Google+

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

180 comments

  • Jahbu - November 8, 2011 5:55 a.m.

    "Saying goodbye to Price and Soap" WHAT THE HEEEEEEEEELLLLLL GAMESRADAR. WHY WOULD YOU SPOIL THE GAMES LIKE THAT. THIS IS BULLSH*T. F THIS SITE!!!!!!!!
  • wampastompa - November 8, 2011 6:25 a.m.

    Are you being serious? Simmer down dude, it's the end of the trilogy, of course you have to say goodbye to the star characters. He didn't say they died or anything like that. That's like getting mad at someone who marks 'Saying goodbye to Frodo and his team' for the last LOTR movie :-/
  • patbateman17 - November 8, 2011 6:31 a.m.

    Dude WHAT, Frodo dies?????????????????????????? Just kidding :) but yeah it's not really a spoiler, it's obvious that it's the end of the Price/Soap story arc not that they necessarily die, although I wouldn't put it past IW to murder them brutally (haven't played the game).
  • artoo.deletes.cookies - November 8, 2011 6:26 a.m.

    -.- They did it for Batman: AC too...
  • BIOSback - November 8, 2011 6:39 a.m.

    I don't think it was meant to be a spoiler, he said "Saying goodbye" because it's the last Modern Warfare.
  • RushLight - November 8, 2011 7:43 a.m.

    They were just saying that their story was over... Which I'm pretty sure that it was already announced that this would be the last game featuring their storyline.
  • Ironarm - November 8, 2011 7:47 a.m.

    Calm down. It's the end of a trilogy. That's what they mean by that.
  • ShowMeYourKitties - November 8, 2011 6:19 a.m.

    Welp, looks like Ill keep playing batman
  • TriforcePlayer - November 8, 2011 7:01 a.m.

    ditto
  • shawksta - November 8, 2011 7:13 a.m.

    Ironically, I kicked my ass last night,getting all the remaining Riddler trophies/Questions so I can finish Batman before I play MW3, but im not gonna stop playing batman, especially since Robin is coming soon.
  • patbateman17 - November 8, 2011 6:19 a.m.

    Charlie - I really appreciated when GR gave an informal score for Battlefield 3's single player and one for it's multiplayer (while still giving an overall score) - how would you rate CoD:MW3's single player? I don't really care about mp but if the sp would be rated independently as a 9 I would consider this more strongly. As it stands now, I played MW1 and was mildly impressed, but haven't picked up MW2 or BlackOps. Any help is appreciated, cheers!
  • TartanSpartan01 - November 8, 2011 7:01 a.m.

    I think i can help you,it can be finished in two hours (5-7 hours),if you pretend that u cant just run and gun your way through the 'baddies' its set-piece,shoot out, rinse lather repeat.The story is some convoluted nonsense that like the previous entries, make no sense whatsoever and is as interesting as nigerian big brother when they talk about monopoly or some crap which for legal reasons they aren't allowed to air and the camera swithches to one thats fixed on a plant pot for two hours till their done talking about it(probably).MW2 definetily did not deserve the praise it deserved the multiplayer was horrendously unbalanced and 'glitchy' and tbh campaign,disgrace,burger town memorable?really?friggin crappy defend the roof crap,what the hell is so good about that?every fps thats any decent has that,MW2's was really crappy to be honest.So I dont trust this review at all to be honest.An ive been coming on this site since the days it was DAILYRADAR and this is the only thing ive ever disagreed with them on.Black ops was more of the same shEEt campaign,except the multiplayer is actually really good once you get a bit good at it,treyarch polished Infinity wards multiplayer turd.and zombies is brilliant.black ops is the best so far IMO anyone who thought MW2 was better than Black ops is pretty stupid ,or a cheating clown they hate that they cant exploit the game and cheat their way to victory.And yes I own them b4 anyone says that (xbox gamertag- TartanSpartan01)
  • Moondoggie1157 - November 8, 2011 7:16 a.m.

    Agreed, man. The only time GR frustrates me is when a CoD game gets released, then you see that bias come out, shame really. Better games have received lesser reviews for smaller problems. Ah well, plenty of other great games to play this November :D
  • muelsknr - November 8, 2011 6:46 a.m.

    A few problems with this review. First, you say that the missions in Reach aren't distinct. That's completely untrue. There's the sniping mission, the space mission (how could you forget the level with the sabres?) Then there's the falcon mission. Maybe plot-wise they aren't all memorable, but gameplay-wise they are very distinct. My real problem is your "Is it better than?" You do it for old COD games. THAT'S NOT WHAT ANYONE CARES ABOUT. If you think this game is better/worse than BF3, put it up there and defend it. THAT'S WHAT WE CAME ABOUT. Also, with BF3 and Reach and probably some others, you had to do split ratings, one for campaign, one for multiplayer. Didn't see that here. In those games you had to rate them equally. (I don't see them as equals in any of the games, especially when each have other modes too) But for consistencies sake.
  • kc2 - November 8, 2011 7:10 a.m.

    Are you kidding? Reach had a completely forgetable missions, to tell you the truth I forgot everything about it within 30 minutes. That is talking about the gameplay , because frankly there is no story in reach, just cutscenes to bring you to the next level. This isn't BF3 bs MW3, people care about if it's better than the last COD because they vary in quality and people prefer one to another.
  • muelsknr - November 8, 2011 7:19 a.m.

    Lol, so you're telling me no one cares about BF3 v. MW3? Did I miss something here. Sure, you may care how it compares to games in the past, but how about a little comparison against a similar game already in the market? Both games are principally the same and get/got similar metacritic scores (I'm looking on pc and MW3 scores are a little early). Why would you not want to compare them? If someone is going to buy a game today, they're choosing between MW3 and BF3 (and a other superb games a la B:AC). They're not picking between MW3 and MW2.
  • Spybreak8 - November 8, 2011 8:35 a.m.

    Sorry there pal, yes they are comparing BF3 and MW3 in the marketing. There's this huge hype of which shooter will earn your money so yes the comparison is more than fair to ask. It is strange no BF3 comparison was on here. I'd prob guess BF3's single player is less unique and boring but it's multiplayer is trump when it comes to MW3 due to vehicles.
  • Evanesco - November 8, 2011 7:10 a.m.

    I've lost all faith in humanity.
  • Moondoggie1157 - November 8, 2011 7:10 a.m.

    I don't think this review came as a surprise to anyone. CoD is the only franchise that is exempt from certain criticisms; VERY short campaigns, an unchanged multiplayer (yes, I get it, people love it for what it is) and a plot that only Uwe Boll could appreciate. I'm not bashing the game, I'll be picking it up once it's 29.99, in 4 years... (Blops is still at least 49.99 in most places, f*cked? Yea, Just a bit) Actually nevermind, I'll steal my kid brothers copy. The CoD series is like Michael Bay's Transformers series, won't buy neither, but can (partly) appreciate the insane amount of guns and 'splosions. A big "meh" for me.
  • bigwill1221 - November 8, 2011 7:23 a.m.

    LoL no BF3 comparison wonder why=p
  • closer2192 - November 8, 2011 7:23 a.m.

    So it's better than Battlefield 3?
  • christian-shaffer - November 8, 2011 7:25 a.m.

    I get the Call of Duty games because they are my fall back. It's a game that always gives me what I expect. I don't buy them for innovation or anything like that. I get them because for me, there is always replay value and I prefer the fast paced multiplayer. I'm glad they never change anything too much because then I would lose a game I love. If I want innovation, I'll buy Battlefield 3, Arkham City, or Mass Effect. All of which I have or have pre-ordered. Don't like the game, don't buy it. But don't go and bash those of us that enjoy it. If you can't appreciate it, that's your problem not ours.

Showing 41-60 of 180 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, Wii, PC, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Activision
Franchise: Call of Duty
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.