Google+

Batman: Arkham Origins review

Back to Article

25 comments

  • through.the.key.hole - October 28, 2013 1:08 p.m.

    You guys should do a 6 Things We Want to See in the Next Arkham Game!!
  • MrJP - October 28, 2013 12:44 p.m.

    After playing the game for a good few hours today I think this review is one of the best I've found so far in terms of matching my own feelings towards Origins. I would say it deserves an 8 also, with the tried and tested gameplay still holding up well (but Batman addicts can possibly add another point as it is more of the same). It has yet to feel tired or hard to settle in to and all this talk of voice acting feels a bit contrived. Everyone is doing a sterling job, it's only something the hardcore are going to pick up on. My criticisms would be directed at the bugs and glitches I have experienced. In my 5 or so hours of play I have had the game freeze twice and a couple of glitches (like cut scenes stopping and the gadgets failing to work) which are just slight irritations.
  • aristeidis-cholevas - October 26, 2013 7:37 p.m.

    Can someone tell me how can i fixed the problem with the camera every time i am using that device batman use to hack machine's and the camera lock at the botom left corner showing the screen of the device from the opposite site ?
  • xXJayeDuBXx - October 26, 2013 9:01 a.m.

    Great review. Despite the few flaws I still plan on picking Origins up at some point.
  • CharThom - October 25, 2013 1:30 p.m.

    I'm about 5/6 hours in... Not too much different from previous games.. Currently appears more like a Arkham City 0.5, Arkham City added so much to the franchise, this is kind of living on previous merits. Voice Acting was outstanding in the previous titles, I am severley missing Kevin Conroy voicing Batman, it's very noticable how different he sounds and nowhere near as good as Conroy.. Troy Baker's The Joker is very good, not Mark Hamill good, but still very good and as usual Nolan North is incredible with voicing Oswald Cobblepot... Other characters, its hard to notice, there's some characters who appear then disappear before saying a sentence (See The Calandar Man) It so far where I am seems like they're trying to work a bit harder for fan service, the opening part containing The Calandar Man & Killer Croc for a few minutes before they disappear almost instantly, almost like saying "Look!! It's this guy!".. Going from previous titles Asylum & City, where we only saw 1 main villain for the first 10/15 minutes, it is almost jarring seeing a number of them appearing all at once, because only shortly afterwards are we greeted to Penguin, Riddler, Black Mask & someone called Ricky "Loose Lips" LeBlanc? By that point in Asylum we had only seen Joker, Zsasz & teased with Killer Croc.. I know that's only 3 but I can predict (no spoilers) that we won't be seeing Killer Croc or The Calandar Man later in the game, they had their moment to shine and blew it! So far it's enjoyable, not a game changer, but that's not what I wanted, I wanted another game in that incredible universe and a little bit more extras thrown in.. I won't judge to harshly yet, but the first few hours are a bit of dark corridors, good writing and random fan service.
  • udUbdaWgz - October 26, 2013 10:36 a.m.

    does the game have options that allow you to turn off the hud and make the game more difficult?
  • CharThom - November 16, 2013 2:34 p.m.

    There is again "New Game Plus" which does remove the counter warning, but the "I Am The Night" mode is the same as that but when you die, it's game over. Also to update my previous comment, I was bang on the money (In my honest opinion), overall not fantastic, but definitely a game... Yep, that's my best review... 5/10, over to quick, too many enemies not enough focus on one enemy and the final fight, good lord, what a load of sh*t.
  • MyCoolWhiteLies - October 25, 2013 1:24 p.m.

    I also wanted to give my props to the new site layout. That shit is slick.
  • ivan-osorio - October 25, 2013 1 p.m.

    Don't care about the game all that much. Still haven't played Arkham City to be honest.. However: that layout is absolutely stellar, congratulations on the design and coding team[s]. Great stuff right here.
  • db1331 - October 25, 2013 11:37 a.m.

    The new layout is awesome. Seriously. I really wish Rocksteady would give another hero the same level of care and attention to detail as they did with Bats for their game. They could make a fucking amazing Spiderman or Iron man game. I'd rather see that than another game in Arkham City every year.
  • coyoteDUSTER - October 25, 2013 6:04 p.m.

    I would love for Rocksteady to make a MASTERS OF THE UNIVERSE game.
  • StrayGator - October 25, 2013 10:52 a.m.

    So I'm the only one to not like the new layout? Keep it lean, guys. You don't want this hefty utility belt to weight you down.
  • ObliqueZombie - October 25, 2013 5:57 a.m.

    WOW, give kudos to whoever designs and coded this new layout. This is excellent! Other reviewers have some of the same complaints you do, Coop. I think as someone who 100%'d Arkham City I can overlook these flaws like you did. My only fear is brand fatigue... Arkham Asylum and City were special breeds of excellence, and I'd hate to see the Arkham brand fall into the disdain of gamers' eyes because it was milked.
  • sagakarikikkaru - October 25, 2013 3:52 a.m.

    I feel like I should mention in batman's earlier career he mentioned wearing a larger utility belt and bringing tons of gadgets because he was inexperienced and that weighed him mentally and physically. All those gadgets made him too heavy and caused him to work harder to just move. Same thing goes for the armored suit. It's early in his career and he hasn't made the sacrifice of functionality over preparedness.
  • Unoriginal - October 25, 2013 3:22 a.m.

    This layout is awesome! Arkham City was my favorite game of 2011. I'm 2 hours into Origins and I'm just... not feeling it. I hope it picks up.
  • Tranquilbez34 - October 25, 2013 1:22 a.m.

    Ahhh the layout got me a little, still awesome I knew that this was going to be an 8/ Four star game as sonn as I saw the E3 trailer, never the less it still looks fun and i'll buy it.
  • shawksta - October 25, 2013 1:07 a.m.

    HOLY SHIT THIS LAYOUT 10/10 LAYOUT OF THE YEAR Great to know, cant wait to play it :3
  • shawksta - October 25, 2013 1:02 a.m.

    First Ace Attorney now Batman comes out too, MY WALLET
  • Redeater - October 25, 2013 12:34 a.m.

    I'm either tripping balls or you guys have a new layout. Looks great. As for Batman, this will tide me over until the Rocksteady game so I really can't complain.
  • GR_AndyHartup - October 25, 2013 2:58 a.m.

    We designed the new layout to make you think that you were tripping balls. So it works!

Showing 1-20 of 25 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 25 2013 - Wii U, PC, PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: Wii U, PC, PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment
Developed by: Warner Bros. Montreal
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes