Google+

Golden Sun: Dark Dawn review

Great
Back to Article

31 comments

  • Larinah - March 3, 2011 10:44 p.m.

    The plot is supposed to veer off, they sort of had more immediate and pressing concerns... and also, how would they fit the "The End... ?" in at the end if they didn't have a cliffhanger! I just beat this game today and I enjoyed it almost the whole time. I had a few problems with the game though. The dialogue sometimes went a little too into detail, which is something the atlas was supposed to fix(if you see a red name of something, you can hit L or R to highlight it and read more about it on the top screen, which was a great idea.) Also, I'm not going to spoil anything, but the final boss fight and the enemies leading up to it was/were hard. REALLY hard. I ran out of pp on 3/4 characters and the only reason I didn't on my healer was because he was regenerating 20 pp a turn due to having an artifact robe >.>. Simply put, there's a massive learning curve at the end. When you have to cast revive 7 times in a fight between 3 characters and 4 djinni, a fight is pretty damn difficult. /beginrant Another problem I had with it was character balance. I kept my characters relatively well geared and equivalently leveled, and yet a couple characters were just garbage. You're hard pressed to find characters better than your original 3 and the 4th you get later. They need to refine the combat a bit more to make the characters really worth using if you need to fill a hole in your team. And as it was, I didn't HAVE a hole in my team. I had the following. Agi/crit physical attacker: Matthew(main char.) Bulky physical attacker: Tyrell. Spell attacker/backup healer: Karis. Healer/backup spell attacker: Rief. Those are the first 4 characters you get and they automatically fill up every niche you could need. Which, this is the first GS game they've had where you could actually switch characters so I can understand the lack of balance, I just want to see it fixed. I would personally give this game a 9, but I think that's just because I have such fond memories of the original GS games, and I want to see the next one succeed as much as this. /endrant
  • meh - December 27, 2010 10:45 p.m.

    God, so pissed i traded in my ds lite for my waste of space dsi. oh well. Fingers crossed they put the first two Golden Suns on the 3DS virtual gameboy thing.
  • jarboy - December 20, 2010 8:29 p.m.

    if you need a games for Golden Sun Dark Dawn here it is http://www.mediafire.com/?0hcy0a4ea8pr5qw sonic color http://www.mediafire.com/?zq5ai0hit6ad13u Mario vs. Donkey Kong Mini-land Mayhem http://www.mediafire.com/?7az370jh992... call of duty black opp http://www.mediafire.com/?ybt9hvb9h29kb9q
  • humpiedumpie - November 25, 2010 9:44 p.m.

    I will be picking this one up, after Zelda Spirit Tracks and Scribblenauts 2 my DS is mostly collecting dust..
  • Killshot - November 25, 2010 12:30 a.m.

    is there any bonus content for having a completed goldensun 2 in the GBA cart?
  • Ravenbom - November 24, 2010 8:20 a.m.

    I'm very interested in this game, but would I have to play the first 2 GBA games to appreciate Golden Sun 3?
  • Pyroclasm - November 24, 2010 7:48 a.m.

    Thank you very much for the great review. It's much better than others I have read. I can't wait to get my hands on this game!
  • link07 - November 24, 2010 3:10 a.m.

    it coming soon i can not wait for it. oh today i beat Dullahanin golden sun 2 it was allsome
  • wyndamn - November 23, 2010 6:55 p.m.

    I agree mostly with everything on the post, but i think it deserves an 8.5.
  • GamesRadarCarolynGudmundson - November 23, 2010 6:22 p.m.

    Typo fixed... whew
  • DanglyPEEnutz - November 23, 2010 4:21 p.m.

    They should have kept the original art style... Now it looks like every generic DS RPG. Still getting it tho
  • ViolentLee - November 23, 2010 11:20 a.m.

    I think you mean, "It's impossible not to love..." in the first sentence of the final paragraph. I'm not being sarcastic; I think it's a typo.
  • 510BrotherPanda - November 23, 2010 7:47 a.m.

    I just noticed, the last paragraph starts with "IMPOSSIBLE TO LOVE GOLDEN SUN:DARK DAWN..." So... you're saying to absolutely not bother with it? Did Camelot have any input in this? It sounds like the overall story isn't as great/epic this time around. Seeing as this is supposed to be Isaac's son, this comes as a bit of a disappointment.
  • 510BrotherPanda - November 23, 2010 7:39 a.m.

    Does it have a secret Ultra Boss near the end like Dullahan, for collecting all the Djinn? Is it really easy in comparison to the original 2? I'm still not too enthused about the blocky character models. Maybe I'd buy when it drops in price.
  • koubo - November 23, 2010 7:09 a.m.

    I have been waiting years for this game. This was a good review. I can't wait!
  • Letter11 - November 23, 2010 7:09 a.m.

    Man, I really love the art style. Sigh... to many good games to play and not enough time or money.
  • iKOemos - November 23, 2010 6:29 a.m.

    Been waiting years for this. I really hope its worth it.
  • dreamgor - November 23, 2010 6:20 a.m.

    YES BECAUSE YES! I WANT IT NOW!
  • Unpronounceable - November 23, 2010 6:18 a.m.

    Great review but could someone please fix the typo in the last paragraph? "It's impossible to love Golden Sun: Dark Dawn" I think she meant to say "It's impossible not to love".
  • Shagnasty - November 23, 2010 5:57 a.m.

    @Doctalen YOU MUST PLAY #2. THIS IS FACT.

Showing 1-20 of 31 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: DS
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Camelot Ltd.
Franchise: Golden Sun
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.