Google+

Dr. Daisy Pet Vet review

It Boots Up
AT A GLANCE
  • Just like Rootbeer Tapper!
  • Doesn't cost a whole lot
  • Sure is cute!
  • Teaches children lies
  • Cynically lacking in value
  • Equates casual with awful

Have you played Rootbeer Tapper? Did you like Rootbeer Tapper? Good! Go play it. It’s the same basic time-management game as this vague take on the theme, only it’s more exciting, and you can probably find it for about 7 bucks cheaper. As Dr. Daisy, you must move pets from the registration desk to the examination table, check them and then administer treatment. Occasionally you will also find yourself having to use extra equipment, such as the X-ray machine or the coffee maker. The latter speeds Daisy up, teaching children that caffeine is a wonderful way to meet targets and enhance performance.


 
The key to “combos” is constantly having a stream of animals being registered, examined or treated, and then treating them before they get sad and disappear, teaching children that death doesn’t exist. Endure this mediocrity for long enough, and you’ll get enough points to continue. Or you could stick around and get good enough to shoot for the expert rating, which earns you a high pile of nothing. While there are a few levels that spin out the carpal tunnel symphony that is Pet Vet, they’re just vague elaborations of clicking in slowly but surely less convenient spots. This is basically a Flash game you’re paying 7 bucks for. Casual gaming can be good. This, however, is a symptom of the flood of low-quality but probably profitable shit that’s turning Steam into a spinning rack in Wal-mart.
 
Oct 15, 2008

More Info

Release date: Sep 17 2008 - PC (US)
Sep 17 2008 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PC
Genre: Arcade
Published by: Fenomen Games
Developed by: Fenomen Games

We Recommend By ZergNet

9 comments

  • narutofreak1 - December 13, 2009 3:25 p.m.

    @blingmaster2193: that is only too true...
  • Kingpin - November 1, 2008 12:24 p.m.

    The depressing thing is that you can play games better than this for free
  • JH1ZZY94 - October 16, 2008 11:04 p.m.

    yeah, this is the first 1 rated game ive seen in a while
  • flare149 - October 16, 2008 2:36 a.m.

    wow I don't think I've ever seen a game het a 1 before...
  • blingmaster2193 - October 16, 2008 2:25 a.m.

    I feel sorry for the people who must review games like this. Just playing them at all seems cruel.
  • FriendlyFire - October 16, 2008 1:17 a.m.

    LOL A friend of mine actually played a nearly carbon copy of that game! You were a house cleaner and had to keep up with the pace at which the house's inhabitants wrecked the place, with coffee to speed you up... Even the little clock was exactly the same. ... After two minutes, I was staring blankly at my friend wondering how he could find enjoyment into such thing. Granted, we were in the middle of an excruciatingly painful Excel course.
  • King Rupert6 - November 24, 2008 4:24 a.m.

    wow, what a sad game reminds me of diner dash
  • GoldenMe - October 16, 2008 11:36 p.m.

    If I remember right, the last time GR gave a 1/10 review was Yaris, even though that was free.....
  • Samael - October 16, 2008 1:12 a.m.

    Ahh, I love reading reviews of horrible games. They're always hilarious.

Showing 1-9 of 9 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.