Google+

Dragon Age: Inquisition review

Back to Article

27 comments

  • Rhymenocerous - November 11, 2014 3:34 a.m.

    This is where I'm at: Inquisition sounds awesome in this review (and others). However, I never got round to finishing Origins because (SPOILERS!) Flemeth kept kicking my ass, and I refuse to lower difficulty settings. I have, however, done about 80 hours worth of the game, and made significant decisions. I have not touched DA2, and doubt I ever will. How would all these (PS3) unfinished Origins decisions be transferred to Inquisition on PS4? And will I miss out on story elements since I haven't played DA2? Muchos gracias.
  • normanpleasant - November 11, 2014 4:39 a.m.

    Apparently, Origins decisions aren't factored into Inquisition in any way, only DA2 ones.
  • winner2 - November 11, 2014 5:26 a.m.

    is that true? If it is...disappointing would be an understatement. I'm really starting to think this is going to be a 30$ game for me. I mean how are they able to ignore the thing with Morrigan at the end of origins if she's clearly in inquisition? I would think that's important enough to give some closure on.
  • normanpleasant - November 11, 2014 5:57 a.m.

    Well I'm only going on rumour but the whole Keep thing seems to be the way to go. All that said, if Mass Effect was anything to go by I wouldn't get my hopes up of choices mattering too much anyway.
  • GR_AndyHartup - November 11, 2014 6:39 a.m.

    Just putting it out there... I really enjoyed Dragon Age 2. Yeah, it's linear, but the combat is more accessible, and I'm fond of the characters. I'm aware some don't like it, obviously. Plus, I'm a console player, and that game was designed for the console audience.
  • normanpleasant - November 11, 2014 7:30 a.m.

    Well Andy, call me a disgruntled old goat, or preferably bull (no, stallion), but while I too enjoyed DA2 on release, overlooking its flaws in the face of a reasonably well-penned story and cast of characters, those returns have been diminishing. A recent play through made me realise how it's the first BW game I've ever played that has become an actual chore to play - the repeated maps, the forced and unnatural 'dialogue quests', the drop-in enemy encounters - they're all things that were niggles to begin with but now really show how rushed the game was, no matter which platform you play it on (360 for both previous entries, in my case). Compare that to Origins, where I've still got a beginning I haven't played yet, companions I've yet to brutally kill off and hundreds of hours under my belt, and DA2's corner is a bit hard to fight - hence the acknowledgement in most of these Inquisition reviews, that we need to put the second game behind us and move on. Thankfully, this looks like a return to form, at least on the surface but as Mr Winner2 says, people are going to be a bit more cautious going in - and rightly so.
  • GR_AndyHartup - November 11, 2014 7:36 a.m.

    Yeah, I agree with most of your points. I do think there are good things to take from DA2, and that it is (or maybe 'was' - haven't played it for a couple of years) enjoyable for me. Inquisition hits that sweet-spot between the two. Caution is always wise, especially when you're spending £40 on a game. However, everyone I've spoken to about DA3 seems pretty aligned on how good (but not perfect) it is. I'll be picking it up for sure, but maybe closer to Christmas when I have more time to play.
  • normanpleasant - November 11, 2014 7:41 a.m.

    Yeah, certainly looks worth a play no matter the price tag. Now to lay down the tarp and break out the Dettol while I use Origin. Shudder.
  • antiAntag0nist - November 11, 2014 5:02 a.m.

    You should check out Dragon Age Keep. The site lets you make all the major decisions in both Origins and DA 2, and transfer your choices to Inquisition. You need an Origin account to keep track of everything, so I guess you would have to log in with that account when playing Inquisition to bring in your choices. Also, if you are intent on not playing DA 2, I would recommend checking out a wiki for a synopsis of the plot and characters. It obviously won't provide the same experience as playing the game, but it should be a good primer for you. Also also, your conviction is much stronger than mine because I turned the difficulty down after a couple hours of playing Origins for the first time. It was a liberating experience, allowing me to play through the game and take in the awesome world Bioware created.
  • Rhymenocerous - November 11, 2014 8:37 a.m.

    Ya know, it's always bugged me that I never finished Origins. I think I may have to go back to it, tone down the difficulty a little, and just soak in the rest of the story and world, ready for Inquisition (whenever I get round to buying it).
  • Finalbout662 - November 11, 2014 5:14 a.m.

    Bioware is doing something new with that...their doing a browser based graphic novel like slideshow called dragon age keep, they have a website where u can sign up. It allows u to completely redo the story from dragon age origins and dragon age 2 in anyway, and port ur save profile to inquistion, whether ur using last gen ,next gen, or pc....hope this helps!
  • Rhymenocerous - November 11, 2014 8:34 a.m.

    Hmm... Sounds similar to what they did for PS3 players of Mass Effect 2 (when the original wasn't yet released). Thanks for the info buddy.

Showing 21-27 of 27 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 18 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC, PS4, Xbox One (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC, PS4, Xbox One
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
Franchise: Dragon Age
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Sexual Content