Google+

Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway review

Great
Shares
AT A GLANCE
  • The new bazooka squad
  • Pretty as a picture... in places
  • More emotion than the opera
  • Dumb squad AI
  • Really, really dumb squad AI
  • Lack of fresh ideas

After an E3 showing two years ago that almost stole the show, we’ve waited…  and waited…  and waited for Brothers in Arms 3 to finally emerge from behind cover. So, with the final mission completed, is it worth another foray into the killing fields of WW2? Put simply: just about. It shines when the screen is rammed with tens of dying soldiers and you’re demonstrating your war qualities with all manner of flanking and suppressing techniques. But for all the trumpeting about destructible environments, new cover mechanics and advanced AI, Hell’s Highway – disappointingly – feels very much like a BiA 1.5.

Every so often Baker will be temporarily forced to go it alone – and it’s here where the rather stale shooting engine is highlighted. Even worse, for every progression, there’s seemingly a regression. We love the new bazooka crew; their ability to obliterate sniper nests or make short work of any Nazis behind cover never fails to make us whoop with glee. But why has Baker’s tank detachment not only been retired, but – even worse – now been reduced to awful, painfully basic stand-alone shoot-’em-up missions? It’s a terrible design decision.

Similarly, the choice to ramp up the gore to Soldier of Fortune-rivalling levels is mystifying. While we’ll admit to a sly chortle as an unfortunate Nazi is torn in two – intestines looping out, forearm detaching from elbow and head exploding to mush – it sits massively uncomfortably with the otherwise wonderfully told, pathos-packed story of humanity and friendship during WW2. Grandpa wouldn’t be pleased. Hell’s Highway still offers something unique in the pantheon of identikit first-person shooters, and fans of the series will welcome it with open arms. Us? We’re fans, but just a bit disappointed all those delays didn’t result in something truly revolutionary.

Sep 24, 2008

More Info

Release date: Sep 23 2008 - PS3, Xbox 360
Oct 07 2008 - PC (US)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Genre: Shooter
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Gearbox
Franchise: Brothers in Arms
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Mild Sexual Themes
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

We Recommend

12 comments

  • dylpickle92 - December 9, 2008 2:04 p.m.

    i might just borrw this off my girlfriend :P
  • Jason.Darksavior - October 18, 2008 8:58 a.m.

    Nice game.... it should be bought.
  • username80 - September 26, 2008 4:12 p.m.

    I love brothers in arms seriris so i dont care what the verdict is this game ill rock.
  • FancyRat - September 25, 2008 9:10 p.m.

    People said 'Saving Private Ryan' was too gory too. Still, a rental indeed.
  • ELpork - September 25, 2008 3:46 a.m.

    Agreed, A rental it is.
  • ki11ma11 - October 2, 2008 8:18 p.m.

    i bought it and dont regret it but the AI is really dumb tho lol
  • slayaz - October 1, 2008 9:11 a.m.

    ahh, yet another WW2 game. Just what we need. I was playing this at the weekend and it was OK, just another Unreal based WW2 shooter, which didn't look any better than the previous 10 Unreal WW2 shooters. With the same dull weapons, and dodgy squad commands. I'd give it a 6.5/10.
  • infestedandy - September 25, 2008 3:09 a.m.

    Never got into the Brothers In Arms series, but it still looks like fun. Definitely a rental for me.
  • gamer49 - January 11, 2009 10:26 p.m.

    this game looks good and is fun to play.
  • 88Meters - August 14, 2009 12:13 p.m.

    I like it but what is with the blood coming out of the grass when you shoot it? Still a good game. ReCAPTCHA: bugged her Bugged 'er? I hardly even knew 'er!
  • bron1417 - June 24, 2009 7:45 p.m.

    just got it today and i like the game alot. the story is really good from what i've played so far.
  • mexpunk666 - February 25, 2009 4:35 a.m.

    i just bought this game.. and i love it!! makes me think, and in most cases my strategies work!! i love the switch between 1st to 3rd person camera change!! this gam rocks!!

Showing 1-12 of 12 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.