Google+

Deus Ex: Human Revolution review

Astonishing
Back to Article

105 comments

  • VMPSaberwolf - August 25, 2011 2:50 a.m.

    As someone who's never played the origional, I have to ask, what game is it most comparable to? For example, Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines? Fallout 3? Metal Gear? Thanks in advance.
  • IndySandbagTrick - August 26, 2011 2:04 a.m.

    I am saving the original for after my HR playthrough (might seem a bit ass-about-face, but haven't played it either so figured I'd go with a timeline based buzz). In regards to what it's similar to, I would say it feels like the perfect blend of Splinter Cell, Fallout 3 and Mass Effect 2... Great RPG stuff (the xp/augment system is AWESOME), Punchy/Visceral shooting and combat & great story/characters to cap it off... 9.5/10 from me (would be 10/10 if the boss fights were a little better and the few little bugs were nipped in the butt) : minor flaws for such an excellent 'thinking gamers' experience :) :)
  • BertTheTurtle - August 25, 2011 1:38 a.m.

    Wow. I hadn't really been following this game up until now, but it looks amazing. I actually like the lack of multiplayer; I'm glad they focused on the story, atmosphere, etc.
  • IndySandbagTrick - August 26, 2011 2:06 a.m.

    I'm with you on the multiplayer front - then again, my mates only play SFighter IV and Tiger Woods... lol, the sole proper gamer in a group of skaters/drunks is a lonely life.. hahaha
  • GUARANDAMNTEED - August 24, 2011 11:01 p.m.

    If you need these following things in a game to keep you interested this game is not for you: 1. Sh*t blowing up constantly to keep your attention 2. Waves of 6-7 AI to pop in the face every 30 seconds 2. Mindless AI that does nothing more than "here he is!", shoots, takes cover, pops head up, shoots, repeat
  • Demsky - August 24, 2011 7:35 p.m.

    Got my copy cant wait for the weekend.
  • snothammer - August 24, 2011 1:39 p.m.

    I'm playing through the original so I can be primed for this one once I have the money. I'm glad it's getting high marks.
  • brandon-messick - August 23, 2011 10:06 p.m.

    Alright. I really hate to be the one to say this. I really do. I loved Deus Ex, and for a long time it was my favorite game ever. I'm sure this game's just as great as they say. But how can we be sure? I mean, which game has its advertisements all over Gamesradar (To such an extent that it takes almost 30 seconds to load)? The fact of the matter is that I still haven't forgiven Gamesradar for burning me on Final Fantasy XIII. Squaresoft paid these guys to give it a 9/10 (Gamesradar's article about why bad games get good reviews, published the same week, is as good as a confession in my book), and I think we all know how FFXIII turned out.
  • cj12297 - August 24, 2011 4:41 a.m.

    You sir, Are an idiot
  • ZiltoidTheOmniscient - August 24, 2011 9:38 a.m.

    So your logic is that, because they posted that article, any game that got given a good score within a recent time period was a result of bribery? Shut up and stop being so naive. I honestly haven't a clue where the whole idea of game reviewers being deceitful bastards who take base reviews purely on bribes came from. You really underestimate how serious bribery is. One incident not dealt with appropriately can bring down an entire company down. No company is willing to take that risk, no matter their size or status. Anyone even suspected of bribery is severely penalized. If there was ever an incident of bribery, chances are you would hear about it. It's not something that gets taken lightly. Also, none of the Gamesradar reviewers have anything to do with the advertising whatsoever. It's a completely different department. This has been mentioned multiple times on the site and on Talkradar. Please grow up and stop making completely irrelevant arguments.
  • brandon-messick - August 24, 2011 2:02 p.m.

    Gamespot.com. Kane and Lynch scandal. Google it. As for Gamesradar...FFXIII. 9/10. Read this review, and you can see for yourself--the reviewer was pulling justifications for that game's very existence out of their butt. And the article--one of the main reasons listed for bad games getting good reviews, as written by Gamesradar--The producers walk in, give them a "sackful of money," and tell the editors what the review's going to be.
  • ZiltoidTheOmniscient - August 24, 2011 2:59 p.m.

    Exactly. If you can come up with more than two or three more examples I'll be impressed. That just shows how serious it really is. There was a huge scandal over it. If it happened as much as idiots like you seem to think it does there would be things like that propping up everywhere. It would be EXTREMELY hard for a reviewer to accept a bribe without their employers noticing and none of the game websites will make compromises. Putting their reputation and legitimacy on the line like that is simply a risk they cannot take. It's not a question of moral standing. A company would have to be downright stupid to let a bribe be accepted. As for the review, I never made any claims about it's quality. But jumping to the conclusion of a bribe is completely idiotic. If you don't agree with the review, that's fine. Doesn't mean your opinion is law. The reviewer could have been a big fan of Final Fantasy or things that didn't appeal to you might have appealed to them. Also, FFXIII is averaging an 83 in metacritic, and was generally received very well by critics, so it makes absolutely no sense that you're singling this one review out because they happened to post an article like that soon after it. I've never read the article, but regardless, the "sackful of money" thing is ridiculous. How many game companies to you know of that hand out bribes? It's not just the journalists that are at risks when bribes are involved, the game companies are equally, if not more, at risk. Don't take everything you read on the internet as being true. Oh, and also...really? Why the hell would they broadcast an "admission" to people? Even if a bribe was accepted that would be just plain retarded. Stop thinking you're cynicism makes you intelligent. Your points are completely irrelevant and are based purely on wild theories and nitpicking.
  • Voodoowolfe - August 24, 2011 8:29 p.m.

    Why would there be a huge scandal? Reviewers get bribed all the time. They get sent free copies of the game, invited to the opening night parties, and the fat sack of cash. Why is it surprising at all? It's advertising. The game companies pay to make their games look better. Movie companies have been doing it for years. And so have game companies. Oh and their employers do know about it. Because game companies don't just pay the reviewer, but, hold on to your hat, they also pay for the advertising that goes with the review. But does that mean that all reviews are faked? Heck no. Game companies don't have bottomless pits of money. So they pay for good reviews that will be sent to their target audiences(Real time strats, or FPS, or what have you). What does all of this mean? Like everything else(prime example car companies and movie companies), we have to take reviews with a grain of salt. Read more than one, and make up our own minds. It's all terrible.
  • ZiltoidTheOmniscient - August 25, 2011 12:58 p.m.

    Because bribing is a serious matter in any industry. Companies that are involved in condoning any bribery are severely prosecuted by law and actions are taken if it's even suspected. The idea that it happens as much as gamers seem to think it does is absurd. What evidence do you honestly have aside from one or two instances (in which they WERE huge scandals)? Please don't pretend you know all the dark secrets of the games industry when you have absolutely nothing to prove your theories. In my opinion, the reason there are so many idiots who think this absolutely ridiculous level of corruption exists in the games industry is the fact that so many gamers have the "cynicism = intelligence". Shouting "HEY LOOK AT ME I HAVE A CONTROVERSIAL OPINION!" does not make you intelligent. The games industry would be nowhere near as huge as it is today if even half of this was true. Gaming's reputation would be completely and utterly destroyed. The idea that this level of corruption could go mostly unnoticed is absolutely ridiculous. You really underestimate how hard it would be to pull off a bribe without at least one party being found out. Most game reviewers, contrary to what you may like to think, are not bad people, and would refuse bribes and be obliged to report the developer in question to the authorities. Has it also ever occurred to you that game reviews are usually quite accurate? Good games tend to get good reviews. Bad games tend to get bad reviews. Because that just reeks of corruption, doesn't it? Gamers also seem to always have the idea that the big games companies are all evil manipulative villains willing to do anything to get their game well received. It's like they like to think of themselves as the little oppressed underdogs heroically speaking out against the huge evil corporations. Honestly, it doesn't matter how much of a bastard a CEO of a games company is, trying to bribe reviewers is just plain stupid. The risk of being found out, taken to court and having their reputation torn to shreds far outweighs the benefits of one good review.
  • ashwell - August 24, 2011 1:37 p.m.

    I'm playing this game as we speak...and I have to say it's better than I thought it was going to be! There's so many options into passing through levels, I spend a good 5-10 minutes deciding which augmentations to upgrade wondering which one will benefit me the most! The art direction and the sound track is extraordinary. Give it a go...you might even enjoy it.
  • Demsky - August 24, 2011 7:38 p.m.

    They advertise games all the time they give bad or so-so reviews for you must remember as with all game publications the review is usually based on (one) persons sole experience with the game not the company as a whole
  • KidJustKid - August 25, 2011 5:02 a.m.

    Fair enough, and I understand the fear that ads = money = better reviews. But I happened to agree with almost everything they said about FF13 in that by stripping the waffle and overworld and exploration and focusing on the graphics, battle system etc., they made a game which definitely didn't play like an FF, just an incredibley epic JRPG, just with a capital J; plus having played all of them since GBA, it was my favourite, on a par w/ 6. Yes, he had to really stretch to find the reason he liked the game, but that's always secondary to liking playing something initially. I don't think you were wrong in not liking FF13, you just didn't get what you wanted, and that alienated a hell of a lot of ppl. BTW, The only times I have disagreed with GR was giving MW2 a 10 with such a narrow focus and Bioshock 2 also getting a 10 after 1 being so blowaway, similar odd cases with 1UP. I trust GR's opinions, and even if they don't persuade me, when I decide to buy or not I still listen to what they have to say. I think that's all a reviewer wants - to give you a more informed opinion on whether to buy the game/car/TV etc. and it uses their reputation for reliability to justify it. Having ads plastered all over the place damages its credibility, yes, but I personally make the judgement that it doesn't change it enough to discount it when the other site I have confidence in agrees, Metacritic says 89 (8% better that FF13) and they can explain themselves coherently. BTW, a gamer with interwebz below about 5 Mb/s = moderate fail. ^_^''
  • KidJustKid - August 25, 2011 5:06 a.m.

    Oh, and the Gamespot Kane & Lynch thing was the reviewer being truthful, and getting kicked out by the company. The review didn't change afterwards even. I think we're very cynical about the ethics of reviewers; more so than we need to be; but we still visit these sites and read their opinions. We judge them for reliability no matter what.
  • Spybreak8 - August 23, 2011 5:11 p.m.

    Didn't post?! Ok Sorry Starfox, I spent all my money! I'm glad I pre-ordered the Augmented Edition.
  • Spybreak8 - August 23, 2011 5:10 p.m.

    Sorry Star Fox, I've already spent my money lol. Glad I pre-ordered the Augmented Edition. I'm a sucker for art books and special feature DVDs.
  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - August 23, 2011 4:48 p.m.

    I wish this game was coming out next year, as there are so many other games coming out! If anybody knows where to get DOOM 3 for the original Xbox in good condition and at a cheap price, could you please send me a message? I lent it to a friend, and they haven't given it back yet. And its been a few months now. If anyone could do that, I would really appreciate it.

Showing 21-40 of 105 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 23 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Aug 26 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Developed by: Eidos
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.