Google+

Dynasty Warriors 6 Empires review

Mediocre
Shares
AT A GLANCE
  • New enemies include tigers and rabid wolves
  • Create an Officer mode
  • Strategy on top of action
  • No online play
  • Not much new on top of DW6
  • Another footnote in the creatively bankrupt series

Dynasty Warriors Empires 6 is a tactical add-on for the long running beat-‘em-up series. If you already own DW6, you won’t be getting a great deal of new content here, so don’t bother. There are just a small handful of extra characters from the Nanman kingdom, and the new maps are so blocky-looking that it’s almost as if technology has stood still for the past five years.

Don’t expect any significant steps forward. If this game proves anything, it’s that Koei can design slicker and more obtuse menu screens every year. At the core of the experience is a turn-based system where you spend time upgrading your character and choosing particular strategies before going back into battle. 

It’s more of an RPG than an out and out strategy game. There are some limited resource-management options, such as hiring troops and unlocking special tactics cards that affect your forces on the battlefield. It’s also possible to spend absolutely loads of time upgrading your character and buying new special weapons. There are five scenarios in total, and each one divvies-up a large map of China in accordance with which of the military leaders was dominating at the time. How tough your task is, usually depends on which allegiance you pick, and it’s a nice touch that you’re free to defect once you’ve reached a certain level of fame.

Another original feature is that your character choice has a significant impact on the decision-making element. Picking a lowly warrior or vagrant class means that you won’t have any say in where the next battle takes place, or on the tactics used. However, as you rise through the ranks and prove your ability, it’s possible to veto decisions made by the ruling class. Alternatively, you can pick a character from the officer class to start with, and dive straight in to the decision-making.

The new Create-An-Officer mode is a fun feature, but the costume choices feel limited. It’s as if it’s been left incomplete so that more DLC can be added later on. Empires tries hard to disguise the fact it’s just another dated beat-‘em-up. However, it’s not much of an improvement on any of the other games in the series. The strategic elements are engaging for a while, but they don’t go deep enough. Bit of a shame.

Jun 23, 2009

More Info

Release date: Jun 23 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Jun 26 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Strategy
Published by: Koei
Developed by: Omega Force
Franchise: Dynasty Warriors
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Violence
PEGI Rating:
16+

We Recommend

7 comments

  • CaseD - December 7, 2009 10:28 a.m.

    I find Dynasty Warriors to always be good myself, each one barely advances on the last but despite that I just don't care.... They are the type of game you can just play without really thinking, hacking your way mindlessly through entire armies. Empires adds to much, can't be doing with the thinking, it goes against what's good about DW.
  • iHideAndSeek - July 5, 2009 9:57 p.m.

    Wow I've played this and it's not an improvement yes though it is fun for a while til your about halfway through the game and kill almoast everything on in one hit... another thing is... You gave Guitar Hero Greatest Hits a 6 and this a 5? This game at least has some variation in game modes and other things your allowed to do... but That game is just old games with a new look and a knockoff of the rockband knockoff it's horrible... But thanks for showing that a rating system is quite flawed and also proving not everyone is going to be happy with the results... Come on Koei you got me hooked now stop making me waste my time and money on games that aren't breaking into new territory...
  • CapnCrotchPunch - June 24, 2009 6:17 p.m.

    I've seen too many dynasty warrior games, there all the exact same!!!!!
  • Pumbli - June 24, 2009 12:04 p.m.

    this game* sorry
  • Pumbli - June 24, 2009 12:03 p.m.

    Woohoo! That's all I needed, Thanks GR! So getting this games next month. Man I love the Dynasty Warriors series.
  • Gigasonic121 - June 27, 2009 9:22 p.m.

    Right i dont mean to be a critic of critics but what else have you left out, Maybe the amount of on screen enemies that appear at one time, the amount of enemies that you can kill AT ONCE, the customisesation of any character for instance, you could be a small fat girl with meng huos weapon (You might not know who he is beacause you spent so much time hating this game) I dont care what you have to say to me, but yeh this game series doesnt change but theat is because its a SERIES. Thats why it is called a series, it doesnt change, only has minor tweaks. For instance take FPS Call of duty, all the same, set in different times occasionally, but its all the same, Halo ALL the same RTS All the same So if you want to keep complaining about no changes. TALK TO THE BLOODY COMPANY.
  • Corsair89 - June 24, 2009 6:35 p.m.

    It just won't die!

Showing 1-7 of 7 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.