Google+

Borderlands review

Back to Article

79 comments

  • Logan2911 - October 20, 2009 5:55 p.m.

    it kinda looks like Crackdown, but I haven't played it or looked into it yet. i,ve only have seen the screen shots I'll RENT IT
  • d0x - October 20, 2009 5:57 p.m.

    I had no intention of buying this game but this morning my friend convinced me so I canceled my preorder on Assassins Creed 2 (which Ill ask for for Christmas) and picked this up instead. Next few weeks is gonna be busy. I need to play this, beat Brutal Legend and the GTA DLC in time for some Forza 3 action. Next month is no better lol but the majority of my time will be spend racing in Forza.
  • Anonymous93 - October 20, 2009 6:07 p.m.

    At those complaining about the comparisons to Fallout 3 stop. Maxstats69 has already pointed out a few facts but another thing to consider is that the Borderlands team have been comparing the games themselves. For e.g. a few weeks ago one of the devs was quoted saying 'Borderlands is less boring than Fallout 3'. I think its hard to avoid comparisons if the devs are doing it. BTW good article. I'll have to see how many of my friends get this before I buy it or not.
  • Mav711 - October 20, 2009 7:46 p.m.

    It sounds like the review couldn't stop thinking about FO3 doing this. thats pretty "meh" IMO
  • xandersteele - October 20, 2009 7:52 p.m.

    good review! that's settled it for me! back the terribly mental world of fallout for another 6 months. Or until i get Modern Warfare 2.....
  • fireman9iner - October 20, 2009 8:34 p.m.

    Ya the review pretty much spot on. I Just played a little bit and pretty fun, lots of weapons.
  • Jaces - October 20, 2009 9:52 p.m.

    Looks to be a rent for now, until then I've got an assload of games I need to beat, lol. Hopefully I'll enjoy it enough to buy it later down the road and if not....we'll that's $60 more that I'll have for another game. :D
  • Megajamz - October 21, 2009 12:38 a.m.

    currently playing through it with a friend amazing game really addictive, constantly craving the next new and more powerful weapon is what really drives it and the shooting mechanics are spot on. psn Jamz42
  • Wubbles - October 21, 2009 1:22 a.m.

    Woo, that was a rocky introduction. I liked the rest of the review, though.
  • llamalords - October 21, 2009 2:28 a.m.

    Mine should be arriving in a day or two, so hopefully I'll get to beat up some freaks with my friends soon enough. I'll be posting back with my rating.
  • lovinmyps3 - October 21, 2009 5:24 a.m.

    They do review with a magic 8-ball. I saw the original score for this game it got an "Ask again later"! XD
  • mattdark - October 21, 2009 6:26 a.m.

    Hmm, this was, and still is on my maybe pile at the moment, i'll definately have to rent it right now.
  • Stefan372 - October 21, 2009 7:50 a.m.

    got this junk today its pretty good junk guns are fun sounds are great... some long loading times... a few minor bugs... amazing gamesplay yea most reviews that ive seen either rate this game pretty up or pretty down kinda like one of those games that are like u lie it or u dont so if your unsure just try it out like rent it or smething but i know im probably gonna sink alot of hrs into this game maxing all my chars... while taking my time... an exploring every freakin foot of land hey i play every game like this somehow i even got around 120 hrs outta mercs2 by doing this( this is way better than mercs 2) so i might be getting around 240 outta this one ign also said that this was like the party game for the hc gamer so yea play it online its better that way too
  • HeavyTank - October 21, 2009 12:52 p.m.

    @maxstats: Yes, you're right about the MMO part, but it's still a shooter heavily based on online play, much UNlike Fallout...also, quote time: "How many other FPS RPGS do you know of to compare this game to? Fallout 3 is the closest thing to Borderlands than any other game on the market" Many, and Borderlands definitely isn't like Fallout...could you name ONE thing they have in common apart from a few stats here and there, the graphic style and the loot? (although Fallout has far more stats and far less loot)
  • MikeHawk - October 21, 2009 4:44 p.m.

    First of all, nice review Mr. Wilde. This is probably one of those games that I may eventually catch up to, but as for now you pretty much confirmed my initial thoughts about it. @HeavyTank: "Many, and Borderlands definitely isn't like Fallout...could you name ONE thing they have in common apart from a few stats here and there, the graphic style and the loot? (although Fallout has far more stats and far less loot)" Because being a FPS with RPG elements set in a Wasteland isn't similar enough to warrant comparison?
  • ECUCommandr - October 21, 2009 5:13 p.m.

    I have been really excited about this game since I saw the first trailer. I've been keeping up with it, watching all the vids, reading all the previews, it looked sick. why is this guy cutting it down the whole they give a guy that hates this gamearticle? It almost sounds like he's not talking about the same game that I've been watching for. Why would they give a game they gave an 8 to to a guy that hates it? give it to someone excited about the game next time.
  • MagicalSarai - October 21, 2009 6:13 p.m.

    I picked up my copy from a rental place (I get to rent as long as I want for a monthly fee), and I found the game to be completely addicting. The shooting is fun and challenging, the weapons are plentiful, the experience is handed out evenly... my only complaint is the vehicular driving... it's like they took the controls from Halo, bred them with Mario Kart, and wound up with a retarded bastard child that no one wants but everyone has to pay attention to... because if you want to get around the world quickly... the vehicles are the only choice you have. Other than that I've had no complaints. Even though the enemies all come from the same "genus" it would see, they have varied strength and ability that remind you strongly of Diablo II and they are all fun to fight. I remember my first encounter with a bada** enemy... I ran aroudn shooting it for about five minutes before it died... it was fun and less than half an hour later... it seemed like it was easy compared to the new threats. I gain constant enjoyment from this game... Still, the review seemed fair from a different perspective... you mood will reflect what you are looking for.
  • venomman01 - October 21, 2009 8:12 p.m.

    Looks like its a failed wanna be fallout 3.
  • Maxstats69 - October 22, 2009 12:46 a.m.

    @HeavyTank I asked "How many other FPS RPGS do you know of to compare this game to?" Your reply was "Many". Would you care to elaborate? Could you name just ONE game that more closely resembles Borderlands besides FO3?
  • HeavyTank - October 22, 2009 2:15 p.m.

    FPS RPG's?Are you kidding me?Most FPS's right now have some RPG elements...and online play, of course. @MikeHawk: "Because being a FPS with RPG elements set in a Wasteland isn't similar enough to warrant comparison?" No.Fallout's map is a post-apocalytpic Earth, and the inhabitants are (mostly) sane, and the weapons are custom-crafted, and there are nukes, and there are choices that will affect the story, and there are character creation options, and it's not focused on shooting everything that moves. I can name plenty more but I'm kinda bored right now.

Showing 41-60 of 79 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 26 2009 - PC
Oct 20 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: Gearbox
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Strong Language
PEGI Rating:
18+