Google+

Gears of War 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

89 comments

  • Grif - September 15, 2011 9:56 p.m.

    Nice review Charlie, it was a very good read. And as good as you say it is, I'll probably let it pass. It's just not my kind of game. (The Halo fanboy in me will not let me buy it LOL or maybe it's the lack of money and Xbox).
  • AuthorityFigure - September 16, 2011 2:05 a.m.

    If Halo and GoW are opposite forces in your world then you must have a very, very limited gaming diet.
  • Yeager1122 - September 15, 2011 7:49 p.m.

    Cant wait for tesuday have had mine preorederd on amazon for long time.
  • forestfire55 - September 15, 2011 7:33 p.m.

    Hello Charlie, I am a big fan of GR. I know you may never read this but i would like to apologise, we gamers, no matter from what flag, tend to get into sibling rivalry and i would like to say that we are not all like that. No man should ever argue a 8, let alone a 9. So i may not agree, but i allways listen and se both sides to the story. So i just wanted to say that there are some of us out here. Sincerily, an understanding fan.
  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - September 16, 2011 11:39 a.m.

    I did read this, and thank you. But don't worry - I survived giving Halo: Reach an 8. The reaction here is downright friendly in comparison.
  • forestfire55 - September 15, 2011 7:21 p.m.

    Hey Charlie, I know you may not ever read this but in case you do I want to apologise. We gamers, no matter from what flag, tend to act out of sibiling rivelry. I just want you and all of you at games radar that we are not all like that. No man should ever need to argue an 8, let alone a 9, I may not always agree but I always look at other points of view and I understand. sincerely, an understanding fan.
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - September 15, 2011 5:22 p.m.

    I love the Gears campaign, and Horde 2.0 and Beast mode sound amazing, but I'm still a little weary about the multiplayer. Gears 1 and 2 really did have the worst multiplayer I've ever played, so I might wait for the price to go down on this game before I get it.
  • LordZarlon - September 15, 2011 2:08 p.m.

    So your saying this is not better than Return of the Jedi but just as good. THIS IS THE BIGGEST TRAVESTY IN THE HISTORY OF LIFE!!!!!!!!!
  • ericthesmith - September 16, 2011 7:40 a.m.

    Agreed. This is by far the most controversial comparison made in this review.
  • D0CCON - September 15, 2011 2 p.m.

    You mean to say this is a better last hurrah than Halo Reach? Anyways, I know I will borrow this, but I'm not sure I'll buy it. If the multiplayer feels even remotely like the last two, I will hate it until the day I die since Gears multiplayer is my least favorite multiplayer in the galaxy. However, if I get into Horde mode enough I may buy it since it's my favorite in that type of mode. I'm excited to see how the story ends. You said it was too predictable, but an article showed that you predicted that humanity was evil and the locust were good, so maybe that will still happen? I hope it does, but I doubt it.
  • Brelston64 - September 15, 2011 12:43 p.m.

    Hi Charlie! I totally read this review. Even hit F5 a few times for good measure.
  • GamesRadarCharlieBarratt - September 15, 2011 4:23 p.m.

    Hi... you! I'm sorry, what was your name again?
  • D0CCON - September 15, 2011 6:54 p.m.

    Are you official or is this a cruel joke?
  • Lionzest7 - September 15, 2011 12:41 p.m.

    Review is great, played the beta, enjoyed it a ton. I think the campaign will be great for me, since I love everything gears (giant worms and wives included). Besides a few campaign hiccups you note very important things. I just wish you would've talked about more of the multiplayer modes besides 4p coop and horde/beast mode.
  • Jrymanz - September 15, 2011 12:21 p.m.

    I own only a PS3, I used to have an Xbox 360. I can easily say Gears is a much better game than Resistance. I almost want to buy another 360 just to get it.
  • Plan10FromOuterSpace - September 15, 2011 11:51 a.m.

    Carmine gets a badass moment, oh now I want this game...ive always been rooting for the little guy! Im a tad worried about the overuse of giant big boss fights however, if it throws them at you all the time I hope they dont become repetitive and also my favorite part of gears is the simple but awesome cover based combat, pulling head-shots on locusts makes me feel awesome. Its just a pacing issue though so im hoping it wont be a problem.
  • Tazerbri - September 15, 2011 11:29 a.m.

    No 10/10? Sigh, Charlie you have learned nothing from the past... On a serious note, I really need to play Gears....
  • kor2disturbed - September 15, 2011 10:53 a.m.

    I can't freaking wait I'm going to go to gamestop, pick it up, cry, then pray and thank God that Epic games exists
  • SuperNintendoChalmers - September 15, 2011 10:12 a.m.

    This is only $40 in the US if you preorder with Amazon's $20 preorder bonus. Thanks Epic for releasing the reviews early enough that I can safely commit and get the game for 2/3 of what it normally is.
  • fadedlinevigil - September 15, 2011 9:29 a.m.

    The second line in the whole review clearly states 'The campaign is epic...'. Then the headline on the second page, citing problems with the game is called 'A Not So Epic Campaign'...? Pretty much everything on page 2 contradicts everything on page 1. Another example of the just plain sloppy, juvenile writing on this site - a glaring lack of focus and consistency.

Showing 21-40 of 89 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 20 2011 - Xbox 360 (US)
Sep 20 2011 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Epic Games
Franchise: Gears of War
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.