Google+

Dead Space 2 review

Excellent
Back to Article

46 comments

  • jok3rxfear - May 10, 2011 6:37 a.m.

    Just finished this game last night. Apart from some very boring objectives between the game, I give it a solid 8/10.
  • Sevej - February 16, 2011 12:46 a.m.

    Just finished on normal (too old for harder difficulties lol)... awesome game. I really like the zero-G/vacuum parts... FANTASTIC!!!`
  • BoxBackResearcher - February 7, 2011 2:29 a.m.

    Great review. I liked it so much I read it twice.
  • Imthedoctor - January 27, 2011 3:08 p.m.

    Looks pretty good, i desire to butter this game on my toast :P
  • Brutalicus - January 27, 2011 3:40 a.m.

    @Smeggs there were a few of those good moments with your ally towards the end of the game. Isaac is kind of a smartass! I think it shows how over the course of the game he's regained some of his sanity and humanity. Also, naw, any game that wants to connect with you should try to make you lol. The scene near the end of Mass Effect 2 where the Collectors attack was some scary shit, and Joker's lines made me laugh my ass off. I don't know about you, but wisecracks are my favorite way to try to relieve tension. I'd probably be cracking jokes in between shitting my pants if Necromorphs were attacking me.
  • Smeggs - January 27, 2011 1:59 a.m.

    Not as scary as the first game. Not complaining about Isaac's new personality, but I think that's the reason. With Isaac talking now and actually showing his face more than twice, it's less scary because I feel like I'm going through the game with him rather than alone. For example, at one point you're trying to ascend an elevator, only to watch it be destroyed by an unseen foe. Your "ally" tells you she'll see if she can get it working while you go to fight an enemy who is quite a bit different from any you've fought before. A minute into the fight: "Isaac, I don't think I can get the-" "NOT. NOW." I lol'd. I should never lol while playing Dead Space, unless I'm laughing at my own girlish fear after screaming at a space-zombie that jumped at my face.
  • P0LARCLAW - January 27, 2011 1:52 a.m.

    Well I beat it after 9 hours, and I can honestly say that no parts were particularly difficult on Normal. That being from a person who beat the first on impossible with only a plasma cutter though. @BladeBlur I would consider this to be better than bioshock 2.
  • BladeBlur - January 26, 2011 9:23 p.m.

    BioShock 2 wasn't that good :(
  • CoktorBloktopus - January 26, 2011 6:56 p.m.

    lovin this game only gotten through the first two chapters and I already pissed my pants like four times. And to all who say dead space doesnt scare them I am sorry for you cause when you let it scare you a bit then it makes the game even better. The walk through that little cafe area with just a flashlight gave me a awful feeling in the pit of my stomach.
  • Brutalicus - January 26, 2011 7:58 a.m.

    Well, I just finished the game after not being able to put the controller down all day! I agree with the review for the most part; my only con to this game was the occasional (and brutal, as stated) difficulty spikes. Next time through I'm going to carry more guns around. The story was very well-told and satisfying. You really start to feel for Isaac after what he went through on the Ishimura, and now that he's actually got emotion he is very human. I often found myself saying "holy shit" at what was happening, only to hear Isaac say the same thing! Visceral also seems to know their fans well, as there are plenty of nods to the original Dead Space and various bits of fanservice (like a very tiny drawing of Isaac on the wall in the school level). I think I breathed about six times this entire game. The tension mounts and mounts and never lets up. Awesome.
  • Cag93 - January 26, 2011 3:22 a.m.

    ... are you saying that Dead Space 2 is BETTER THAN HALO REACH?!?! LOL, I had to ;)
  • santaclouse37 - January 26, 2011 2:43 a.m.

    BUT HANK, WHAT ABOUT THE QUICK AND ACCURATE RIVET GUN? I COULDN'T POSSIBLY PLAY MY PREORDERD COPY FROM GAMESTOP UNTIL I KNOW JUST HOW QUICK AND/OR ACCURATE IT IS WHEN PREVENTING ISAAC FROM BEING PUKED UPON!
  • NightCrawler_358 - January 26, 2011 1:46 a.m.

    Sweet review Mr. Gilbert. I'm always freaked out how at first, games like this make you flip out, but then by the end, you don't even blink when freaks jump at you etc. I lol when i think about my initial L4D reactions.
  • Drumdoctor - January 26, 2011 1:26 a.m.

    Played the demo for this, nearly pissed myself the first time those necromorph things sprung out of the frozen containers. Sweet game, but it's so freaky I can barely stand to play it. Not to mention my mom...
  • Yeager1122 - January 26, 2011 12:45 a.m.

    Intrested in this game but would have to play the first one before i ever got this one.
  • P0LARCLAW - January 26, 2011 12:18 a.m.

    Got the collector's edition 3 hours ago, and it's amazing.
  • elmaropwnz - January 25, 2011 11:57 p.m.

    I rented the first game but never beat it and i have 60$ in wal-mart money Exams tommorow so i only have to go to school for 2 hours and will probably be picking this up, multiplayer seemed meh though cause right now i'm playing brotherhood and i got bored of the multiplayer even though it was good, screw you CoD for ruining my standards!
  • JADENkOTOR - January 25, 2011 11 p.m.

    Personally I think games like this need to also have a really strong story to score above an eight... Thats just my opinion though. I wasn't much of a fan of the first and that was when it was something I hadn't seen before... This looks like much of the same and I was disappointed to find out that they hadn't fixed Isaac's sluggish controls when I played the demo. I might rent it just to see where it goes but I don't think its worth owning.
  • RebornKusabi - January 25, 2011 10:09 p.m.

    Got this in the mail this morning and I'm about to play it. Everything said here is basically what I already figured the game was gonna be like so... Onward to my 360!
  • mrm1138 - January 25, 2011 9:26 p.m.

    I have such a love/hate relationship with the first Dead Space. I loved it because it was such a wonderfully made game, but there were many times I was honestly reluctant to keep playing because of how terrifying it was. I know some people (like, say, Yahtzee) criticized it for being too predictable (and therefore, in their opinions, not scary), but for me the anticipation of being attacked would freak me out in a way that few things do.

Showing 1-20 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jan 25 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (US)
Jan 28 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3, PC, iPhone
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: Visceral Games
Franchise: Dead Space
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.