Google+

Colin McRae DiRT 2: Super Review

AT A GLANCE
  • Incredible attention to detail
  • Presentation is second to none
  • It's like GRID only off-road
  • Going back to the trailer. Again.
  • Some events are less fun than others
  • No split-screen multiplayer

This doesn't happen very often in videogames. Usually, you'll get a single great franchise from one racing stable, like Sony's Gran Turismo. Less often, you'll get one developer creating several great racing game franchises such as Sega's arcade gems Daytona, Sega Rally and OutRun. But this is something different. Codemasters has taken its two most beloved motorsport brands, fused them together in all but name and created... a dirty great monster:


How Colin McRae and Race Driver became DiRT 2

 

What you've got here is essentially Race Driver GRID torn from the tarmac and thrust into an ultra-competitive off-road environment. This is a Very Good Thing because not only is GRID one of the best-looking games ever made, it's also one of the most enjoyable racers we've ever played.

Picking up where McRae left off, the new 'names' and much of the inspiration behind Dirt 2 are flamboyant thrill-drivers like Ken Block and Dave Mirra. The influence of these extreme drivers on the ethos of the game has resulted in a massive leap over the original DiRT, which now looks tame by comparison.

It's a natural progression of the series that reflects the late Colin McRae's real-life career which had been moving away from familiar point-to-point stages of the WRC and taking in more spectacular off-road disciplines like the Race of Champions and Paris-Dakar Rally. We've put together a video to show how effectively the game embraces the dynamics of modern motorsport (and tried to do some Ken Block manoeuvres on the way).





So the X-Games and international glory are your goals in this exciting new world - stadium-based scrambles by day or night in London or Los Angeles, eight car landrush stages through Malaysian jungles or dusty races through Baja sandbowls. The emphasis is on head-to-head human competition rather than beating a pulseless clock, fuelled by the voices of your competitors flicking you a verbal bird as they go by.

The game starts you off with a few races and a smattering of vehicles to choose from, gradually unlocking stages and throwdown challenges as you progress, until you're competing in the X-Games, World Tour events and eventually a special race series against Colin's family and friends.

Events are accessed via an inventive front end 'hub' - an impressively-rendered and authentically grease-caked motorhome, complete with a TV that shows real music videos. It's a shame the game forces you to come back to this trailer between races (a simple 'next event' option would have been welcome) as the pause for loading is long, though well masked with stats, freeze-frame photo transitions and information on your progress towards achievements.


Above: The view from your motorhome, not exactly picturesque, but authentic

Front-ends? Menu screens? We know what you're thinking. This is all well and good, but what really makes this game so damn special? 

More Info

Release date: Sep 08 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, PC, DS, PSP (US)
Sep 11 2009 - PC, DS, PSP (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, PC, DS, PSP
Genre: Racing
Published by: Codemasters
Developed by: Sumo Digital, Codemasters
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Mild Lyrics
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

17 comments

  • GeNeRaL - October 5, 2009 12:28 p.m.

    i fucking love xgames , and i saw one one of the ads , and the cars were at xgames , and that is the moment i fell in love with this game , i cant wait for it to come out , and omg , is anyone more excited for mx vs atv : reflex or what GeNeRaL out ..............................
  • nschafer - September 6, 2009 4:41 p.m.

    Yeah, The Cribs!
  • Azra - September 4, 2009 4:29 p.m.

    Games radar reviews actually make me want to play a game and enjoy......not play a game and criticize flaws!! Kudos for great reviews, and hilarious articles!!
  • dahsif - September 4, 2009 3:29 p.m.

    Here's a prediction: After all these yearsin development, GT5 will look just as beautiful as this, and will be just as tedious to play as all GT games after GT1 (which is still the greatest racing game EVER, maybe even the best GAME ever).
  • MailMan - September 4, 2009 1:59 p.m.

    I NEED THIS Since i was blown away by Dirt, ive been praying for a new instalment which keeps the amazing detail and pace, but adds something new, and this looks to deliver on my wishes. TO AMAZON!!!! >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
  • PS3FANBOYKID - September 11, 2009 12:28 a.m.

    I pre ordered in april!!!
  • AuthorityFigure - September 8, 2009 8:44 a.m.

    Codemasters really have it together. I like their style.
  • AlexMercer1337 - September 7, 2009 9:41 a.m.

    I wasn't sure about this game, but I think I'll buy it now.
  • jar-head - September 5, 2009 1:13 p.m.

    Bike over Car ANY Day. Theres a Different Feel from a V8 running 6th gear, versus custom gearing on a 1300cc class. Plus, More skill is required for a Bike/Car, so..what happend to that Racing/shooting game on the n64? With futuristic bikes/tracks and such?
  • emperor - September 5, 2009 5:27 a.m.

    im getting sick of the lack of 2 player games >.<
  • Spybreak8 - September 5, 2009 1:11 a.m.

    So glad I pre-ordered, I had a feeling Codemaster was going to knock this one out of the park with me loving both DiRT and GRID!
  • allthegoodnameswheretaken - September 4, 2009 7:43 p.m.

    This game and arkham asylum make me want to go out and buy a new 360
  • Sebastian16 - September 4, 2009 7:30 p.m.

    Hot damn! DiRT was one of my favorite 360 games out of quite a vast number, so to see they've improved on it this much = Must buy.
  • Tomsta666 - September 4, 2009 6:49 p.m.

    While i'm not the biggest fan of racing games I do kinda enjoy rally games. I played the demo of this, and one thing struck me... When did WRC turn into the fucking X-Games?! From my limited knowledge of the sport I thought it's fanbase was middle aged men, all lined up around rain sodden English country lanes. Not stadium events with explosions and punk rock music!!! Anyway the racing in the demo was pretty sweet, but the bullshit Americanisation of it all has kinda put me off it.
  • gtakiller7 - September 4, 2009 2:52 p.m.

    ill also wait for nfs shift
  • TheIronMaiden - September 4, 2009 2:39 p.m.

    hmmm well since the review was good, I might just have to pick this up! Can't wait to see what NFS shift is gonna offer.
  • shpongled - September 4, 2009 2:22 p.m.

    I was quite impressed with the demo, may well have a look at this as I enjoyed Dirt, but It was a little vanilla at times. Grid is ok if you don't mind AI that can shove you off the track and leave you facing the wrong way, but unable to have the same done to them. I hope Polyphony are paying attention! Unless they're keeping track of the competition they will be so far behind the game if they actually ever release GT5!

Showing 1-17 of 17 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000