scary!
  • batmanboy11 - September 29, 2010 1:29 a.m.

    I wasn't expecting this to be that good.
  • erbclub - September 29, 2010 1:10 a.m.

    I dont understand why dont they treat music games almost like mmo's? release one full length game and then a series of DLC just to keep the music fresh, maybe add in a new costume or venue with each DLC....im just thinking here
  • DarkSpyroDragon - September 29, 2010 12:02 a.m.

    *can't not can
  • DarkSpyroDragon - September 29, 2010 12:01 a.m.

    "Who would honestly pick “The Theme from Spider-Man” as the lone Ramones track?" Thats what I've been saying all along -_- Its almost as if they were trying to shoehorn in the ramones because you can have CBGBs without the Ramones. Maybe they thought "no one knows who they are lets just stick a song that everyone knows in there that they covered" Really, why not Pet Sematary? Its a theme-ish song from the movie, and something that was actually written by them. @Phazon117 Hey, nothing wrong with old punk XD
  • zigs - September 28, 2010 11:51 p.m.

    I haven't read the review yet. I haven't even read the first word. But I had to write a comment to just say how incredible Leopold Margarine's name is. Best name ever.
  • Pruman - September 28, 2010 11:42 p.m.

    I was on the fence about this one, but after this review I'll definitely save my pennies for Rock Band 3. As someone who's loved Guitar Hero since I played the original at a Best Buy in 2005, I think it's been very sad to see Activision run Guitar Hero, and by extension guitar rhythm games in general, totally into the ground. I bet that rhythm games would still be fairly popular today if Activision hadn't released 10+ Guitar Hero games in 2009.
  • MaynardJ - September 28, 2010 11:24 p.m.

    I'll still get this once the price drops to 30 euros. I got a second hand copy of GH5 for that price last week, but am still quite busy with the Metallica entry.
  • SonicX_89 - September 28, 2010 10:58 p.m.

    Judging from the previous comments, I guess I'm the only one looking forward to this game. I bought it today, and looking forward to play it when I get off work. I guess I'm just not as tired of the music game genre like everyone seems to be.
  • JoeMulvihill1 - September 28, 2010 10:36 p.m.

    i think they should release another one every 2 or 3 years, i just get every 2nd one anyway, i won't be buying this.
  • JohnnyMaverik - September 28, 2010 9:50 p.m.

    If you don't like Rush then don't play Rush. Seems like a weird thing to seriously gripe about in a review.
  • SwampRock - September 28, 2010 9:21 p.m.

    now that we know GH is dead and rush sucks, apparently. We can all spend 600$ on RB3 yay!
  • MikeHanna - September 28, 2010 9:21 p.m.

    Wow. I guarantee that Leopold Margarine has no idea what an interesting or well made piece of music looks or sounds like. So what if some of the songs are re-recordings? If you want the orignal recording go out and actually support the artist by buying the recording. Remember, you are playing Guitar Hero. The music game genre is already stale and outdated. How can you truly innovate a franchise where you act like you are playing songs? Make it more realistic with expensive periphirals. Oh...why don't you just go and buy a guitar or drumset and learn about music theory so your musical tastes expand outside of pop music or what "sounds cool". Get real.
  • nebno6 - September 28, 2010 8:48 p.m.

    according to google this is the first review Leopold Margarine has written. surely this some kind of in-house joke you are all going to be laughing about for a month and make sure that every writer includes some reference to margerine? or an anagram like gorilla promenade or reloading rampole. Also, rush are a great band but the guitar hero and rock band never do them justice with the songs they choose, with the exception of yyz.
  • Hydrohs - September 28, 2010 8:30 p.m.

    While I understand not everyone likes the same bands. I find it odd to single out Rush, especially when we're dealing with a game centered around rock music... In other news, score doesn't surprise me that much.
  • Mudrock - September 28, 2010 8:27 p.m.

    You can't hate because of Rush, silly petty reviewer.
  • Crabhand - September 28, 2010 8:10 p.m.

    I would put Rush down as a positive, but opinions are just that. I'm honestly pleased that this game did not garner a high score, a guilty pleasure because I'm an old Guitar Hero fanboy turned diehard Rock Band fanboy. It's just been really sad to see what Neversoft and Activision has done to a once great series, and even if I don't plan to buy anymore of their games, I do hope that the next game will offer some real innovation. Rock Band needs the competition to ensure they stay honest (although I doubt Harmonix will sit on their laurels).
  • Khatru - September 28, 2010 7:58 p.m.

    Rush is a fantastic band that still has a dedicated/growing fan base; even after all of these years! What is with the hate?
  • Zeb364 - September 28, 2010 7:45 p.m.

    I don't personally care one way or the other about Rush but I did like Eric's response, that was funny.
  • garnsr - September 28, 2010 7:35 p.m.

    Getting more games to use your expensive peripherals on always seems like a good idea to me, but I think they should drop the price on new GH games. They just seem like track packs, and $60 is too much just for more songs.

Showing 21-40 of 64 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Wii, PS3, Xbox 360
Published by: Activision
Franchise: Guitar Hero

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.