Google+

Duke Nukem Forever review

Back to Article

109 comments

  • Zeb364 - June 15, 2011 5:32 p.m.

    I was afraid of this, especially after playing the demo.
  • metalgatesolid - June 15, 2011 5:20 p.m.

    Does anyone actually care if it scoring low? Duke is No 1 in the charts (at time of typing) which says alot for his staying power. I can look beyond the faults and enjoy the world of Duke Nukem
  • Chaoscoolperson - June 15, 2011 2:50 p.m.

    I hope that if they make a sequel it wont take long, it will be playable, and it will be distinguishable from other shooters. I may have never played a duke game, or even cared about this one until it started being covered in magazines, but i still wanted to play it. This review has made me change my mind.
  • Lionzest7 - June 15, 2011 2:49 p.m.

    LOL @ people not cancelling their preorder over every critic saying this game is shite. You army of zealots. Even worse if you actually spent 100$ of the balls of steel edition.
  • HumorTumor - June 15, 2011 2:35 p.m.

    I bought it, and so far am really enjoying it. It's an older style game, problem is we have to consider it against modern games. Ten years ago this review might have been a bit different.
  • Imthedoctor - June 15, 2011 1:37 p.m.

    I'm not gonna lie..I expected this to happen lol
  • XoDuS - June 15, 2011 12:31 p.m.

    I'm actually glad this is over and done...dusted...scratch one, They can probably make a better Duke next time, Surprise us guys...go all out. Still buying it, its Duke...grow up playing Duke
  • DeathbyFira - June 15, 2011 7:16 a.m.

    Who gives a shit a 6 means it is still good lol i am picking it up lol
  • StuntzMcKenzy - June 15, 2011 6:34 a.m.

    Thats what I expected but this much nicer than other reviews I read such as a 3.
  • Coolicle122 - June 15, 2011 6:09 a.m.

    Now that's just killed my chances of buying it. I'll rent it. I hope it'll be fun despite what this review has shown me.
  • ElGrinchoid - June 15, 2011 4:39 a.m.

    A 6? You're having a laugh. This is an unmitigated disaster of a release. You've been so over the top kind to it in this review to give it a 6. I get it, i get the nostalgia behind the franchise and the seeming desperate need to endorse a game that's this pathetically shallow. But Duke was entertaining 12 years ago. Now he's like a dirty old man hanging around the playground during break offering the kids sweets. It's beyond graphically poor, it looks and feels like a shit release on the ps2 7 years ago. "I'm getting it for the tits" Brilliant, are you really? You'd be better served to go and buy a hustler or readers wives from the offy, because the tits in this are shite. At least dead or alive bothered to really go for it and make the boobs the feature of the game so horny 13 year olds would bug their parents into buying it. This couldn't even be arsed to do that. The mechanics of the game are really quite average, and that's the very best praise i can sum up for it. To sum it up, this game is bollocks. It's not been even remotely worth the wait and is a massive waste of the developers cash and time. I wanted to like this game, i really really did. I have fond memories of Duke back when i was younger, even if it wasn't the best game around. But this is beyond dire, beyond aweful and really is one of the worst games i've ever played. Should have been no more than a 2 for this game, and that's being generous.
  • MrPips - June 15, 2011 2:46 a.m.

    Play the fucking PC version you console pussies! It where the series started, it's where it belongs, it's where it runs the best. Don't bitch about load times on your shitty console.
  • jonlias - June 15, 2011 1:18 a.m.

    Multi Player is kinda fun
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - June 15, 2011 12:28 a.m.

    I must say, this makes me really sad. I kind of expected it to be a 5 or a 6, but I was just hoping that the King would make it a 10.
  • TwilightBlaze - June 15, 2011 12:07 a.m.

    How come you guys haven't reviewed Infamous 2 yet? Get on it.
  • Ulricmag - June 14, 2011 11:28 p.m.

    Well there's your problem, you reviewed it on the 360. Being on it's home, the PC, i'm sure the fans will release some "updates" :) I'm liken it anyways.
  • Limbo - June 14, 2011 11:21 p.m.

    The blurry or slow to load textures remind me of Borderlands, they were all over the place in that game. But that game is actually good. Never played a Duke game and don't intend to. I'm sure it was great in its day, but now it's all downhill.
  • Paynekiller87 - June 14, 2011 10:33 p.m.

    I finished it this morning, and yes, it isn't a phenomenal game in any way. But it is a bit of silly fun to get through the summer drought of games. Also, according to a timeline in-game, Triptych finished the single-player content in 2009. So that might explain some of the out-dated references.
  • Oujisama - June 14, 2011 10:06 p.m.

    Everyone should have seen this coming. Duke Nukem had its time, but now its "style" is just immature, stupid, and completely dated. This game would have been sub-par at best if it had come out 10 years ago when it was supposed to, but now it doesn't even get to be half-decent. Like people have said, too little too late.
  • QWERTYCommander - June 14, 2011 9:51 p.m.

    This... is a sad ending.

Showing 21-40 of 109 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 14 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Jun 10 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: 3D Realms, Gearbox
Franchise: Duke Nukem
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+