Google+

Donkey Kong Country Returns review

AT A GLANCE
  • Active world full of stuff to see and do
  • Great fan service via music and level design
  • Several standout levels, 2D at its finest
  • Countless unfair deaths
  • Boss battles can be really repetitive
  • Wii waggle is a huge pain

The original Donkey Kong Country came around just as the Super NES was beginning to show its age, and through clever graphical trickery, it was able to make 16-bit technology seem more advanced and exciting than it actually was. The hoopla surrounding DKC’s release led to eight million copies sold worldwide, and a string of sequels that raked in crazy numbers for several years afterward. In other words, Donkey Kong Country was a pretty big deal for Nintendo.


Above: And who could forget the 12-minute VHS tape shipped to Nintendo Power subscribers?

But since the early 2000s, Donkey Kong hasn’t mattered much. It’s been nothing but Mario cameos and weird spin-offs like Konga and King of Swing, leading many of us to wonder if we’d ever see a return to the bounce-heavy, bonus room-filled splendor of the game that kick-started DK’s career. We’re happy to say after years of waiting, DKC Returns ticks most of the boxes you’d expect and stands as a strong, recommendable lesson in classic game design – with a few issues that irked us enough to take notice.


Above: Easy you two, you’re in a mostly great game

Before we go into what doesn’t work, let’s start with what developer Retro Studios (known for Metroid Prime) got right. First off, the general formula of a solid side-scroller is intact, complete with themed worlds, demanding jumps and pattern-based, increasingly challenging boss battles. Unlike Epic Yarn, which made it impossible to die, DKCR really makes you work for each level and will tax even the most skilled SNES-era gamers.

But we expect that. If you’re going to make a new DK side-scroller, it better get the side-scrolling part down pat. It’s the attention to detail that Retro brings from its work on Metroid Prime that really sells the experience – trees sway in the breeze, birds hurriedly flap away from loud noises, chunks of the level crack and shift as you run by… it all makes for a thoroughly vibrant world, much more fetching than the lifeless CG backgrounds of the SNES games.


Above: Lots going on, lots to look at, lots to avoid

It’s not just for show though. Every level has multiple ways to interact with the foreground and background, be it pounding the ground to fire a canon, blowing petals off flowers to reveal health or smashing crumbly towers down with Rambi the Rhino. With all the aforementioned vibrancy plus all these ways to alter the environment, DKC Returns does an excellent job of keeping things interesting, even though you’re technically just moving to the right. It also plays with your expectations every few levels, switching things up so you never quite have a chance to get bored with the presentation.


Above: The sun-soaked beach level has a distinct look – plus those scurrying ants are another example of Retro’s attention to small details


Above: Later you’ll see a very Limbo-like level, with stark machinery and smoky air


Above: This beach level sends waves crashing down your throat, which can only be avoided by hiding behind these rock formations


Above: There are rocket-powered levels that require constant acceleration/deceleration, and are full of one-hit-kills


Above: Here you’ll scream across the ocean on top of a whale, as the classic Aquatic Ambiance track plays. A bit too hectic of a level for that song, but it’s a nice inclusion


Above: As with prior DKC games, there are tons of hidden bonus rooms to find in each level. They tend to repeat, though


Above: The camera zooms in and out a lot too. This camera pulls out the farther away you get from the worm boss

With such visual diversity between the levels and all that swanky stuff going on in the environment, plus the expected intense platforming, what’s not to like? Do we sound like giant babies if we say the game is actually too hard? We’ll explain why on the next page.

More Info

Release date: Nov 21 2010 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Retro Studios
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence

62 comments

  • Darkhawk - February 26, 2012 3:45 p.m.

    100% agreed. Trial-and-error side-scrolling is for Contra, not Donkey Kong. Some of the mine cart and rocket blast levels will eat up dozens of lives per checkpoint, solely because you don't know what is coming up next until it's been memorised. Epic Yarn is also easily my favourite co-op game in recent memory, and its charm (and collectathon, I should add) are far better than DKCR. That said, when DKCR is good, it's unbelievably brilliant.
  • WreckedReviews - April 16, 2011 5:02 p.m.

    Hey, I wrote a review for this one a while back over at Wrecked Reviews, a new entertainment site written by regular guys like you! Check out the DK article here: http://wreckedreviews.com/2011/01/17/dkcr/
  • Danielspeaks - March 9, 2011 8:33 p.m.

    I really like this game, even though there are a few things I think they could have done a better job on, especially the controls. I loved the original Donkey Kong Country games, they were easy to control, and had a very "real" feel to them from the graphics (which were pretty good for that game system, anyway). The tradition has continued in this game, the graphics are really amazing, and even interact with you now and then (like the famous "wave" level). It took me a while to get used to the controls for this game, especially the rolling, I kept instinctively pressing the run/grab button to try to roll, and sometimes I would roll and overshoot what I was trying to jump to. Once you get used to the controls and decide on a few things not to do (example: rolling, lol) the game gets easier. It has great replay value, the secrets of the levels are generally tied in to puzzle pieces, which you can collect to unlock extra galleries from the main menu. My favorites are the dioramas, where you can rotate and zoom around a model based on scenes from the game. It's another neat way to get a good look at the graphics in the game. I have a project to go through the levels in the game and create a detailed walkthrough for finding all of the puzzle pieces and KONG letters, it's still a work in progress, but someone might find it useful. http://www.brighthub.com/video-games/wii/articles/97966.aspx This game is great, and it's still one of my favorites, but it could have been even greater if they had fine-tuned the controls further. Hopefully if they ever make another Donkey Kong Country, they'll take that into consideration more than they did this time.
  • shadowboy8456 - December 27, 2010 2:29 a.m.

    one itty bitty little thing i find wrong WHY ISINT THIS GAME COMPATIBLE WITH THE CLASSIC CONTROLLER
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - December 3, 2010 2 a.m.

    Still amazed that people think I'm too used to "easy" games of today. Shall we talk about the NES and SNES for a while?
  • foxyexplosion - November 26, 2010 9:01 a.m.

    Im really disappointed they kept the waggle and deny the classic controller. Its a bad move to force controllers I hate and refuse to use on us. i agree with the score for the most part and the whole comment about a super guide seems wrong, im not sure what it is but if its a guide saying how to beat the game why should i even play. To simply go through the motions? Though I must say the mine cart level seemed somewhat intuitive aside from the ball part. an 8's a good score though it does seem like you are currently feeling the results of forcing your way through a game, but there seem to be definite problems keeping it from a 10
  • GearsofRabies - November 24, 2010 11:30 p.m.

    "A rare case of retro at its prime" Jesus Brett, how long did it take for you to come up with this?
  • stonr_playr - November 23, 2010 6:09 p.m.

    i bought this game after renting it, and i love it! brings me back to wen i was 6 sittin in my room on a tiny little black n white 14" TV LOL i love it! its a great game! get into it and you will love it too!!
  • hester2 - November 23, 2010 1:28 p.m.

    Thank you, GamesRadar, for posting the video of the minecart level. I absolutely owned that level on the first try after watching the video.
  • TheElephantManchurianCandidate - November 22, 2010 10:09 a.m.

    I loved DKC so much my nostalgia wouldn't let me live it down if i didn't get ths game
  • YoshiAteMyBaby - November 22, 2010 6:19 a.m.

    Brett Elston & Gamesradar are biggest fails. This site can't be taken serious. Not never was. Only the funny articles they post, thats what Gamesradar is only good for. Professional reviews ? No way looking at there track record. Just kidding. 8 out of 10 is a solid score, and I'm finding it harder to postpone getting this game ASAP. It's unfortunate to hear about the difficulty with the motion controls, though.
  • Aletheon - November 22, 2010 5:02 a.m.

    The controls are PERFECT and the game is a PERFECT 10. End of story.
  • nomnom52 - November 22, 2010 2:10 a.m.

    OMG! New vid player! :'D (crying face) (of joy) As for the review, W/ever. I never played the original, so I doubt I'll be picking this one up.
  • ThePigHostage - November 22, 2010 12:59 a.m.

    This game looks amazing, but between AC Brotherhood and GT5, I won't have time to play it for a while. I'll definitely have to pick it up sometime though. I was a big fan of the original DKC games (and DK64, which never gets enough love).
  • AMCApril - November 21, 2010 7:33 p.m.

    does look like a good game from what I have seen
  • QWERTYCommander - November 21, 2010 5:03 a.m.

    I had to refresh the page 4 or 5 times for the new video player to work. Dunno why everyone is praising it.
  • TreeWhale - November 21, 2010 12:17 a.m.

    Holy crap its been a long time sense i have been on this site... so what the F*ck has happen to it. It's front page is a mess. Well good thing IGN looks better than this site. Its now going to be another year before i take a look at Gamesradar again.
  • Darkhawk - November 20, 2010 9:06 p.m.

    Reminder: Ghouls 'N Ghosts 'n Goblins did the running from waves level first!
  • NightCrawler_358 - November 20, 2010 3:32 p.m.

    Looks cool. I'd rather play Epic Yarn, but its too easy. Nintendo has some great sidescrollers, but they all have only 5-10 hours of gameplay before you beat it like NSMBW, this, Epic Yarn, WarioLand: some Waggle pun. So... i could always just rent it.
  • philipshaw - November 20, 2010 1:47 p.m.

    Great review Brett. From watching the quick look on giant bomb of this game, the score seems fair. I will definitely get this game but I think I will wait until Christmas to get it

Showing 1-20 of 62 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000