Google+

Final Fantasy 14: A Realm Reborn review

Back to Article

24 comments

  • MajorDragoon1991 - January 22, 2014 8:40 a.m.

    I have been playing for almost a month and must admit that I am incredibly addicted. When I was a kid I loved playing MMO RPG'S. Then I got really bored because there wasn't anything that I liked. The thing I hated most was the lack of freedom in MMO RPG'S. Being able to select my class on the fly makes the greatest difference, and with so many ways to level I find myself always dragged into something even if that something isn't the most efficient way of leveling my character. I can see myself playing FFXIV RR for the next couple of years at least. Especially so if Square releases more classes and future content for other realms. That would be so nice.
  • Swedish_Chef - September 23, 2013 5:42 p.m.

    Final Fantasy a Review Rebound
  • Talvari - September 23, 2013 2:52 p.m.

    So glad that Yoshi-P and his team could save FF14 from disaster. Hopefully this review among many other reviews will show the people who hated on squeenix for doing this a thing or two >.>
  • RamenChimera - September 16, 2013 5:15 p.m.

    And suddenly, it's available for purchase again! Today is a grand day!
  • ~LanceR. - September 16, 2013 2:19 p.m.

    I didn't expect myself on liking this game, but I did. What a fun MMORPG. Very grindy, but the quests makes it less obvious. Some quests have a cool side-story. Can't wait for the final review.
  • RamenChimera - September 11, 2013 11:58 p.m.

    I've never even considered subscribing to a game before... But I don't think this will be going free to play. I hope I keep hearing it's worth it, because I desperately want to play. My only question, is the combat more akin to something like WoW or Guild Wars 2?
  • Xtapolapopotamus - September 12, 2013 7:55 a.m.

    It's worth it if you enjoy FF games and more "old school" MMO's. Combat is more like WoW's. There's some degree of movement (enemies telegraph their special attacks with an orange circle/square on the ground) but auto-attack and all that business. There's a ton of content, beautiful graphics, interesting story, all that good stuff. If nothing else, it's $30 on PC ($40 on PS3) and you get the 30 day trial to see if you enjoy it before subscribing. I've been having a blast, any issues people had with the launch due to busy servers or whatever is ancient history now. I'm on Excalibur, one of the busiest servers, and at most there's a few minute queue to get in on evenings.
  • RamenChimera - September 12, 2013 2:44 p.m.

    I might just have to try it out then. I've been a fan of every final fantasy since I was a kid, and to have it in MMO form like this.... I can't resist.
  • GR_LucasSullivan - September 6, 2013 4:46 p.m.

    I wish I could buy this game T.T
  • GOD - September 6, 2013 8:19 p.m.

    Why can't you?? Unless you're referring to the digital downloads if they're still not being sold... but you can still buy a physical copy as it's just an install disc with an access code, for PS3 anyways. Lucas, buy a disc for PS3, join the JP Ultima Server, and then you can always pay again later to get the PC copy as you can use your account with either game copy. And ha if only you'd joined a JP server like I did Ryan! I have my main class, Lancer, to 23 and then he's also a: 15 Arcanist, 14 Marauder, 8 Conjurer, 8 Archer, 7 Gladiator, 6 Pugilist, 6 Thaumaturge, 10 Fisher, and 6 Botanist. Of course even with experimenting with all the different classes I still haven't even touched Mining yet or any of the 8 Disciple of the Hand classes. Also leveling all those other classes wasn't for nothing as every 5 levels a class is allows it to use one more compatible skill from any other class, which is really cool Also getting the ability to dye the pieces of your outfit the way you want makes your character feel more like your own rather than just the strongest equipment you have slapped on. Also it's really nice that since there was server trouble for people during the first week everyone gets a free week added to their initial 30 days!
  • ObliqueZombie - August 29, 2013 6:12 a.m.

    Happy to see this review in progress! After playing many, many MMOs in my time, I'm incredibly happy and surprised with FFXIV. And I've never even played/beaten a FF game before! It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it's a solid MMO with some of the best graphics this side of gaming. Pretty good story, too.
  • Chuckstar6 - August 29, 2013 6:01 a.m.

    So, where on earth do you get the Mog Cap? I've entered the pre-order code and can see an email icon in the top right with a 2 next to it, which I assume means my pre-order bonuses. I cannot find a Moogle Mail anywhere in Limsa Limonsa. Now Level 5! Grrrrr..
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - August 29, 2013 7:56 a.m.

    Keep your eye on the lookout for the mail icon on the city map :D
  • ~LanceR. - August 28, 2013 9:16 p.m.

    Can't wait to see your opinion about the game; personally, I find this game pretty great for long-term MMORPG addiction. Definitely better than the crap vanilla FFXIV that was, thankfully, destroyed.
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - August 28, 2013 6:42 p.m.

    After being dumb enough to have picked up FF14 before reading up in detail about it, it'll take quite a bit of convincing before I consider trying this again. Looking forward to seeing what you think Adam.
  • A1rh3ad - September 1, 2013 12:09 p.m.

    If you bought the original the new one is free
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - September 1, 2013 12:26 p.m.

    Huh...does that include a free month as well? If so, I'll might have to try it.
  • A1rh3ad - September 3, 2013 10:09 a.m.

    Yeah it does. There are some login issues so when it says can't reach server or servers full just keep trying. The us/eu servers are going down for maintenance at 6pm est with a new patch that may fix the problem, so you won't get to play tonight. I really love it! They did such a good job on this one. It kinda sucks as an mmo but as a final fantasy game its tops.
  • TokenGamesRadarFurry - September 3, 2013 10:53 a.m.

    Yeah, just got the client installed and whatnot yesterday, but unable to actually create a character yet. Not off to a terribly good start, but will reserve judgement for when I can actually play the damned thing.

Showing 1-20 of 24 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Apr 14 2014 - PS4
Aug 27 2013 - PC, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4, PC, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Franchise: Final Fantasy
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Language, Sexual Themes, Use of Alcohol, Violence, Mild Blood

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.