Google+

Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 2 review

AT A GLANCE
  • Great classic anime style
  • Packed with options
  • Tons of enemies on screen
  • Mash attack button, repeat
  • 2D movement in space
  • Pointless options

We tried. We really, really tried to get to grips with the notion of these sorts of games being massively popular in Japan, where this one, Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 2, is called Gundam Musou 2 – loads sexier. It’s based on an anime series featuring androgynous pilots fighting each other and accidentally dying/falling in love/wearing sunglasses in space. In theory, it should be the best thing you’ll ever slip into your console. That theory was last seen trapped in a single plane of repetitive movement in deep space.

Stylistically then, Gundam 2 can’t fail to grab you. If you’ve ever watched classic ‘80s cartoons – this will appeal. Overblown mechs in space (and sometimes on arid planets), kicking one another right in the ball bearings, all presented in lovely clashing colours in a vision of space which lends a pleasant purple glow to everything.

If you play videogames – chances are the prospect of intergalactic war and mechs will be close to irresistible. Technically it’s no Metal Gear Solid 4 or Killzone 2, but it has its own charm. There’s no question it’s packed with options – or at least lots of submenus – but the actual gameplay, the bit that sees you pressing buttons (so, so many buttons), doesn’t change one bit.

There’s no subtlety to it. It’s not simply that you can rely on a single button to get you through the missions; it’s that it makes little difference when you press it, how you press it, or indeed why you press it. What generally happens is this: you jump into a smart space suit (unless you’re Char, who pilots his mech in what looks like Napoleonic uniform) then strap yourself into a smart mech and then jet out into the middle of a teeming mass of incredibly stupid enemy mechs and robots. The sheer quantity of them on screen at any one time is impressive. It’s as though you’re up against a futuristic Terracotta Army, for all the threat they possess as you calmly jet among them.

This means the plan of attack varies not a jot from mission to mission. You boost straight into the center of a cluster of enemies (the boost bar has been extended from the first game’s). Send enough of them flying to fill up your special move bar and then unleash a flurry of unholy metallic fury.

There are seven options in Mission mode, though if you can differentiate between each without being aware of its name you are obviously a greater Gundam aficionado than we are. Story mode lets you choose a single pilot and play through events in his story by mashing like a madman. The new Friendship mode works by, what else, smashing robots; while Free mode lets you swat as many mechs as you like, but it’s just more of the same - hammer attack buttons; repeat over and over.

Apr 21, 2009

More Info

Release date: Apr 21 2009 - Xbox 360, PS2, PS3 (US)
Apr 24 2009 - Xbox 360, PS2, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS2, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Koei
Developed by: Omega Force
Franchise: Dynasty Warriors
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Fantasy Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

9 comments

  • thwolf94 - April 23, 2009 6 p.m.

    Do not listen to this review at all because most of it is wrong. Why do you think koie keeps making these dynasty warriors games well i will tell you. Japan doesn't seem to hate theese games. I am sick and tired of people ripping a game apart just because it plays exactly like the other ones. Halo 2 and Halo 3 play exactly the same. I love halo but all you do is wait for the right time to shoot your gun and hold RT and to throw a granade hold LT and melle press B. Dynasty warriors is basicly the same thing. To do a basic attack wait for the right time to push square and to combo push s,s,triangle or s,t,s,t or s,s,s,s,t and to do a special musao attack wait untill your guage fills up and push circle or you can do an air musao attack. Halo and dynasty warriors are both just as repetetive to me and everyone i know. I am a gundam fan and so is all of Japan so if your wondering why we love it. The reason is that critics and gamers in america are way too pickey and think a game hase to be PERFECT OR ELSE IT SUCKS. Me and Japan respect a game for what it is and enjoy them even if there not perfect. Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 deserves an 8 out of 10 mostly because its true to what dynasty warriors and gundam is. There are very little good gundam games out there and DWG2 is one of the good ones. If you want a gundam game I suggest you either get this one or Gundam Encounters In Space. =(8/10)=
  • Jbo87 - April 23, 2009 1:45 a.m.

    It may be for D.W. fans but the biggest issue is that the whole series hasn't changed since the first game on the PS2. It was wank then and however many years down the line nothing's changed, it's still very wank. A Darwinian approach would be fitting here, 'evolve or die' that sort of thing, but then again Miss Croft always seems to get away with it so why shouldn't Dynasty Warriors try?
  • Madnus - April 22, 2009 7:18 p.m.

    The game is named Dynasty warriors gundam 2, what else u will expect? This review is (at best) full of prejudice.- Obiusly, this is a game for D.W. fans and maeby for gundam fans, so a 4 is.... yust not right.-
  • Defguru7777 - April 22, 2009 3:04 a.m.

    I love Mobile Suit Gundam 00. Not this.
  • KaylaKaze - April 22, 2009 1:28 a.m.

    OMG! It sounds just like... DYNASTY WARRIORS! WTF di you expect!?
  • strikeIII - May 4, 2009 1:40 p.m.

    well, i don't know about you guys but i love this game, ok yes it is button bashing but i think destroying thousands of foes is fun....
  • Japanjack - April 23, 2009 5:26 a.m.

    I don't believe anyone commenting here has played the game... Well, don't get me wrong, I play good video games; Dynasty Warriors is not something you would normally put in this category. This one definitely has MANY changes. I feel that this review was unjust; perhaps the game is meant for fans on Gundam, but this game is good because of its sheer value. There is so much stuff packed into this game. Obviously it's not like it deserves near a 10, but a 4?? Perhaps a 5 or 6, honestly. Play the game into mission mode, that is fun.
  • Kattleox - April 22, 2009 4:44 a.m.

    Honestly, I would have been floored if it got better than a six. I find it hard to hate Dynasty Warriors, though. It just doesn't try: what it COULD be is like Devil May Cry or God of War, but it doesn't care, making it the peak of mediocrity.
  • jar-head - April 22, 2009 12:32 a.m.

    Gundan wing, the original show was badass, this is just crap. give me Mechwarrior

Showing 1-9 of 9 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000