Google+

Batman: Arkham City review

Back to Article

118 comments

  • TheWebSwinger - October 14, 2011 11:29 p.m.

    Hmmmm if I get this on the 16th will I be able to finish it by 11/11/11...
  • AfricanWoolf - October 15, 2011 3:59 a.m.

    As much as I totally feel your pain, may this be the greatest problem we ever face :D My plan is to start a hardcore regiment of exercise, sex with women, earning a salary and then whats left of my time can be devoted to gaming non stop. I figured out that if I make a lot of effort during sex I could count that as cardio and then charge women for aforementioned sex thus earning a salary. I just invented prostitution. I am a lyrical, wordsmith, motherf**king genius.
  • mothbanquet - October 15, 2011 5:30 a.m.

    You do that, and I can beg you for money. Because I don't have enough for this, BF3 and Skyrim all at once... :'(
  • alec-curry - October 15, 2011 2:06 a.m.

    Are people actually saying a 10 is over doing it, you haven't even played it yet and arkham asylum was a 10 in my eyes so if its even better as many reviewers have said than its a definite must buy. The only question I have is, is it a pure sandbox, open world, go anywhere, do anything type game? because I liked the kinda linear structure of asylum and I'm a bit worried by the fact its a massive open world and Ill miss a lot of stuff arkham city has to offer
  • soxknight1127 - October 15, 2011 7:42 a.m.

    There are other games I want this season, but this is the one I'm willing to put off the others till after the holidays to buy/play.
  • Zepaw - October 15, 2011 10:08 a.m.

    Great now I have to buy it. Thanks a lot GamesRadar for losing me more money.
  • bloodraven - October 15, 2011 10:42 a.m.

    Great review Charlie, can't wait to get my hands on this game!
  • rob619 - October 15, 2011 12:46 p.m.

    It is good, but doesnt anybody miss the Scarecrow scenes in Arkham Asylum? That was personally my best bit. There looks to be no such moments in this one
  • NightCrawler_358 - October 15, 2011 1:01 p.m.

    Great review. The whole first game feeling like a beta now is exactly how I feel about Assassin's Creed 2. Anyways, I can't wait to get this, I really hope by crazy guest stars you mean other characters from the DCU! I suppose having Superman come in, would make everything feel small-scale considering how fast Supes could fix it. By the way, Arkham City wasn't the best superhero game ever, Spiderman 2 was! But THIS might be the new top dog.
  • Axcleblade - October 15, 2011 4:59 p.m.

    I need this game, but Battlefield 3 and Skyrim are too close. I need to make a friend and convince them to buy it for me for Christmas. And give them Wolfenstein as my gift.
  • SunniDee - October 16, 2011 4:59 p.m.

    this is the most comments i have seen in a review in a long time. Great job Charlie in producing a well written review.
  • Sathan - October 16, 2011 8:50 p.m.

    Tuesday cannot come soon enough.
  • grayguwapo - October 16, 2011 10:02 p.m.

    WOW
  • sgloomy - October 16, 2011 10:08 p.m.

    I just got my text that I can pick up the game tomorrow at midnight, it made me come here and holy crap, there are way too many comments on this review!! I haven't looked forward to a game this much since God of War 3!!!
  • KishouTenpi - October 16, 2011 10:42 p.m.

    Also, why does this have to be so awesome :( I was hoping it would be a disaster so I wouldnt have to spend more money :P
  • psycho ninja 4 - October 17, 2011 12:56 a.m.

    Yes!!! Its finally out. And its Awesome!
  • goro_khan - November 4, 2011 7:13 a.m.

    You got that right buddy!
  • thomflint - October 17, 2011 3:47 a.m.

    I was hugely disappointed with Batman: Arkham Asylum so shan’t be rushing out to purchase this any time soon. Perhaps it’s because I only played it earlier this year, but I felt the identikit bad guys (which reminded me a lot of Streets of Rage), incredibly simple ‘detective’ mode, terrible boss fights and forced stealth sections (surely in modern games we should be able to choose when we want to stealth an area? I’d have preferred to stealth the entire game but there weren’t enough gargoyles around...) really hampered what was otherwise a very entertaining game. It seems you have to be a huge fan of the Batman franchise to get the most out of these games?
  • Pwnz0r3d - October 17, 2011 4:15 p.m.

    Well Batman goes stealth because it is his nature. He's a professional at psychological warfare(I.E when you and 6 other of your friends have guns and you're all hunting just one guy, you feel invincible. But then your buddies start disappearing one by one, and then before you know it you're getting a beatdown from nowhere. its terrifying). They created the forced stealth sections so people could experience the feel of Batman's predator style of dealing with armed thugs, because he isn't equipped to sustain a barrage of bullets for long. In a game with an already established character, there's virtually no choice on how you want to deal with different situations, because the game was designed to use the established character's already based tactics in mind. I do agree with your views on Detective mode and the Boss fights; Detective mode was way too useful, and practically all the boss fights sucked.
  • Joco84 - October 17, 2011 7:44 a.m.

    so, if i want to share this game with my friend and play his game on my console - I will need to pay money to unlock a vital part of the main story mode? can someone confirm/deny my fears?
  • sgloomy - October 17, 2011 11:36 a.m.

    You'll be able to play the batman part of the game but the catwoman part will be locked. Its going to be 10 dollars to unlock it
  • inkyspot - October 17, 2011 10:05 a.m.

    Best Buy is screwing with my order... and I'm getting really pissed.

Showing 81-100 of 118 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Oct 18 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (US)
Oct 21 2011 - Xbox 360, PC, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: WB Interactive
Developed by: Rocksteady Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Blood, Suggestive Themes, Use of Tobacco, Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending