Google+

Dishonored review

Back to Article

60 comments

  • lawman2593733 - October 8, 2012 1:45 p.m.

    I saw 4 1/2 stars, and then I pre-ordered; one day before release. I feel great.
  • bebl09 - October 8, 2012 11:57 a.m.

    Lorenzo, could you give an indication of approximately how long the game lasts for? You mention that there's 9 missions but don't say how long they'll last you either individually or combined. Thanks in advance!
  • GR_LorenzoVeloria - October 8, 2012 1:42 p.m.

    If you go straight from point A to point B and avoid the side quests, you could probably finish most levels in a half hour or so. But doing the optional side quests and bone charm gathering can easily double or triple that.
  • Jacko415 - October 8, 2012 5:41 p.m.

    So are you saying that a straight ahead approach gives you a half hour long game? Or half hour long levels? Because if i can beat this whole game in half an hour then i'll pass on that $60 price tag...
  • GR_LorenzoVeloria - October 8, 2012 6:06 p.m.

    Levels. It took me an hour and a half to two hours per mission. Then there's second playthrough. It is not a short game. I'll try to stop being confusing now.
  • bebl09 - October 8, 2012 8:41 p.m.

    Nice! I also tend to take a lot longer than the minimum time that a lot of people seem to get. I usually explore every area of a level as I hate the thought of missing anything. I would have thought this would probably last me somewhere from 15-20 hours, if not more.
  • Fox_Mulder - October 8, 2012 11:40 a.m.

    As with all it's other similarities to Bioshock, this too was a game I knew would be incredible just from it's first trailer.
  • mbavalo - October 8, 2012 10:13 a.m.

    I wonder who at GR got the bright idea to change the */10 system for rating to stars.. not cool. Anyway with that said, can't wait to get my hands on the game!
  • Sebastian16 - October 8, 2012 11:59 a.m.

    Is doing the pre-K level math required to convert the stars to a #/10 too hard?
  • talleyXIV - October 8, 2012 2:41 p.m.

    They had the numbers system for like 6 years, it just kind of seems unnecessary and ever since they changed to it, it seems like everyone thing is getting the same score.
  • secher_nbiw - October 8, 2012 3:29 p.m.

    Clearly it's too hard for you.
  • mbavalo - October 9, 2012 12:34 p.m.

    Not really, the star system just does not give the feel of whether a game is that good or not, like if a game get's 3 stars, with a quick glimpse on this, I can still think of it as a 4/5 star game. And the star system is more of a grade school thing.. "you managed to spell 'convert', 2 stars for you!"
  • Jacko415 - October 8, 2012 5:55 p.m.

    I imagine that they went for the 5 star system because of the fanboy flame wars that start if a game they like gets rated an 8 or below, and or completely ignoring a game if it got a 7, WHICH MEANT ITS STILL STILL A PRETTY GOOD GAME. There's a necessary ambiguous-ness to the 5 stars system, so people can see ****- and see that its mostly good. 4/5 stars can be an 8 or a 9, which is apparently a HUGE difference to most people. Its still not a perfect system but its better than the old one IMO and helps quiet the whiners.
  • KnowYourPokemon - October 9, 2012 3:36 a.m.

    Honestly they should just do away with the numbers. Still make a short pros/cons list sure, but get rid of the number system so people can no longer complain about that much at least and actually have to read the review and make their own decision.
  • momshotdad - October 8, 2012 9:08 a.m.

    can't wait definitely getting this as soon as i'm done with borderlands i would rather have something new than assassin's creed 3 anyways.
  • KnowYourPokemon - October 8, 2012 8:36 a.m.

    This will definitely be the next game I pick up. Just picked up Pokemon Black 2 so not exactly ready to just go out and pick this up too. As for the ability wheel issue, all I can say is I'm glad the PC version has hot keys.
  • Bloodstorm - October 8, 2012 7:08 a.m.

    I clicked the link, and as it loaded, I chanted 'please be good, please be good, please be good' and it was! When I saw this game played at E3, I was hoping that it would be as good as it looks. I really want to play this, and now I'm certainly going to snag it whenever I can.
  • Bossco - October 8, 2012 6:07 a.m.

    My girlfriend isn't going to see much of me this month with this, Borderlands 2 and X Com
  • crazor89 - October 8, 2012 5:15 a.m.

    This looks really interesting but it's definitely third on my to-buy list with Hitman and ACIII coming out soon. Will probably leave til the post-Christmas sales or early next year.
  • Clovin64 - October 8, 2012 2:55 a.m.

    Oh man, I've already bought Resi 6 and Ass Creed 3 is coming out at the end of the month so I'm not sure I can afford to get this any time soon...

Showing 21-40 of 60 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 09 2012 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (US)
Oct 12 2012 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Bethesda Softworks
Developed by: Arkane Studios
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.