Google+

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 review

Back to Article

111 comments

  • Moondoggie1157 - January 9, 2014 8:54 a.m.

    "I’m in a dark, locked room. I hear whimpering, eventually growing to full-blown screaming and pleas. I find a young family in the room with me. They’re freaking out in the way that you would if you found yourself locked in a cage with a hungry lion. Because effectively, they are. I have no choice but to feed on all three of them, saving the little girl ‘til last" Maybe there are some things that just shouldn't be simulated, I understand creative freedom, and I get that it's "not a real world" in a video game. But, there are just some things that we should be kept ignorant to. If this was a movie, or even a cutscene in a video game I would have no problem with it, it's the fact that you the player are made to commit the act. I felt really wierd after "No Russian" and I don't think I've played it more than once. I'm a horror movie fan, I love gore, cheesy or "scary". But when it comes to situations involving rape, or the murdering of an innocent family they should be merely insinuated, greek-play style. I know MANY movies, TV shows, whatever or guilty of this, and I have seen MANY movies, etc that are guilty of this. I just don't feel that we need to experience everything we can in the first person to make whatever creative medium involved more "realistic", or sorry, not realistic "gritty" is the word we use now. I don't need to feed on a young girl in first person as Dracula to feel like I am a monster, I'm mothafuckin' Dracula. Don't get me wrong, I'll likely play the game at some point, but this does bug me. I have a question for Houghton, do you think the scene with the trapped family was needed to portray Dracula's true nature? Or do you see it as something that was added mostly for controversy like "No Russian"?
  • Vonter - January 9, 2014 10:50 a.m.

    This. Games used to be about having fun. I know engagement has been a new high for games but if it has to be less fun I'm worried about the medium. Is like if movies go only for dialogue and exposition scenes instead visual narrative.
  • BladedFalcon - January 9, 2014 10:58 a.m.

    Games can be a variety of things, just like films can tackle a vast array of subjects and themes. Not all of them have to be a single thing, not all of them have to be sup0er serious, and not all of them have to be mindless, unchallenging fun. Also, just because a game wants to challenge you and actually THINK about what you're doing, or WHY you're doing it doesn't necessarily make it any less fun, specially if the game itself IS fun. But again, gaming is plenty varied, if that bothers you, you have plenty of other options for you. Gaming and it's creators don't have to adapt to only your tastes.
  • Vonter - January 9, 2014 11:08 a.m.

    The first game was beautiful, somber and very dramatic. The gameplay dragged because the first section took too damn long making the other two sections feel rushed at times. Still not that is bad I didn't had fun memories of that game, mainly because it took itself very seriously (and the chupacabras was more annoying than a comic relief). Not all games have to focus on the fun, or being funny, I liked Killer 7 even if its a tedious game. Still I hope this Castlevania doesn't try to hard like the first LoS because I felt it was why it didn't achieve expectations, and also I'm hopefully optimistic that it ties loose ends and not leave it as DLC. (when did Gabriel became a vampire exactly?)
  • BladedFalcon - January 9, 2014 11:42 a.m.

    That's merely your opinion though. I thought the tone was fitting because it set itself as such from the beginning, and it also very clear that it was something altogether different from the rest of the series. And even with it's serious tone, the game was beautiful, the combat was great, tight AND still fun, at least for me, and seeing the high praise it gt, from a lot others as well. This next game is just expanding on everything the first did, so of course it's going to be dark, specially more so because your protagonist has now turned into a monster. (Although yeah, keeping key plot points in the DLC is kinda cheap, they show you he became a vampire in the DLC because it was the only way he could enter a realm to destroy a demon that the villains of the first game had kept at bay.) Anyway, if nothing else, you don't have to worry about them leaving any loose ends this time around. They0ve stated very firmly that this is the last game of the Lords of Shadow series, and they simply won't be making another one.
  • Vonter - January 9, 2014 12:44 p.m.

    I think it got more mixed results than you think. And sorry if it sounded ranting (part of it is) but I'm really concerned how they'll be able to fit so many loose ends together. We have the order, Simon and Alucard, Satan, the toymaker was foreshadowed in MoF for some reason, we sequences in the past and in a modern setting. Sounds that it could be a very epic payoff but it also could be a great mess, even if videogames expand more than movies in length I think there is a lack of focus.
  • BladedFalcon - January 9, 2014 2:20 p.m.

    Oh, I'm well aware of the negative side of reviews and press LoS got, but even with those, the overall consensus is pretty damn positive. Specially when you consider how badly all the other several 3D entries in the Castlevania franchise have fared in comparison. Those who actually gave the game a try for what it was, without expecting anything that it isn't, (Like IGN bitching that it wasn't similar to the previous Castlevanias and whatnot.) found plenty to love. Haven't played MoF just yet, (waiting for LoS2 to be closer to release, so I can play them back to back.) so I can't comment on whatever plot points of loose ends were introduced in MoF. However, unless MoF really changed things up that much, from what I got out of the firs TLoS's story, wrapping it up shouldn't be THAT difficult considering that well, this is Gabriel's story, and LoS2 is the continuation of what happened at the end of LoS. Gabriel became Dracula, he then spent milennia hidden in the shadows, and got woken again by Zobek to fend of Satan, and in doing so, being granted death at last. Doesn't feel all that complicated to properly wrap that up, honestly.
  • Vonter - January 9, 2014 5:59 p.m.

    Yeah maybe you're right, I do tend to complicate my line of thought when I got very invested in something. Its just MoF added a few more things that are hinted to be solved in LoS 2. And it make me a bit bitter the game felt more like a prologue to establish those elements for the final chapter.
  • EmiyaLightbringer - January 9, 2014 6:45 p.m.

    Right you are. Let's just hope they got the way to tie all the loose ends and deliver us a dramatic Epic game (crossing fingers for that) :D
  • Clovin64 - January 9, 2014 8:45 a.m.

    I'm thinking I should maybe get a hold of the Special "Complete" Edition of LoS since it includes both the DLC episodes (which I didn't play) and Mirrors of Fate HD (which I didn't play). That way I'll be able to catch up on the story a bit.
  • BladedFalcon - January 9, 2014 6:51 a.m.

    Air-Dashing? HELL YEAH! Just read the entire preview non-stop. To say I'm super excited is an understatement, and most of what I read sounds pretty cool. I love the idea of the new weapons and way of leveling up combos, I like that they seem fully committed in combining the modern and goth setting and not shying off from one or the other. Most of all though, they seem to be keeping the essence of Dracula intact: That he IS a monster, full on, and that fact that they are not shying away from that, AND also force you to be in his shoes is a daring move I really appreciate. The only thing that slightly worries me is the stealth elements. I mean, they sound fun and varied enough, (what with making you turn into rats, lol.) but they also feel like a more disjointed element of the game, and if they are either over-used, or shoddily implemented later on, it could become an ugly nuisance. But from what the preview says here, seems they are handling it well enough. So'll I'll remain open minded about it for now. Anyway, seriously can't wait for this game to come out! Also, that picture of Dracula in the 6th point is fantastic.

Showing 101-111 of 111 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 25 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Konami
Developed by: MercurySteam
Franchise: Castlevania
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Nudity