Google+

DiRT 3: Super Review

Back to Article

37 comments

  • kompressorlogik - May 20, 2011 7:53 p.m.

    Another great Towell review of a racing game. I played the shit out of Dirt 2 and I can't wait to dig into Dirt 3. Although it's not extensively covered here, the larger range of current and classic rally cars looks mighty appealing, as well as vehicle-specific challenges.
  • TheManTheMythTheCountryKerzikstan - May 20, 2011 7:22 p.m.

    I'm so excited. I just cant. Hide it.
  • Spybreak8 - May 20, 2011 5:56 p.m.

    Oh yes, the Top Gear bobsled race is in this game! No f'n way. I pre-ordered because I loved the first and second, this looks like they both had a baby as it looks like a little from both games here! Awesome
  • darkpigraph - May 20, 2011 4:42 p.m.

    oh yay... i agree with a couple of people that Dirt 2's presentation tried a bit too hard. Either way, dead keen on this. Any noteworthy things in terms of how the different versions compare? I have it pre-ordered for PC but for some irrational reason would rather play it on PS3.
  • TheIronMaiden - May 20, 2011 4:32 p.m.

    Awesome glad to see this game did well. Now if Forza were to add a rally sector....and happened to do a good job...: )
  • TFUPrivateIron - May 20, 2011 3:59 p.m.

    @HaVoK308: Uhh, that's called an opinion, and I fail to see how it's different from anything else that was said in the review.
  • MidianGTX - May 20, 2011 3:38 p.m.

    Yeees! Finally that cheesy, tacky, cheap menu system is gone! They didn't have to take the sun out of the sky, admittedly it does seem like they're desperately shot in the opposite direction, but I'm so glad the main menu isn't trying to convince me the game is "cool" and "totally street, duuuude" anymore. Just give me a pretty looking menu that's quick and easy to navigate and I'm sold. I hadn't even thought about the possbility of split-screen but damn, I'm looking forward to it now. YouTube uploads = awesome, real trees = awesome, ground deformation = awesome... this is gonna be a 9 or 10 or me personally. I agree with the comment about the DiRT 2 tracks though, they were pretty good and would add a bunch of variety, the engine can't have changed -too- much so why not throw them in? And if they don't fit on disc, screw the 360 and put 'em on the PS3 version instead. 360 owners could get it as DLC or something.
  • CharlieFockstrot - May 20, 2011 3:16 p.m.

    So barely a mention of online multiplayer, and only two diggs at gt5. great stuff. Can you edit replays before uploading?
  • GunsForShow - May 20, 2011 2:12 p.m.

    I only stumbled on Dirt 2 recently, having spent a long time away from racing games, and it's absolutely stellar. Will definitely pick this up when LA Noire is done.
  • bilstar - May 20, 2011 2:05 p.m.

    Thanks for mentioning and especially showing a video of the 2-player mode. That's important for me, nowadays it seems that split-screen modes in racing games can vary so much game to game. Dirt 3 looks amazing.
  • Dared00 - May 20, 2011 2:01 p.m.

    So basically, only things you hated in DiRT 3 (according to the box thingy) are the things that were in series since CMR2: simple, sterile menus and more "proffesional" atmosphere. So it's basically 10/10 for me, because i LOVED CMR2.
  • Eaxis - May 20, 2011 1:55 p.m.

    I've been to Lillehammer where the bobsleigh track is since I live in Norway. Can't wait to try it out. I recommend to watch the Top Gear race where Hammond is in a bobsled racing against a rally car. This looks great, and i'm all rallied up to give it a spin.
  • ZeroSHEARER - May 20, 2011 1:36 p.m.

    So when someone says in a preview that we will let you know how it plays with a wheel in the full review i know now that this is not the case absolutely no mention of the game running using a wheel. Would be nice to be informed now as i have a driving force gt and wheelstand pro currently only used for GT5 which somehow i absolutely love and no1 else seems to :s
  • Imgema - May 20, 2011 1:33 p.m.

    The one thing i hate about this series mostly (and many other modern racing games i guess) is the lighting. There's too much orange and they look very dark quite often. When i choose to race in sunlight, in a clear day, i prefer a bright blue sky, with some white clouds. You know, like the real thing. In Dirt games sometimes i get the impression that i'm racing on Mars. This wasn't an issue with older Colin Mcray games (such as Colin Mcray 2005) or most racing games in general. Is the orange filter cool nowdays or something?
  • ProphetZarquon - May 20, 2011 1:24 p.m.

    Awesome review, can't wait to pick up the game next week. I completely agree with you on the Dirt 2 menus, the music wasn't my normal choice but the atmosphere that came with it managed to get you excited before the race even began!
  • HaVoK308 - May 20, 2011 1:14 p.m.

    You'll hate: Grittier, muddier look is less fun. ? Speak for yourself.
  • Dave3087 - May 20, 2011 1:08 p.m.

    Awesome I loved dirt 1 and 2

Showing 21-37 of 37 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 24 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
May 24 2011 - PC, Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Racing
Published by: Codemasters
Developed by: Codemasters
Franchise: Colin McRae
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Lyrics
PEGI Rating:
12+