Google+

Gone Home review

Astonishing
Back to Article

45 comments

  • 98piku - September 7, 2013 2:26 a.m.

    Want all latest games releasing on steam? Are you a steam gamer? Then this site "http://steampoints.com" is the perfect site for you. Now you don't have to pay for your steam games. You can get all of the latest games 100% free from steampoints.com :) Join to Steampoints today and get your free game now!
  • Zepaw - August 28, 2013 10:08 p.m.

    Just finished and although it was great I can't agree with 5/5. Where it did score top marks is how engrossing it was. I was captivated and drawn into the surroundings for the entire time. It barely feels right calling it a game. A great storytelling experience unquestionably.
  • john-ingram - August 26, 2013 7:11 p.m.

    I have finished the game three time, and the least amount of time it has taken has been 3 hours! The first time was 7 hours! there are plenty of reviews saying 5-6 hours too! The fact is, you can finish this game and not know what you've missed. You may have missed 30% of it's content and whole sub-stories! It's like two people having told you they visited the countryside, only for it o transpire that on just dove around country roads for an hour, never traveling a less than 30 mph, and the other person parked their car and went for a 3 hour hike. Neither of them technically lied, but I know which one "actually" visited the countryside as far as I am concerned! To those that finished it in a hour, tell me what happened between Oscar and Terence? Tell me what happened between Jen and Ken? And where is the piece of paper where Sam writes explicitly about her first time "with" Lonnie? Answer two of those three questions and i'll believe you finished 100% of the story/game!
  • Zepaw - August 28, 2013 10:22 p.m.

    Thanks for those questions, played it full through and didn't realize I'd missed some minor but key details. I cheated though and found the info online. I already searched the house as much as I could think to. Its damn bold of the developers to make such powerful connections easily missable. Knowing the full story makes me feel a lot better about the game.
  • jeremy-garrison - August 25, 2013 3:18 p.m.

    Three huge cheers for MAJOR spoilers in the first paragraph! Nice job!
  • CalvinCrack - August 18, 2013 11:23 p.m.

    just finished the game and its really good. highly recommended. do yourself a favor thouogh and don't read anything else about it, just play it
  • R_U_Guys_From_British - August 17, 2013 8:39 p.m.

    Played this last night. I thought it was great. Interesting story and a good atmosphere although my time with Amnesia made me paranoid of the dark rooms.
  • awesomesauce - August 17, 2013 6:53 p.m.

    People saying that a "length doesn't matter" is true on an artistic POV but on a score chart "yes it does, especially if money is involved" For example: Think about the famous Ernest Hemingway phrase "For sale: Baby Shoes, Never Worn" Only 6 words and yet it carries an emotional psychological impact Now imagine paying $30 just to heard those 6 words. Outrageous!; for that money you want something that's going to drag out your dollar. No matter how great something is, if something is high priced it's high priced! On that note however i see how some newer joiners are going to disagree with the score and even some vets here. (i for one trust GR) But that's the risk of saying something is deserving of being put that high on the pedestal even if it does deserve it. That basically opinions in a nutshell; everything from sports teams-to- politics -to- game reviewers. So we just have to hope they're correct in their trying-to-be-unbiased judgement. (Like i didn't agree with their JAPvsUSA boxart article for example)
  • universaltofu - August 17, 2013 3:31 p.m.

    Just finished it, loved it, pretty sure I missed something as I never opened the safe in the basement, but at least it's an excuse to replay it.
  • TheBountyHunted - August 17, 2013 11:42 a.m.

    I bought it for about 18 bucks, completed it in an hour and a half, and I would say it is pretty good. It is a captivating and controversial story that kept me on the edge of me seat because I didn't know what to expect exactly. Consider it more like a movie that you discover as you wander the house and learn the story of the family that lives there. It is a bit over priced at the moment for such a short game, but again, consider it like a movie. And if you are strapped on cash, definitely buy it when the price drops or when it is on sale.
  • ~LanceR. - August 16, 2013 10:55 p.m.

    Come on people; and you guys don't complain spending $15 on a movie ticket that lasts around 1 hour and 30 minutes average? Same concept.
  • supergiraffe - August 16, 2013 8:26 p.m.

    I may be a little late, but if I can add another voice to the "actually played the game" group, I'd say it'd really good.
  • MyCoolWhiteLies - August 16, 2013 8:54 a.m.

    Really looking forward to checking this game out. It seems really interesting. The price is a little steep right now, but I'll get it once it's in the $10 range.
  • shawksta - August 16, 2013 7:54 a.m.

    Hmm, interesting
  • tomvevers - August 16, 2013 7:45 a.m.

    I don't understand the argument here. Any time a game gets 5 stars on GR, people are always outraged. I don't think length in any way reflects quality. Did anyone here play Journey? That was critically acclaimed and not too long. I haven't played the game but I intend to before I start deciding whether or not it deserves its 5 stars.
  • DevaSteve - August 16, 2013 9:16 a.m.

    If it was £50 would it still be a 5 star game? Value, increasingly, has to be taken into account.
  • tomvevers - August 16, 2013 11:26 a.m.

    Yes but I don't think that the length of the game necessarily reflects value for money. You can have a really long but shit game.
  • zelta38 - August 16, 2013 11:42 a.m.

    I think the price discussion really comes down to the game's budget. A 2 hour game cannot reasonably price itself at $60 but somewhere between $10-15 and not higher no matter how extraordinary (and even replayable) it is because typically the budget to make it is in general much lower than $60 games, although the direct effort and passion put in by the dev team might be much higher in the smaller game. Plus for a cinema-length experience it would not make cognitive sense to most people to pay more than a cinema ticket for the experience. That's an issue for many developers, Blizzard games are being played 10+ years after release and they see revenue only on the initial sale but then the auction house was a bad idea, tough balance there (and one of the many reasons why there is so much DLC+microtransactions nowadays).
  • DevaSteve - August 15, 2013 11:41 p.m.

    Historically, because all games were roughly the same price, all games could be reviewed from a level playing field. Similar to films, simply "How good is the game?". However, one of the advantages of digital future is the variable price. This changes the question to "How good is the game considering the price?". Same as car reviews where a Punto may get better reviews than a Bentley. £14.99 seems to me to fall into the Bentley category, great game, but probably not worth the money.
  • Darkhawk - December 2, 2013 6:20 a.m.

    For this type of experience, the length really doesn't matter. It works as an immersive narrative experience precisely because it's so short. To have mapped it out onto a larger adventure (which, perhaps, could be done for a sequel) would have harmed the experience somewhat. If you compare with the cost of a DVD (2 hours of entertainment), it's not so bad!

Showing 1-20 of 45 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 15 2013 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: PC
Genre: Adventure

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.