Google+

Final Fantasy XIV review

Back to Article

46 comments

  • gerberbabyfood - October 31, 2010 2:19 a.m.

    I knew this would suck, especially at release.
  • sheldon1979 - October 28, 2010 6:49 a.m.

    what happened after final fantasy 7 they totally started suckn after that one
  • TheCakeIsaPie - December 6, 2011 3:41 p.m.

    Dude, FF IX was the highest-rated game of the series.
  • Aardvarkk - October 22, 2010 7:50 p.m.

    http://www.amazon.co.jp/gp/switch-language/product/B003UHVPDG/ref=dp_change_lang?ie=UTF8&language=en_J Here is how much the Japanese hate this game, by the amazon score.
  • Aletheon - October 21, 2010 2:24 p.m.

    I doubt the game is any less frustrating at the beginning that FFXI was....I think after years of WOW, people are just spoiled. Nobody wants to put in the work anymore. That being said, I wont be buying this game. As much as I enjoyed my painful 250 hours of their last online effort, I wouldn't want to experience it AGAIN!
  • grayguwapo - October 21, 2010 5:37 a.m.

    Like I said... Keep FF titles to offline gaming SE... learn from FFXI... *sigh* as much as FF has been my fave series (and game), FFXI and FFIV are a shame in the title line...
  • Raiden145 - October 21, 2010 4:37 a.m.

    HOw sad for SQUARE what happened to that ONCE a WELL PRAISED COmpany STill, I have Big Hopes for the PS3 version thnx for the delay they can now fix this VERY VERY terrible outcome
  • enlargedhousecats - October 21, 2010 4:14 a.m.

    anyone else notice the k.k. sliderderp in the second image. also I am dissapointed
  • Fenny12 - October 21, 2010 3:54 a.m.

    @Jedipimp0712 Yeah, except WoW has a good UI, non-convoluted goals, and is actually fun. But besides that, you're on the ball.
  • AnonymouZ - October 20, 2010 10:37 p.m.

    hahaha. i have no love for this game, even as an FF (square enix) lover, but... i thought gr didn't review mmo's either. like the dude at penny arcade mentioned, did you already do MOST of the quests? are you the highest level around? we can't just jump on the bandwagon of "lulul, it's so bad!" and make a review that tells us something we already know/heard about.
  • Jedipimp0712 - October 20, 2010 10:25 p.m.

    so, what i got from this article is that FFXIV is JUST like WoW, minus an auction house, but WAY better graphics. lol
  • Nodoudt - October 20, 2010 8:34 p.m.

    EYE-A-BEETUS!!! SAY IT RIGHT! >8\___/
  • slickninja - October 20, 2010 7:13 p.m.

    Hahahahahahahahahaha!!!!! I love it, a 4!!! Take that Squenix! How dare you insult us with that drivel you called Final Fantasy XIII and now you put out this garbage? The company execs were bitching about how an HD remake of FF7 would take years to make, wouldn't that be better than the CONSTANT GARBAGE thay keep putting out? Squenix is losing many MILLIONS with all these shitty titles and I'm so happy that this FF "installment" earned a 4!!! Maybe now they will learn that a FF7 remake would be the biggest selling game of the year! FINAL FANTASY IS DEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Scoob - October 20, 2010 4:04 p.m.

    @pr0tostar: The problems with western reviewers on this game have nothing to do with difficulty, or challenge. The three reviews I have read so far (this one, 1up, and Gamespot) all echo the same thing: shitty UI, no direction, no AH, terrible controls. While making a game hard to play may make a game more difficult and challenging, the context is entirely different from the difficulty and challenge most of us actually look for in a game.
  • Modroneman - October 20, 2010 1:41 p.m.

    I'm surprised the game got such a low score. But I completely respect and back up everything in the review. Maybe in a few months this game can be great.
  • Syncmaster - October 20, 2010 1:09 p.m.

    glad its such a bomb. maybe now they wont waste another series number on a mmo.
  • OtakuDante1134 - October 20, 2010 1:09 p.m.

    It's a sad mess. It's seems gaming companies everywhere are cutting corners in games, and DLC content just to make a buck. Have they forgotten us gamers? The reasons they have a job to begin with?
  • Clovin64 - October 20, 2010 12:40 p.m.

    Hopefully reviews like this will finally convince Square to stop making god awful MMO's. They have wasted the numbers XI and XIV on online crap when they should just stick to bloody single player RPG's. I look forward to Square's single player efforts, like Versus XIII.
  • EnragedTortoise1 - October 20, 2010 12:02 p.m.

    Long story short: get working on FFV13 and FFA13. Or FF13-2. Or FF15-x-4OMGWTFBBQLOL.
  • Yaro - October 20, 2010 11:23 a.m.

    I was expecting no less. This only hardens my belief that Guild Wars 2 will be the ultimate MMORPG. For me at least.

Showing 1-20 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 22 2010 - PC (US)
Sep 22 2010 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Developed by: Square Enix
Franchise: Final Fantasy
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Animated Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
12+